We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Settlement Home nestled in the heart of the Galena Territory
View from our back deck in the Spring
The Galena area offers picturesque scenery
Waterfall near Settlement Homes
Owners Club
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galena, Illinois

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christian...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We would stay there again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness of the place
Liked least: there was no gas for the grill ........ or maybe we just could not turn it on.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monokus
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice change of pace from a hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Everything that previous reviewers said was pretty much the same (luckily there was no dog barking during our visit). Versus a hotel, it was very nice to have multiple room options for privacy. A tiny annoyance was the fact that the cable TV was out. The owner did come out personally to check on the connections but it was just that random cable outage that happens to everyone. (Wi Fi worked perfectly though and he has a Roku upstairs so we were all good).
Used the kitchen for cooking, bathrooms did their job. A/C was awesome during the heat. A-OK in our book.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY21
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was a great getaway - quiet, peaceful an relaxing. Cottage has everything you you need and more. We enjoyed our time here and definitely will be back.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullyo
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect except for one thing...”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Dog down the way never seemed to be let out. Poor guy, Just always in a corner of the living room with the blinds down. In a crate?
We worried about him and still do....not a bad barker or anything just sad.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJL60504
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy cabin like home!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Nice appliances, furniture and fixtures. Nice that there was firewood provided because we used the fireplace almost the whole time we were there. It is located close to some wonderful walking trails that lead along the woods and the beautiful North Course at Eagle Ridge! I'll bring my clubs the when we return next year! All in all a wonderful place for a quiet vacation in the fall OH, I almost forgot . . . we had to rig a stopper for the tub in order to take a bath one night so if you like soaking in the tub . . . bring a stopper!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace area in the living room!
Liked least: The difficulty in keeping water in the tub for a bath!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R
Belvidere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent rental home; absolutey perfect.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was a perfect cottage home, very cute. Everything was clean and well maintained. Beautiful decor with kitchen fully stocked with eveything you could ask for to make your own meals. Pllenty of towels also. Two bathrooms and two bedrooms. The bed was very comfortable, even though I am used to a waterbed at home. Definitely worth the money charged. Cable TV was also provided by DirectTV. Even had an extra TV in one of the bedrooms.
The only con is that there was no internet access.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Cleanliness and Amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing