We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galena Log Cabin Getaway
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Quiet and romantic spot that is close enough for a short drive (less than 15 minutes) into downtown Galena. Bars/ restaurants/vineyards-wine tastings all at your disposal. See photos for the layout of the cabin. Allows dog as well. Host was absolutely amazing!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raken111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

This place is really in the middle of nowhere. The log cabin is very primitive. If you are interested in experience life in the rural and basic, this is the place for you. If you need modern convenience, this is not the place for you. It does not have Wifi , soften water, carpet, or lots of lighting and you may live next to a beehive. But the owner's hospitality is 2nd to none. She makes sure that we have breakfast everyday, our kids have enough bedding to sleep on. She offer her advice on whatever we need. There is also a pair of binocular in each room for you to view the stars. We stayed here because we want to see milky way. It is a place highly recommended by some stargazers. I think people either love it or hate it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ST7140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This place is past its time ...it's actually scary in every sense. We were very disappointed with this place specially since their website made it look like a special place. I recommend families to stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank lpedotafacebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Actually, be careful if you book here. We booked online and were called 2 hours before checkin to be told there was no room for us. After a half-hearted apology, the explanation was " things happen." We never did see the rooms, but if this is an indication of how this hotel operates, we are hopeful it will be out of business soon.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Quillterdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed here for a wedding in Galena. Its an easy drive to the shops downtown and very close to most of the wedding venues. The cabin was rustic without being overly so and it was lovely to wake up to the alpacas grazing out front. Also, it was so quiet and the sky was beautiful at night. This would be a wonderful place to travel with a dog, lots of running space. The breakfast basket delivery was a nice touch and the DIY/no-fuss check in was very easy for traveling folks unsure of when they would get into town.

Also, the owners found something I forgot at the cabin, contacted me immediately and are shipping it to me. Super nice of them!

Room Tip: We had a single cabin, which was nice. Some of them are duplexes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megansbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We have been coming here for years and we always have a great time. If you are afraid of spiders or being outside in nature at night (when it is dark) this is probably not the right place for you. It's rustic and a bit like high-end camping, but you have a roof over your heard, a frig, a comfy bed, and a huge bathtub with hot water! Get over it, city folks!

A lot of these negative reviews are so unfair. One person gave a terrible review but didn't actually stay here! They wanted to get some free entertainment and didn't get what they wanted, so wrote a bad review.... I hate people like this.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tartplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We did not stay here but we wanted to see the alpacas. We texted the owner in advance and received a reply that viewing was between 10-4. We arrived to find a handful of sad looking alpacas in a pen. No one was around. There certainly was no evidence of a store mentioned on the website. We thought we might be in the wrong place so we drove a bit down the road. We saw a few rundown cabins. Not worth the trip and I worry the alpacas are not being properly cared for.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank kmm8086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.5 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
9.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
9.4 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
7.2 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
4.9 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galena Log Cabin Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galena Log Cabin Getaway

Address: 9401 W Hart John Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Galena
Price Range: $280 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galena Log Cabin Getaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Galena Log Cabin Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing