We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Oscoda, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We loved this hotel...Homewood Suites in Chicago is really a grand place to stay on Grand Avenue!! The hotel staff is helpful and friendly, especially the bell hops on the 1st floor!! Jonah was so friendly and enjoyed talking with him. Starr the front desk attendant was very helpful since we had never been to Chicago and told us which buses to ride to the attraction! We really enjoyed the full breakfast and Manager's dinner they include with the nightly rate! Can't say enough about the cleanliness and comfort of the suites...loved the kitchen and the comfy beds and pillows!! The view was great and enjoyed being so close to shopping and a bus ride away from the museums and attractions!! We will be back to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Close to lots of restaurants and Loew's theater just a block away...loved the full breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Laurie,

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Thank you so much for your kind words about our valet team, housekeeping, Jonah, and Star. These employees are an asset to our hotel and it is so kind of you to point their helpful and friendly attitudes out.

Thank you so much for your kinds words regarding both our breakfast and dinners. Over the past several months the food service team has been revamping out menus and it is always wonderful to hear positive feedback regarding them.

We hope that you had a wonderful time visiting Chicago. We hope to see you and your family again.


Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    770
    229
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,088
547
126
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Homewood for 5 nights this past week. We were able to check in a bit early since we arrived in Chicago before the 4pm check-in time. The staff was very friendly and gave us a map with points of interest and the hotel circled on it. The doormen always open the door for you and ask if you need a cab. Breakfast is free and always has a good variety. Usually it some variation of eggs and sausage as the main entrees, but there are waffle makers, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and many other things to round out the selection. Dinner was pretty good too and it's free Monday-Thursday complete with beer/wine. The hotel is close to pretty much everything including the red line subway which is about 300 ft away from the front door.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor away from the elevators. We had a corner suite (room 1718) and it was quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Jennifer,

I am happy that you and your husband had a wonderful time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. I hope that you enjoyed all the local Chicago attractions that the hotel is close to. Thank you so much for the detailed description of our breakfast and dinner services. This review will aid others in the selection process and captures our menu perfectly.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Chicago and that we will see you and your husband again.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

As a business traveler every week, I appreciate all Homewood has to offer. The suites, make me feel like I am in an apartment, not a hotel room. Great variety of breakfast food. Dinner Mon-Thursday is a real dinner, with good food (nothing breaded and fried) good choices and rarely a repeat in 4-6 weeks. But the best is the way the staff learns your name and is friendly. Home away from home. Thank you Homewood

Room Tip: I only had one room that was too small and that was a corner room. All others are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckimmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We are always thrilled to welcome back our frequent guests to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. It is wonderful to be able to interact with you at breakfast, dinner, and at the reception desk. I want to thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We hope to see you and your team for months to come!

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a wonderful time in Chicago. We stayed here for a week and loved everything about it. The rooms are huge, having the kitchen area was wonderful for such a long trip. I love the meal calendar in the room :) All the meals we had at the hotel were GREAT...some even better then when we ate out! The staff at this hotel has a lot of pride in their work and should definitely be rewarded for it. They answered all our questions and were always available to help us out. We did use the laundry facility, it was small two washers and two dryers. Unfortunately one washer was not working but it was ok because we were the only one's using them at the time.
It's a great location to be at, within walking distance to all the local attractions. We will definitely be going back and staying at this same hotel. I noticed some people complained about the elevators taking too long we never had that problem :)
The one bad thing was that our room was directly under the gym...so in the evening all we heard were the weights being dropped on the floor. Not sure why some people need to do that when they are working out.

Room Tip: Ask not to be below the gym. But the higher the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Indira,

I am so happy that you had a wonderful time visiting Chicago and staying at the Homewood Suites. We feel the meal calendar in the rooms is a great resource because you always know what to expect. If it is an item that you are not interested in you can always check out one of Chicago’s amazing restaurants.

Thank you for letting me know that one of the washer’s was not working. I have forwarded this information onto the engineering department so no other guests experience the same issues. We do try to limit the hours of our fitness center so that individuals will not be disturbed by the machines and weights. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

I am so happy that you received wonderful customer service at the hotel. This hotel has a culture of cultivating customer service and we are happy you had a suite time at our place.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My sister, friend and I stayed at the Homewood Suites on Valentine's Day through Friday, the 17th. Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations! Star, who worked in reservations, greeted us with warmth and kindness every day and went above and beyond with any need that we had. Whether it was suggesting a restaurant, helping us with the transportation system routes, giving us a room with a great view... she made us feel at home.
Jason, who I believe works in guest services, is a wonderful addition to your staff! He went out of his way for us, making sure our dining experience in the evening went smoothly. I believe they were short-handed, and he was helping out in the dining room.I would like to add that dinner is free, Monday through Thursday, with free beer and wine as well. He also took us to a room on the top floor that we wanted to take a look at for our next stay there in June. His attentiveness to any of our needs was well appreciated.
Another name I would like to mention is Roger, who I believe to be the manager of the hotel. He was friendlier than any manager I have met in quite some time and my husband and I travel quite a bit. He helped us print our boarding passes on our check out day, and then directed us to where we could leave our luggage with the bellhops, since our flight was not until 7:30 p.m., and gave us a late check out. That way, we could enjoy our day downtown without having to have our luggage with us.
Once again, thanks to all the staff at Homewood Suites! We will tell everyone we know who is headed your way, to stay at your hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor with a corner room. Great view with an extra set of windows in the living room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Colleen,

I am so thrilled that you and your sister enjoyed your stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown over the Valentine’s Day week. The Homewood Suites prides itself on our customer service and I am happy that you mentioned Star’s name. She is an asset to our front desk staff and I am happy that she was able to make you feel at home.

Jason is a newer addition to our team in the Guest Experience Manager position and we are thrilled that he is making such a positive impact on our guests. Jason is a frequent sight in both our Suite Breakfast and Suite Dinner times. I am so happy that you were able to meet Roger Young, our General Manager and that you were well taken care of during your time at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back home in June.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed at almost every Hilton property in Chicago, The staff at Homewood are the best. The hotel is clean and takes care of all guests as family. Staff are professional and positive. You can't put a price on service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyleah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Nancy,

Thank you so much for the wonderful endorsement of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Your compliments mean so much to us especially when you are a frequent Hilton traveler. Every member of our staff tries to make each guest feel like they are at home when they walk through the doors of our hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and service.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel has free internet, free breakfast, free welcome home dinner Monday-Thursday.
It is very clean, comfortable and in a great location.

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_traveling_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfasts, dinner, and internet.

I also want to thank you for the wonderful referral. We are always pleased when we are able to make a positive impact on our guests.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing