We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have stayed there several times now. Very convenient location, easy acces to the El. Staff is courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: Can get noisy if your room faces the El, ask for one on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKE687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    530
    127
    29
    34
See reviews for
377
695
118
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a great 3 day stay at the silversmith. Nice, clean and staff very helpful. Loved the location. With in walking distance of many of the major Chicago sites. Close to all lines of public transportation. Will definitely plan on staying for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Excellent location. Within a block we could access the L, the subway, and the buses. We parked our car at the Millenium garage under the park. Very easy and close. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Our room faced the alley so we looked out at a brick wall, but our intent was not to sit in our room anyway. We live in the country where there is no noise, yet we didn't hear the L at all. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It didn't hurt that we had sparkling weather for our five days in Chicago. But the key element was the ideal situation of the Silversmith. Perfect location for all of our hoofing about the Loop, taking the L or the subway (easy, quick and cheap from both airports as well as to Oak Park for Frank Lloyd Wright immersion outing). Friendly, helpful staff made our suite feel like our home away from home. I slept like a rock on the excellent bed. Our suite on the 5th floor was just above the L tracks. I wondered about noise; not a problem. The only criticism I would offer would be of the room's heating system. It was responsive but a little wild with temperature fluxuation. The neighborhood has lots of eateries made it easy to stay fed and coffee'd. Historic architecture abounds. Millenium Park is close and fabulous. Sigh. Can I go back now?

Room Tip: We had a suite, so there was living space. I've read that some rooms were small, so if you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msjcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely stay.. The arts and crafts decor was very tasteful, nice wood, lovely bathroom, all very clean, lots of space to keep organized.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This small, boutique hotel was great for a weekend in the city. Very close to theatres, Millinium Park, art museum. Not a bad walk to Navy Pier and the shops on Michigan Ave. right in the heart of the loop shopping and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Don't panic when you see the el right outside the door. Sounds from it were not a problem. Our room was not large. This is an old hotel,recently renovated, so that was not a surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The entire hotel is old oak walls and furniture. The Lobby is very Arts & Crafts era and so elegant.
The rooms were small but very clean & modern amentities. Since it is located in the Loop and across from Jewler's Row the parking is valet. Very expensive. The doorman and staff are all very polite and knowledgeable of the area. The EL trains are right there and very noisy. There is a restaurant on the premises with a great breakfast. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: Higher Floors are less noisy from the trains. Check at lobby which corner is better view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank western59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#94 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,186 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#8 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#16 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,159 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing