We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the coffee cake.....”
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast and Lunch
Waverly, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss the coffee cake.....”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This might be one of the best breakfasts I've ever had, outside of a few of my own home cooked creations. I ordered an omelet with sausage, peppers, and onions. It was light and airy, not at all greasy, and had the perfect mix of eggs vs veg vs meat. My daughter had a basic eggs and toast. She commented that this is the first time she's ever asked for over medium and BOTH eggs came back that way. Oh, and the coffee cake. We got the last piece of the day, and I feel unbelievably fortunate that we did. This was divine. The owners were attentive yet not troublesome, and my coffee cup was never empty. Skip all the downtown restaurants and go to Otto's for breakfast. DELISH!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanger1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    128
    32
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way to go Otto!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This building has the character and quaintness to make this a unique spot. The food is wonderful and plenty of it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities, IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast I've Ever Had in Galena”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My Husband is a breakfast lover. I'm so glad I suggested we try Otto's Place. After reading all the reviews, I knew we had to try it. We went on January 2nd, after a long weekend stay for the holiday. The food was fantastic and service was good. Very cozy atmosphere, we sat upstairs. I would like to have dinner next time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, IA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu Excellent Service”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

No off the truck frozen food served here.All food fresh and served with pleasant old town charm.
We had Breakfast all three of us ordered something different and all was excellent.
Friendly Place

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food in a cozy setting”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband, two friends, and I ventured to Otto's for Sunday breakfast and I'm now planning to be a regular on every trip we make to Galena. Otto's menu offers breakfast and lunch. It is not a large menu but rather one chosen to offer good foods in fresh and healthy ways. Some options are organic; many are local sources. I loved the banana french toast (light and delicious) with great maple bacon.
The atmosphere is that of an old restored building but with warm beautiful woods, artful pieces and some comfy areas with couches for those who prefer to stop for coffee or a light snack. The restaurant is two stories and the second floor is worth the stairs for its more open space and bright views. The location is on the east side of the Galena River which is away from the main shopping area so parking is easy across the railroad tracks in a large town lot just steps away . Directly across the street is the town's visitor center in an old railroad station.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quiltingangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing