We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Farm cottage with great views from the main front...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Michaelmas Cottage

Michaelmas cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Michaelmas cottage
mezanine floor lounge with beautiful view of the Yorkshire countryside Watch activity on the farm from the comfort of your sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Michaelmas cottage
mezanine floor lounge with beautiful view of the Yorkshire countryside
Watch activity on the farm from the comfort of your sofa
Well equipped kitchen with bedrooms and bathroom leading off
Spacious Double bedroom
Twin bedoom can also be made into a single bed
patio outside Michaelmas cottage
The view from both bedrooms and lounge
Double sofabed in lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penistone, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul W
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Farm cottage with great views from the main front window.”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Received a warm welcome from the owner, Sally, for our short stay over Christmas. We were invited to meet the rest of the family for a coffee and a chat on Boxing Day morning in the main farm house which was really nice. The cottage has every thing you need for a holiday let and Sally was very helpful in offering baby gates, chairs etc. There are some great walks nearby with two pubs about a mile away for a drink and a meal but if you want to go further then Holmfirth & Penistone are not that far way. The new Fox Valley shopping area is a few minutes drive away with more restaurants for meals out. If you want a secluded farm cottage stay in a beautiful part of the Pennines with great views of the Valley out of your main window then this is ideal for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca B
1 review
“Lovely little get away”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you so much for a lovely stay (sorry we disappeared so quickly in the morning and didn't say bye). Great little cottage and close to lots of lovely things to do and see in South Yorkshire. Our little boy was entranced by the tractor and combine and our dogs loved Jill the dog (who is lovely). Sally was great lettin our little boy feed the lambs although he wasn't so keen which is hilarious as he's a farmers son...oops! Contrary to another review it was very safe for our toddler (22 months). There was a baby gate which we didn't use as he goes up and down stairs fine. Thank you again for a warm welcome and lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but not really suitable for younger children”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Location was great for us as we needed access to Sheffield and Leeds. The host was very welcoming and there was home baking left for us. The cottage was clean throughout with the exception of a rather grubby highchair. Due to the mezzanine floor I would not take a child under 5 here again. I thought the rails would be a lot higher and we had to constantly watch our 2 year old as the upper floor is very high and open and not impossible for a toddler to fall over the side. A baby gate was needed at the bottom of the stairs as well as the top. There was.no WIFI when we were here which was disappointing as that was one of my booking criteria. I also could not see a washer or dryer as advertised and with four children I had to resort to hand washing clothes. A good selection of games for older children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
So sorry that we did not point you to the Laundry room which has a washer and dryer. Maybe another stair gate would be useful thanks for pointing it out. Wifi is a big problem even for us at the moment and we are moving over to fibre broadband this coming weekend so hopefully that problem will be resolved
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorothy b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had an enjoyable stay x cakes left on the table for our arrival tea,coffee,sugar and milk for a brew when we unpacked x Had a BBQ one night as we only had to supply charcoal and get our meats . Thanks to Sally

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review.xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC2009
London
1 review
“Comfortable cottages, very welcoming landlady”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely part of the country, and easy to use the cottages as a base from which to explore.

The owner was really welcoming, showed us in when we arrived at about 10pm. We have two young kids and they were able to bottle feed some lambs the next day and then got a tour of the farm.

Would stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just returned from a two night stay and the cottage was lovely; clean and cosy and warm throughout. Some home cooking left for us to enjoy on arrival :) Our two young boys and doggy loved that there was a bit of space to run about in. Considering the price we will definitely be visiting again hopefully this summer to visit this beautiful area when its a bit warmer. The farmer even gave us a tour of some of the farm animals for the kids - perfect weekend away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Liked least: The sofa bed was a bit hard to take for two nights! Might let the kids go on it next time!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thanks for this lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your short break
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEJonesjn...
1 review
“Excellent facility”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was a very clean and well presented cottage within a working farm.
We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival as were our dogs.
The cottage was excellent with fresh bedding and linen and a little home baking as a welcome gift (I couldn't eat it all though).

The farm came to life at 8am which was fine for us as we were eay risers.
That said, the owners were conscious of visitors and kept very quiet so a lye in wouldn't have been a problem.

The waggon and horse nearby serves excellent food and a resorvoir walk for the dogs is only 5 minutes away.

A absolutely superb weekend break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, hope other farmers in the area don't read that we don't start work until 8am! People believe that farmers rise at the crack of dawn!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing