We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
210
25
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
25
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 238 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2016

As always family and friends take 3 day weekend trip, and this year everyone wanted to go back to Galena Ill, and stay at Andy's and Joyce's motel, THE VIEW in Elizabeth Ill.

So off we go, all on our motorcycles, bit chilly, some said it wad COLD, Going to see Andy! Of course we have the whole motel for the weekend, rented all 11 rooms, so we just have a blast with Andy and Joyce..They have whatever we want to drink, iced and ready to drink..We let him know in advance what everyone wants, and he has it. for 22 people, that could be a lot!!! if you know what I mean? Some also take their own potion! Friday night got there, did our greetings, hugs n smooches, we are a friendly group..everyone unpacked, cleaned up and warmed up a bit..then we headed to downtown to restaurant for dinner, of course we took Andy and Joyce with us, in their car! We called for reservations, can you imagine the faces when 24 people walk in for dinner?, they loved it..good company, good food, great time had by all. Saturday, rode to Galena, breakfast, site seeing, rode to Dubuque Iowa to Harley Davidson Shop, always find a HD to visit, then back toward The View, however we decided we wanted to go to POOPYS Motorcyle in Savannah Ill, about 20 miles from THE VIEW, for dinner and Poopys Shirt/Sweatshirts... if you never been to POOPYS its worth the stop!! called Andy on way back to have fire ready for us, yes he has a nice area to sit around the fire and talk, laugh, more laughing as the evening comes to an end..
THE VIEW MOTEL, is the place to stay, clean, clean, friendly owners, always there if you need something...only 10 miles from Galena, allowing a beautiful view on the way.

Room Tip: views of rolling hills, beautiful sunrise, and sunset
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAS7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Andy and Joyce are truly nice people. They made us feel welcome, the room and grounds are extremely clean. Its location is centrally located for many of the site seeing, historical sites. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Our group stayed at The View this past weekend and we were treated with exceptional customer service. When a group books all of the rooms there is a discount plus we were greeted with a full cooler upon arrival and bonfires in the evenings along with music to our liking. My husband and I also enjoyed staying at The View in December and were welcomed with a glass of wine along with great information regarding the area. This motel isn't far away from Galena and we found it so welcoming! Andy and Joyce are great hosts! The View is an updated old-style motel along a main highway. Check it out on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2016

The View is a very small 11 room hotel. It does not have a pool or hot tub. What it does have is it's owners. Andy is an unbelievable host. We went to Galena for a bike trip. The group I went with stays at the View all the time. So I heard stories about how great this place is. From the time we checked in to the time we left Andy was great. He had cold beverages when we pulled up waiting for use. He had towels ready to whip down our bikes. At night they have a fire pit. He would bring out wine and s' Mores for use. The hotel is super clean. I never felt so at home staying in a hotel as I did as I did this weekend. He is the owner, manager, maintenance man, ect.... But most of all he is a great host. I will be back and back again and again.

Room Tip: Grab some friends and rent all 11 rooms for the weekend
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank funseeker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

We went to galena for us grant pilgrimage and stayed at the view. Very welcoming folks and nice clean rooms. Would for sure stay there again. In the early morning you can see thesun rise on one side and the moon set on the other

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank robin65_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews