We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable, very clean, but nothing exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable, very clean, but nothing exceptional”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here on the recommendation of my husband who was here for business ten years ago. This was my first trip to Chicago, so having a recommendation was nice and saved me time researching places. Saw it was well-rated, in a convenient location, and no incidents on the bedbug registry, so gave it a shot.

Had a one bedroom suite for my daughter and me - in town for a college visit. Very nice to have a separate bedroom and living area. We did not use the kitchen, but it was well-equipped. The bathroom was quite roomy, but had very limited vanity surface - just small sides around the sink. Would have been nice to have shelving or some extra surface area. The suite and hotel overall were very clean and well-kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Starr at the front desk. Didn't like that all the light bulbs were fluorescent and the bedroom had only one small lamp on one side of the bed, so that room was very dark when getting ready for bed.

The $20.12 parking special was no great deal since you couldn't combine it with any other discounts like AAA rate. I think it was less than $5 cheaper than taking the AAA room rate and paying regular parking.

The breakfast was OK - only noteworthy thing was the waffles you could make fresh. Avoid the "scrambled eggs" - truly disgusting!

The location was fine, although it was very confusing that E. Grand St intersects Michigan Ave BELOW ground and you have to walk up steps to get to Michigan. I'd probably look at other options as we saw lots of nice places while walking around the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Imyq,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Regarding your comment about the shelving and extra surface area, I will bring the issue up with the Engineering department and see what can be done. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    799
    238
    63
    44
See reviews for
1,145
566
128
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and 10 yr old daughter. We had a suite on the 12th floor - we had checked in online and selected a suite on the 17th floor but when we arrived we were told the pool on the 19th floor had leaked into that room so we couldn't have it - strange but no big problem. Overall, the hotel does exactly what you need in a big city - provides a clean bed when you are exhausted after sightseeing, and a plentiful breakfast to set you up for the next day's activities, and this for a reasonable price.

Pros:
Location - close to Michigan Ave but away from much of the noise and bustle.
Breakfast - by no means gourmet but adequate fuel to get you through till lunch. Breakfast room well managed by multiple staff.
Room was very clean.
Wifi - free for Honors members and fast.
Check in staff were very friendly and helpful.

Cons:
Room outdated with chipped bathtub, bed had blankets not duvet.
Room smaller than other Homewood Suites we have stayed in (but I guess smaller rooms are common in big cities.)
Toilet and fridge were extremely noisy.
Elevators (only 2) were slow at peak times.
Pool was not super clean and, according to my daughter, tasted of urine.

We would definitely stay here again, unless a newer hotel were available for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britsinindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Britsinindiana,

Thank you for your review. I was happy to see that you and your family were pleased with our hotel, staff, and amenities. I was glad to see that you and your family took advantage of our hotel’s convenient location near most of the attractions Downtown Chicago has to offer.

I want to also thank you for your feedback. I will bring up the points you commented on with the team and see if we can figure out a solution.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in Chicago staying at the Homewood Suites. The location was excellent providing ready access by CTA from O'Hare and for all of the tourist travel we undertook. The CTA Red Line was only a block away. Our room was fresh, spacious and comfortable. The major flaw for the hotel was the 6th floor lobby and the limitations experienced by providing only two elevators. There were a sizeable number of family groups staying at the hotel which might explain some of the elevator inconvenience for our stay. This also made the complimentary breakfast difficult to enjoy. However, I like the value for cost and would return to this hotel. Perfect access to Wrigley Field by CTA!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRVToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
DRVToronto,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I was glad to see the location of our hotel was convenient for you and that you found value by staying with us.

I was sorry to see that the elevators created an inconvenience for you. We are limited by the design of the building. However, after discussing the issue with the team, we will try to lessen the wait time during peak periods by offering access to the back elevators.

I hope to see you again the next time you choose to visit Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a great stay we had. They took care of our family as if we were the only ones there. Which at meal times was very crowded. The meals were good for young families that dont feel like going back out and spending more money on food. We felt the meals were very good.
Swimming pool does need some work but the views are great. The pool water was comfortable to swim in. But the huge swimming pool cleaner was not a pretty site to look at everytime we went swimming. I was afraid of my kids to get near it. We always went around 6 pm and wasn't very crowded.
We stayed in room 1118 and had fantastic views. Would have liked to be higher but since we prechecked in on the hilton site- it only gave us 3 floors to choose from. And we were very happy with this room. Didn't hear anyone at all - was like we were the only ones there.
Will return!! :)
Negative-The bed was awful and I am typically not a picky person for beds but this was a very hard bed to sleep on.

Room Tip: 1118 if a great room with great views and an extra window. And we were tucked in a corner room and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingheidi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Like your family, many of our guests find our breakfast and dinner to be of great value and very good food. I was also happy to see that you and your family were able to enjoy the swimming pool. We look forward to making your family feel at home again the next time you are staying in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overall, Homewood Suites in downtown Chicago was a very good value and I would stay here again. The hotel is very nice, updated, and comfortable. They offered plenty of hot food for dinner and breakfast and the staff did an excellent job of helping guests in the dining room. It was also great to have the kitchenette right in our room with a full size refrigerator to keep extra snacks and beverages. The location, right in the heart of sight-seeing and shopping, was perfect. We were able to leave our car parked and walked to Navy Pier and Michigan Ave. The bed was super comfortable and the suite offered enough space for all 4 of us to sit, stretch out, and be comfortable.
On the slightly downside, the room was a bit stuffy and the bathroom is so small that we couldn't open or close the bathroom door unless the seat was up (definitely designed by a man!). We did not have good service from the valet and bellman either at check in or check out. However, these minor inconveniences were outnumbered by all the good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside offer a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Jemma,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to see that our suites, amenities, service, breakfast, and dinner were of good value to you. I was also glad to see that you took advantage of our great location and walked to Navy Pier and Michigan Ave.

I am happy to say that we have changed some of the cleaning products we use for the rooms. The Housekeeping team is very excited about the new products and we feel it will make a big difference in spritzing up the rooms. We hope the next time you choose to stay with us, the change is noticeable to you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is an average hotel, but overall, great value for money; got friendly staff, free breakfast/(dinner from Mon-Thu), free and fast wifi everywhere, very close to everything. On the negative side, rooms are a little outdated and cleaners may enter your room without knocking.
I'd stay again though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000-pff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you felt you got great value staying at our hotel. I will pass along your compliments to the entire team regarding the friendliness of our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, nice amenities. Best thing for us was having dinner available at the end of our day (M-Th), thus saving time, money and the hassle of finding a restaurant for dinner. It was perfect for our family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNtraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary response; our team at Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago takes pride in being friendly and helpful. I am pleased to see that our suites were spacious enough for you and your family and that you all took advantage of our Manager’s Dinner Reception. The next time you are in Chicago, we would love for you to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing