We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This hotel is almost great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #104 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This hotel is almost great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I so much want this hotel to get good marks. Everything was so close. We got into our room and were so excited about it until we realized no water would come out of the sink or shower (we had just flown in and were hoping to shower). They sent a handyman quickly. We wanted to get something to drink and then realized the glasses were filthy. We went to sit on the lovely window bench and it had dust and little pieces of dirt all over it. It was as if the room hadn't been looked over before we got into it. Aside from that, it was very nice. Great location. Great views. Very modern decor. The shower in the bathrooms a bit weird because it will definitely flood the whole bathroom (just short of European or Asian style). We had a decent stay. Like I said, this hotel was close to being great. For us, it was just good.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear CulturalCouple2,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, I apologize on behalf of the hotel for the shortcomings you experienced. I assure that this is not the standard of the hotel and the corrective actions have occurred. We value the feedback that guest such as yourself provide to us as this helps us to maintain a level of customer service that our guest have come accustomed to and expect. Please feel confident in knowing that your comments have been heard and we will work that much harder to ensure our best in guest services. Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will continue to stay with us when you are in the Chicago downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    988
    485
    167
    104
See reviews for
749
542
134
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband, brother in law and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. The service was friendly, the rooms were very clean and the atmosphere was nice. We got a great deal online so the value was great and as with most Hilton hotels they did not treat us as if we were some broke college kids booking on a discount site. They gave us a room with a view and not a cramped no view room like so many other chains do when you book through a discount site. There is a bagel place attached to the building and there is a bar in the lobby...we enjoyed too many beers at the cubs game and Timothy O'tooles (right across the street) to use the bar but it is there if you don't want to venture far. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Hello Sarasotasunshine,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the venues, the area and the guest room. We strive to make every stay a memorable one, thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you in the near future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We visited the hotel over Memorial Day weekend. I booked the hotel on Pricefinder.com and was worried about what we may end up with, BUT I was pleasantly surprised. We traveled from Wisconsin with our two small children. The hotel was clean. The rooms were nice and the staff was SO friendly. We didnt have housekeeping come in at all while we were there, but when they'd see us in the hotel, they'd offer to clean. The consierge was knowledgable and the hotel's location was perfect for walking to every destination and was close to water taxis. I would highly recommend the hotel to others and we will be staying there on our trips back to Chicago!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484MeganG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Megan,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay here at the hotel. We appreciate the comments and for informing us that our staff was very accommodating. We hope that you will continue to choose the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile as your hotel of choice when traveling. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this location from May 24, 2012 to May 28, 2012. We booked through Priceline for $112 per night. We got a large room on the 7th floor. In addition to a king bed, it had a sofa and chair for sitting (something I always like). The hotel is about 3 blocks from the section of Michigan Ave known as the Magnificent Mile. It is very close to the Northwestern Hospital Campus so be prepared for lots of sirens. They were noticeable but didn't disrupt our sleep. The hotel is also about 3 blocks in the other direction from Navy Pier and the walk along the lakefront. The rooms seemed clean and in reasonably good condition. The hotel only has an outdoor pool, which wasn't an issue for us since we got lovely weather during our stay but might impact some people during their visit. What kept the visit from a higher rating was the check in process and the fact that you have to pay for wireless in your room. I wondered if the check in was based on our Priceline status but although the girl was friendly she provided us with very little information about the hotel or the area. I am used to more than that when I travel normally. If it is based on the fact that we purchased on Priceline that would be unfortunate for them. I don't often book this way but I am unlikely to go back to a hotel that didn't treat me properly just because I was on a reduced rate for that visit. The wireless issue just seems silly when so many lower priced hotels offer this service as a common item now. On the plus side for service, we forgot our corkscrew and when we called the front desk they brought one right up. On the whole it was a positive experience but I would probably not stay at this hotel for the posted right. The value was good for what we paid. This is a great location for seeing the sights in Chicago but still being a little bit off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Sherneil,

Thank you for your candid review of the hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I will speak with the Front Desk Manager about the check in process you experienced, I can assure you that is not the standard of our hotel. We do our very best to make every check in as smooth as possible, I am sorry if that was not the case with your check in. As for the internet, we are making changes in the near future so that every one will be able to enjoy this service. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here during my first visit to Chicago. The hotel isn't right on the Mag Mile, but it is about 3 blocks away and not too bad of a walk. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked for a high floor near the stairwell which they were able to accommodate. The room is modern and spacious. Don't touch the snack bar, they're on sensors that are weight-sensitive and will be billed to your room. If you do just call down to the lobby and they will adjust your bill. Since we're Hilton Honors we got complimentary coupons for the breakfast buffet which was delicious - breakfast meats, french toast, croissants, fruit, etc. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was very good, I definitely recommend the 1/2 lb+ burger! The pool was open during our stay and I took advantage of it on the day it was 97 degrees. The water was great and luckily none of the nearby buildings blocked the sun. The only complaint I have of this hotel is the elevators. Even though there are four and they seem to move at a decent speed, for some reason we always had to wait. They also make screeching sounds and shake a lot which freaked me out. Other than that I would definitely stay at this hotel again and suggest it to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask away from the elevator. The pool is located on the 5th floor if you want to be near it. Even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Ashley,
Thank you for choosing us! We know that you have many choices for your lodging experience and we are honored that you chose to stay at our hotel. The area is great with many attractions, many with in walking distance as you stated. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to comment on your stay and we hope that this will only be the begging of many more returns! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The room was a bit pricey, but it is downtown Chicago. The bed was very comfy and I had a great nights sleep. On the other hand, my husband complained of traffic noise and our room was on the 12th floor. Staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMT121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear TMT121,
Thank you for your review. We apologize if the traffic noise caused any major disruption during your stay, but since we are in a city setting it is hard to avoid city sounds especially since we are close to Northwestern Hospital. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline for $85/night plus tax. This is not actually on Magnificient Mile. It is about 3 blocks from there, but an easy stroll. Still a good location, red line about 5 blocks, an easy 10-15 min stroll. Room size are a little small, but all other hotels down there are too. Rooms appear to be renovated. Smooth check-in. Overall a good experience. Nothing fancy, but a good value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hello Poston,
Thank you for the post and we are glad that you chose us to enjoy your time in Chicago.
We are definitely a great choice, we are minutes from many of the venues people come to Chicago to see and experience. Our hotel is priced just right with great amenities to enjoy. Please check out our website for great getaway packages that we are sure you will enjoy. Do not forget our out door pool that will be opening soon! Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing