We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not your finest, or even your finer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn O'Hare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn O'Hare
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Sterling, Ak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not your finest, or even your finer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our first clue that this was a run down hotel was that the airport shuttle van showed up sputtering & obviously needed some engine work, it was pretty rusty & the Comfort Inn decale was dingy & faded. The hotel itself was visually clean but had a dingy feel that left you feeling that it was dirty. The desk clerk was a bit sullen. Our room was big but quit dingy & outdated. It could have had more furniture to fill the space. That would have left it feeling more homey. As it was is felt sparse and thread bare. The bed was fairly comfortable so it wasn't a total loss but we should have paid more for a closer fresher room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaKSterling_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    106
    68
    38
    28
See reviews for
62
89
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at this motel in jan-2012..worth of money I paid for the room..nice clean room, big breakfast area,professional staff,good shuttle service,nice looking front desk area,looks recently upgraded rooms....over all AAA..for the service I got..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEX P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel is a 15-20 minute shuttle ride from O'Hare. Shuttles run every half hour (at :10 and :40 as of this writing.) The shuttle driver may tell you otherwise, so be sure to check with the front desk.

The lobby is airy, bright and upscale-looking. That impression stops at the lobby. I found my room dingy and shabby-looking. The heating system was noisy, insisting on turning itself on periodically even when I'd turned it off trying to sleep. I could also hear the shower from the room above me. Internet was good. The bathroom had a decent-sized vanity area and a separate toilet and shower. Toiletries included shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap (which crumbled in my hand.)

Coffee is available round the clock and there is a breakfast service in the morning. When I arrived late in the evening, the only dinner option was Italian delivery.

The desk clerk who checked me in told me she was reserving the shuttle for me for a specific time. The next morning I discovered that she had not, and was told that this is not an unusual occurrence. Another passenger had only been told that the shuttle left every half hour, and not given the specific times. If you're catching a flight, double-check on the shuttle or you may be stranded.

If all you need is a cheap place to sleep, this will do. If you would like more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Des Plaines hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The room was comfortable and clean. However, the walls are very thin and don't block sound at all. I could hear the TV playing clearly in the adjacent room and conversation most of the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFamilyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Functional, no-frills hotel convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCbella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I stayed overnight prior to our flight out. The staff was quite friendly and room very adequate for a rest prior to a long flight. The room was clean and quiet. We were directed to Anthony's Restaurant directly beside the Comfort Innto eat dinner. We were quite happy with the inexpensive menu, fast service and great food. A airport shuttle is available, but we did not take advantage of it. We would definitely use this Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I recently arrived to Chicago as a connecting flight, it was me, my six children, my sister in law, and her three children, as well as my other sister in law and her child, that’s 13 (14 if you count my pregnancy) people on a trip home to the USA. Through no fault of my own I was randomly selected and my passport was held, my party obviously waited for me, by the time the mix up was cleared up my flight had taken off and there were no other flights till the next day.

The airline in there infinite wisdom decided to give 13 (or 14) people just two rooms with only 4 beds between them for our entire party, one of my sister in laws called her brother to sleep there, leaving 9 of us to split 2 rooms at the Comfort inn, (2175 E. Touhy Ave. Des Plaines, IL, US, 60018 on 11/5/2011-11/6/2011), the next day when we had to get our flight, the Comfort inn employees and there manager refused to send anyone to help with our nearly 30 bags, leaving a pregnant woman and her sister in law to carry them, if I remember correctly when I told the manager I needed help with my bags and that I was pregnant his response was “SO WHAT!”, and unless “SO WHAT!” is the Comforts Inn’s idea of satisfaction, then id say that this location didn’t get the memo on Comfort inn’s commitment to satisfaction on there website (When you choose to stay at a Comfort Inn® hotel, we are committed to making you feel welcome. If you're not satisfied with our accommodations or service, please let the front desk know without delay so we can make it right.). I’m sure that choice hotels, (and there CEO Stephen P. Joyce) and O’hare International Airport (which is owned by the City of Chicago) had no idea that they were doing business with such a discourteous branch of Comfort Inn.

This is by far the worst customer service experience I have ever had. It is inhuman, rude, and just wrong to treat people like this. I request the manager on duty on the morning of 11/6/2011 to be terminated immediately he gives your hotel a BAD NAME, he does not represent anything your hotel is about. I have stayed at comforts inn on numerous occasions, and have always been treated with the best customer service. This manager is not Comfort Inn material, and no airline should do business with a hotel run by such a manager.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Plaines
1.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Chicago O'Hare
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
1.5 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
BEST WESTERN at O'Hare
#18 of 18 in Rosemont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn O'Hare

Property: Comfort Inn O'Hare
Address: 2175 E. Touhy Ave., Des Plaines, IL 60018 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Comfort Inn O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn o`Hare Hotel Des Plaines
Comfort Inn Des Plaines
Des Plaines Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing