We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very nice hotel. Loved the king size bed and the continental breakfast was great! Like the previous reviewer I to seen the brown water from the faucet that's because it's well water and it cleared up in about one minute. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Only drawn back was a few stains on the rug in our room. Kind of gross but it prompted me to wear my slippers which you probably should always wear in a hotel room anyways.

Room Tip: Bring slippers when you travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricDLong, General Manager at Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on Tripadvisor. At the Ramada in Galena, Illinois, we pride ourselves on bed and breakfast, country inn atmosphere, and we work hard to offer the one of the best hotel and resort experiences in the Tri-State area. We’re on the western end of historic Galena, just a 3 minute drive from Main Street, and we’re just 20 minutes east of downtown Dubuque, Iowa. Whether you’re enjoying a quiet, relaxing stay, a trip for shopping and dining, visiting our on-site Indulge Day Spa, or viewing our perennial gardens by the stony pond and creek, our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.
We hope to see you again.
If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly at 815-777-2043.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    338
    156
    55
    41
See reviews for
263
460
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I love Galena and decided we wanted to get away for a few days. We didn't want to spend the money for a B & B and got a great deal to stay at the Ramada. However, I wish we would have spent the money somewhere else. We stayed in the King Suite. The room looked like it had not been updated in a decade, but that was not the issue. First, there were ants in our room....then we went to use the whirlpool and the water was yellow. There was a sign next to the bed that said this happens and to let the water run for 10 minutes and it would clear up. I ran the water for over 30 minutes and it never cleared up. We were very disappointed because we decided to stay at the Ramada because of the whirlpool. The shower also had the yellow colored water. I went to the front desk to see if there was anything they could do, but I stood there for over 10 minutes and no one was to be found. I decided I would just let the office staff know in the morning, but when we went to check out the man and women behind the desk were so into their conversation with each other that they never looked up to speak with me. The hotel has great potential if the customer service was improved and we had clean accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJane1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricDLong, General Manager at Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to let us know about the problems you had with your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please be assured that Management will be addressing the entire staff regarding the customer service issue and the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.
We hope to see you again.
If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly at 815-777-2043.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for a getaway to Galena. Very nice beds and the continental breakfast had a huge variety. Comfortable and quiet. Free Wifi!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggymalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricDLong, General Manager at Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on Tripadvisor. At the Ramada in Galena, Illinois, we pride ourselves on bed and breakfast, country inn atmosphere, and we work hard to offer the one of the best hotel and resort experiences in the Tri-State area. We’re on the western end of historic Galena, just a 3 minute drive from Main Street, and we’re just 20 minutes east of downtown Dubuque, Iowa. Whether you’re enjoying a quiet, relaxing stay, a trip for shopping and dining, visiting our on-site Indulge Day Spa, or viewing our perennial gardens by the stony pond and creek, our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.
We hope to see you again.
If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly at 815-777-2043.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The staff were exception in catering to our needs; above and beyond.
The suite was p-e-r-f-e-c-t !
King bed, really comfortable with pillows you just sink into, plus the jacuzzi and fireplace.
This suite had patio access for summer use so will probably be back to check it out.
European flair in the decorating which was very tasteful and not too much.
This was my fourth stay and will return again and again.
The pool is a great size for doing laps and the hot tub/jacuzzi is very nice as well; relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricDLong, General Manager at Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on Tripadvisor. At the Ramada in Galena, Illinois, we pride ourselves on bed and breakfast, country inn atmosphere, and we work hard to offer the one of the best hotel and resort experiences in the Tri-State area. We’re on the western end of historic Galena, just a 3 minute drive from Main Street, and we’re just 20 minutes east of downtown Dubuque, Iowa. Whether you’re enjoying a quiet, relaxing stay, a trip for shopping and dining, visiting our on-site Indulge Day Spa, or viewing our perennial gardens by the stony pond and creek, our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.
We hope to see you again.
If we can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us directly at 815-777-2043.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Front desk personnel were very cordial and helpful with all our requests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucancallmejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Love the old brick architecture of this hotel which is prevalent throughout this historic town. Staff was very helpful, friendly, & professional. Good size room and clean. Love the 1800 decor staying with the Ulysses Grant theme in my hotel room. A jewel of a hotel in scenic northwestern Illinois. One of the most unique Ramada hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwestIL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great Spa experience! Look at the over 90 reviews of the Ramada! The Skiers stay in the winter and tourists in the summer. Our local company likes to hold conference dinners at the Ramada; utilizing local caters
The hidden gem is the spa! I really didn’t want the competition from other customers to hear about the spa . but the place is too great and too relaxing and wonderful not to share it. So, it is well recommended. The service was tops, prices were reasonable, staff was friendly and accommodating.
Heidi is great in the spa! My wife talked me into going in for a full body massage for my Valentines’ Day gift from her. It was great! The room, warm scented oils, mood music, and the glass of water set the day for you.
They also do hair and nails. Brenda cuts my wife’s hair and just tried the spa massage and was so impressed she bought a 6 month block of massages.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.9 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
12.9 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
14.1 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa

Property: Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Address: 11383 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9685
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Downtown Galena, Shopping and Dining. Our Ramada Galena Hotel was made for whatever occasion you have in mind, be it your wedding and reception, hosting a business event, or having a romantic getaway near Dubuque. Located on Highway 20 and situated on 10 well-manicured acres, including a catch-and-release fishing pond and beautiful gardens, our Galena, IL, hotel offers bed and breakfast charm in northwestern Illinois. Each room features standard amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, and you are invited to use the fitness center complete with 67-foot indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room and volleyball court. Savor in a full body wrap, hot stone massage or a manicure at our full-service day spa, then return to your room for a relaxing evening. Suites with hot tubs and fireplace, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms, are available at our non-smoking Galena, Illinois, hotel. After a refreshing night of rest, start each day of your stay with free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Day Spa Galena
Ramada Galena
Galena Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing