We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One stop to get all your Galena information

Wonderful friendly staff will give you up to date pointers on what is happening about town.Browse... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
rick j
,
Streamwood, Illinois
Great history and local information

We visit this spot every year when we come to Galena. Not only is it a history museum with all... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2018
MotherOfTwoSons
,
South Holland, IL
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
47
17
16
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
17
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome center civil war general grant starting point commerce street visitor's center great collection first stop interesting things grant family walking tour in town main street memorabilia information interests ulysses
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 82 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

We first visited the Galena Welcome Center because we were looking for a map. The center is in the "Old Market House", a building created during Galena's golden age to rent wagon stalls out to merchants who would sell their wares there. Nowadays, instead of finding potatoes and grains, you will meet helpful staff who can provide you with valuable information about the area. The center was a little hard to find (especially as we went there to get a map of the area). You will find it on Commerce St., which is the closest road to the river that runs parallel to the river.
-----
This is the same review left on the "Galena Welcome Center" page at:
https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g36022-d8693796-Reviews-Galena_Welcome_Center-Galena_Illinois.html

They are the same building.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 0guest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We had never been to Galena before and This was a great starting point. Got info on trolleys and where to eat. Also a nice exhibit on Grant

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank GiGiWest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Great for a quick break from shopping. They had two areas of very interesting historical items. We enjoyed looking at them and as a bonus, sat at a table and played a quick game of checkers. The staff were very helpful. They also sell reasonable reusable shopping bags to consolidate your packages if you forget to bring. There is also a separate building with public bathrooms (always a plus in Galena!) Make sure to stop in.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Stopped by here when we arrived in Galena to ask about U.S. Grants home. Wonderful volunteers who are very knowledgeable. Lots of artifacts about President Grant and the city of Galena.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JMO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here to pick up information about the Galena area but we could have picked all that up when we were in the DeSoto House.

They had a few items but not that many. The women in the back just said to ask questions if we had any. They didn't welcome us to town or ask us to sign a guest book.

It's a nice sized facility but lacking in human warmth. They need an upbeat individual to welcome guests as we've seen in other towns.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews