We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Duper Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel was clean, clean clean. Very attentive staff. Made one feel like royalty.
Really awesome room. Great comfortable bed. Quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSW-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We came into Chicago via the South Shore Line and this was just a short walk away. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the spacious lobby, the friendly reception from both the bell staff and front desk. Our room was quite large as was the bathroom. We have no complaints.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor looking over a courtyard, of sorts. No view to speak of but no problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is an awesome place to stay - if you can find it! Located along Wabash between Madison and Monroe the doorway is easy to miss when walking down the sidewalk and the 'walkway' to the elevator is not impressive, but when the elevator door opens on the second floor your eyes will 'bug out' at the sight of the expansive lobby complete with complimentary fruit water and grand piano. The rooms are all redone with beautiful oak accents, comfy beds, unusual window treatments and bathrooms you'd be proud to take home!
The location is great for theatres, dining and only a few blocks from the train stations and Millenium / Grant parks. We spent the weekend without taking a cab!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Pretty much a perfect stay. Minor mistakes were handled great. Excellent customer service. Although the staff was unusually swamped, a warm smile and a "thank you" made a difference.
I had no issues with the train, although I could see how a light slepper would. Also, I am not a TV watcher, but the non-flat screen and limited cable channels might be an issue for some...I will stay again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: No views, but light sleepers should discuss this issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annnbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Solid value play in Chicago. Room spacious and clean. Property and rooms in general may be a hair dated but not bad, seems well kept. Overall happy with my stay... With one exception.

When you check in, tell them you want your room as far away from the L track/platform as possible. Of a presumable hundred or two rooms, I may have had the worst room in the building. I could have extended a stepladder from my room and walked onto the train platform. Noise and vibration every few minutes during most of the day.. Awesome. So not cool that I made it like a personal challenge to deal with it without complaining and/or requesting a room change. That's weird, I know.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobdigi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is very close (Just steps away) to Madison station (Brown, Orange, Pink, Green, Purple) and Red line is one block west, Blue line is two block west. Bus lines are close. Seven-Eleven, Dunkin Donuts, restaurants, and CVS store are around corner. Millenium Park is one block east. If you don't have a car, this hotel is very convenient to move around. Hotel is old but our room was clean and had so much space (two double beds and restroom was huge! I paid $105/night - winter special). Customer services are good and give us smile always. There was no hair conditioner so if you need, you'd better bring it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akimaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival the staff called up to our room, to ensure our needs were being met. It was the perfect location in the city. We were able to walk anywhere we needed to be. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
349 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,951 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $157 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing