We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #113 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Great staff. Unique motif. Comfortable rooms. Best of all is location. Right in the middle of best eateries and shops. If you exercise it is a great area for running. Close to beach.

Don't miss this place. You won' be disappointed.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful comments! We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very fortunate to have a great staff that strives to exceed our guests expectations, and will certainly be sharing your comments. Very happy to see you enjoyed our great location as well, the heart of the Gold Coast is perfect for anyone wanting to stay away from the noise of the Loop, while being close to everything Chicago has to offer!

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    465
    185
    80
    58
See reviews for
250
358
94
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

While I have stayed at several hotels and resort in my years, nothing quite like this. The hotel itself was clean and nice and very well designed. It was like I bought a large house and asked my wife to go pick out furniture from the beach store. Lots of different colors, shapes, sizes and textures. Almost like a learning mobile crib for adults. Youknow the know the ones they have for babies with different colors and shapes to stimulate the brain....This is the same for adults. Its a small hotel very trendy, expensive and upitty. Its about 6 long block from Michigan Ave and all the shopping.

Room Tip: Dont book through hotwire or one of the other ones. They give you a smoking room with a dbl bed. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hueyx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgman
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for one night when we were in Chicago to see a play, and could not have asked for a lovelier hotel. I especially liked the sea decor, done all in blues and greens, making it very refreshing and relaxing. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was smaller than what I thought it might be, but that didn't really matter. The bed was so comfortable, and the bathroom well-stocked with thirsty towels. The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood but is close to all the night life. We were able to walk to a cool little bar on Division St. and enjoy supper. We would stay here again. I thought it unusual, and it offered a great respite in the middle of a busy city.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel Indigo is located within walking distance to great shopping, dining and cultural activities. The rooms are clean and decorated in seacoast fashion. We loved the hardwood floors and gas fireplace, it was perfect to get warmed by after an afternoon of sight seeing. Lincoln Park and the zoo are within 15 walking minutes, as is shopping on Michigan Ave and great food on Rush. You can walk to Navy Pier and Millenium Park but it is a bit of a hike. No worries though as taxis are everywhere. Even the subway to Wrigley Field is right around the corner. Unlike other hotels in town, the bar at the Indigo is small and really designed to serve guests rather than the public We did not try the restaurant as there were too many great places to eat close by. If you are visiting family in the area they do offer a neighborhood rate. Definitely not a large scale hotel like the Marriot or Sheridan, but a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property, it was our pleasure serving you while you were in town. We couldn't agree more with your assessment of our location, our guests find that we are conveniently located to all the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and leisure hotspots that Chicago has to offer, as well as being a short commute to local offices downtown!

Great tip for future guests as well mentioning our neighborhood rate, feel free to contact us anytime and we'd be happy to provide it to you for future dates. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very charming and cozy hotel! Love the decor, good value, good location. The only downside is there is no dresser or drawers to put your clothes in. For a week-long stay, I want to unpack my bags and settle in, but there's not one drawer in the whole room. There is a bureau with a shelf, but small, dark and awkward to get to. They seemed to go with function follows form with the decor...cute, but not very functional. I would stay here again though if the price was right!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback, we appreciate our guests comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. As you mention, some of our rooms are more on the petite side with limited storage, however we do also offer much larger rooms that can accommodate those that are staying with us longer. Although these double-queen and corner king rooms are the most demanded room types, our staff is always happy to assist in providing them upon request if available. And, if you happen to be a Platinum Priority Club member, these are available as a complimentary upgrade if available at check-in!

Again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My mother and I wanted to take a quick mini vacation in Chicago on a tight budget. We booked this hotel at a GREAT price. Hotel Staff is Super friendly. Hotel is very trendy and hip and well decorated w a beach theme. It has a small restaurant w a great selection and great prices for a hotel. The also have a nice mid size bar right down in the lobby. Our room had a great view, Comfy bed, clean room. I liked that the hotel had plenty of reading material of attractions in the area, if you ask the staff as to where to go and eat, they will be more than happy to direct you and they also have some coupons for restaurants in the area. They also offer Free Wifi which many hotels in Chicago do not and right next to the hotel there is a parking garage where you can pay to leave your car overnight. It is within walking distance to Many places to eat and several pharmacies, supermarket. Super convenient location and there is a train stop about 1-2 blocks from hotel. Will def stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If facing the hotel. Get a room on the left (opposite side of elevator) so that you can get a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonSantiago85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We were delighted to see that you had a great stay and will be sharing your feedback with our staff here. As a multiple year recipient of IHG's Torchbearer Award for customer satisfaction, we pride ourselves in taking care of our visitors. We love it when our guests can easily experience the wonderful Gold Coast neighborhood and it sounds like you did just that!

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown

P.S. Very nice tip as well for the rooms, we like the views of the city also!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I visit Chicago often, and rarely find a hotel I really like, but I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo, and had one of the best hotel experiences. I had two single rooms reserved, and as we went to check in (early mind you) the gentleman, Mr. Hilton, at the front desk upgraded both my rooms and got us in early! As we got up to the room I was shocked at how clean and nicely put together the rooms were, not to mention the beautiful decor and view. The location was great, just a couple blocks north of Magnificent Mile, and tons of bars and restaurants within a block, including the restaurant/bar in the hotel. The outgoing and friendly staff plus a wonderful location makes this hotel a definite do-over.

I stay at many hotels, especially IHG hotels, and I can definitely say this was one of the best! I am hoping to stay when I visit again in May and June.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittneyLane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We definitely have a great location, we are always glad when our guests take advantage of this to enjoy the city as much as possible. Our staff takes pride in exceeding guest expectations, and we are very fortunate to have individuals such as Tom that take excellent care of them.

Thanks for staying with us, as well as other IHG properties, we would love to see you again soon and look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#62 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#120 of 186 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#64 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing