We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First but not last visit....”
Review of The View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The View Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My stay at The View Inn was a surprise from my Mister. From the moment we pulled in it was breathtaking. The outside of the Inn and the grounds are the closest thing to perfect as I have ever seen. The room was so clean. Usually a hotel room has an odor, almost musty, not here. The beds, the pillows, the bathroom were so comfortable. We went to dinner in Galena and couldn't eat fast enough so we could get back for the bonfire. Andy and Joyce welcomed us like we were family coming home. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Book in advance but still try last minute in case of a cancellation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tara-and-Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016

The rooms are clean, the company of Andy and Joyce is welcoming, the suggested stops for food and shopping in the area are outstanding. There is internet and cable for those who need down time in the room. The showers are hot with good pressure and all is very kept. We will be regular visitors here. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Friendly people, clean rooms and comfortable beds. Diffinitely a great place to stay. They were able to give a recommendations for food and fun. An overall very satisfying experience. If we are in that area again you can be sure we will make reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

This place is great! The owners couldn't be nicer and the room we had was very comfortable and very clean. When you see the surrounding landscape you will quickly realize why they call it The View. One of the coolest places I've stayed in a long time!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Our group stopped in for an overnight on our way home. The owner, Andy, was friendly and helpful. The motel clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. The view of the valley from the motel was breathtaking. Given the opportunity we will definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. The owners were so nice and friendly. They went above and beyond to make sure we had anything amd everything we wanted.. They even would bring ice for our coolers. Each night they would light us a campfire and play music. On one of the nights the brought us out everything we needed as a surprise to make smores.. Our hotel room was very clean, I have stayed in hotels that charge 3 times more and couldn't come close to the cleanliness.. The showers were nice amd hot with excellent water pressure. We went with a group of friends and had an excellent time.. We will be returning in the fall to stay again

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We were visiting Galena for a weekend get-away and happened to choose a weekend during a festival. We were fortunate enough to call the View and hear that they had just had a couple of cancellations due to the high heat that weekend. We arrived late in the evening and the owners were fantastic, giving us brief history of the business and all the work they have done to make it welcoming and fun. There is an outdoor party space with a fire pit, a community room with fridge and microwave, free wifi, and the rooms are clean, simple and quiet. We were very happy with our stay and enjoyed "the view" the following morning over the hill as the sun came up. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
18.1 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
10.7 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
14.8 km away
Grant Hills Motel
Grant Hills Motel
#10 of 11 in Galena
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Motel

Address: 2500 US Highway 20 W, Junction of Hwys 20 & 84, Elizabeth, IL 61028-9481
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: $75 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Elizabeth
View Hotel Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing