We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #117 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I visit Chicago often, and rarely find a hotel I really like, but I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo, and had one of the best hotel experiences. I had two single rooms reserved, and as we went to check in (early mind you) the gentleman, Mr. Hilton, at the front desk upgraded both my rooms and got us in early! As we got up to the room I was shocked at how clean and nicely put together the rooms were, not to mention the beautiful decor and view. The location was great, just a couple blocks north of Magnificent Mile, and tons of bars and restaurants within a block, including the restaurant/bar in the hotel. The outgoing and friendly staff plus a wonderful location makes this hotel a definite do-over.

I stay at many hotels, especially IHG hotels, and I can definitely say this was one of the best! I am hoping to stay when I visit again in May and June.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittneyLane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We definitely have a great location, we are always glad when our guests take advantage of this to enjoy the city as much as possible. Our staff takes pride in exceeding guest expectations, and we are very fortunate to have individuals such as Tom that take excellent care of them.

Thanks for staying with us, as well as other IHG properties, we would love to see you again soon and look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    473
    190
    82
    58
See reviews for
256
361
96
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The decor is charming - downstairs restaurant in particular quaint and lovely. However, their "studio" rooms are not very comfortable. So small there is no place literally to put the suitcase other than the one small desk. I came in to find a large tray on my bed with the ice bucket, remote, etc on it. While taking it off the bed I noticed there just isn't any place to put it-so against the wall it went. Cold hardwood floors with no curtains-just horizontal wood blinds that when closed do not keep out the light. No tub-shower only. Very little if any counter space in the bathroom. Good location and I must give extremely high marks to the staff - in particular Tom at the front desk who went out of his way to make up for things that really weren't his fault at all. The day I was there it was unusually cold and he took a special interest in helping me find a meal (their restaurant has what I would call more "fancy" fare - I was looking for something simpler) close by. He also offered to change my room to a larger one (which by that time I passed on). Also had to call for coffee in the morning - only decaf an tea packets in the room. The staff came up immediately with it. I'd give this one another try mainly because of the great staff,-but would try and avoid the studio room if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid studio rooms if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for leaving feedback for us, we appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear that our staff took great care of you while you were here, we are very fortunate to have a wonderful staff that takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We'd love to have you back with us and will gladly make every attempt to provide one of our larger rooms for you as those typically go first due to higher demand. Although we do have some smaller rooms that are more typical of boutique hotel rooms in the city, we find that most guests still enjoy the comforting decor as well!

Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you soon.

-Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Dont stay here for the $300 a night, plus $75 for small pet fee, and the of course, Valet parking which is automaticly charged to your credit card. You cant check in until 4pm. No pool, no nothing. Also a coke in the vending machine is 5.50- and if you drink the bottle of water in the room its 4.00. I had a view of the alley. I went for my birthday and was TOTALLY disappointed. The only thing thats good- is the location, which is downtown by state st.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor, and no a view of the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Indigo twice and enjoyed it a great deal. And...speaking of deals, at times, you can find a King room for $99! This is when I absolutely love this Hotel. There is a restaurant on premises, but we have only had breakfast there. A small quaint bar in the lobby and roomy, bright rooms! Parking is available next door for a usual Chicago fee. I think it is around $40 for a day. Cabs are easy to find to get to any downtown location. The only thing this hotel needs is a pool. Then I could take the grandchildren! I always book through the Holiday Inn webpage and have never had a problem!

Room Tip: It helps to be a member of Holiday Inn's reward program. And it's free to join!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmeyers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illlinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful rooms... not overly large but very adequate. Location is just what we wanted. Walking distance to many bars, restaurants and a cab ride to others. I've stayed here off and on over the years... when it was even a different hotel. LOVE the location, in the middle of a nice residential neighborhood, just around the corner from division/rush. Love it, staff always nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is the worst experience in Chicago I have had. We were told the only room was smoking because we booked through Priceline. I had to ask 5 times what else they could do for us. NOTHING was offered UNTIL I asked for food vouchers. This hotel doesn't even have complimentary breakfast. The 4th Floor smoking floor smells like an ashtray. Room is small and uncomfortable, TV small out dated! This is suppose to be a 3 Star hotel and it doesn't rate 2 stars. Given one queen bed for family of three. Hotel staff unfriendly and lacked customer service skills.

Room Tip: Call and confirm non smoking and two beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights visiting my son at Depaul. Room was reasonably sized and clean. The beds were comfortable. The Red line is a few minute walk around the corner. Water Tower area is is a short walk. North Beach and Lincoln park were a little longer. but easy walk away. There are several fantastic restaurants less than a 5 minute walk away: Table Fifty Two, Chicago Q and Mario's. Yes, the TV was old, there was no refrigerator and a wider selection at the bar would have been nice, but cleanliness, convenience and a friendly staff won me over. There is no shortage of bars within close walking distance.

Room Tip: 3rd Coast Cafe--a couple of doors south on Dearborn is the hot tip for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#111 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing