We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved and will definitely be back"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved and will definitely be back"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

It was an outstanding weekend get away. The Abby is quaint and lovely. The food was great and the owners were like family. We especially loved the gardens. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbielovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    6
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Abby for the weekend. First time in a B & B and first time in Galena. We absolutely loved it. All was clean, the beds were comfortable and absolutly loved Kathleen the owner. I would recommend this to any one looking for a couple weekend. It made the trip to Galena all the more special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourownagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This bed and breakfast is physically beautiful and epitomizes the period of the city of Galena
which is frozen in time in the mid nineteenth century. The gardens are spectacular and a perfect spot to read before a delicious breakfast which prepares you to set off on various
adventures the town has to offer. Your hosts are genuinely caring and are justifiably proud
of their beautiful restoration of a classic period structure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faganeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We wanted a relaxing, stressfree weekend and the Abbey High Street B & B was just the place to be on Memorial Day weekend. We were greeted by a gracious hostess who showed us around this beautiful home and then took us to our room. The room was decorated very nice. We had a jacuzzi tub that was just the right way to end each day of exploring and enjoying Galena.
The gardens were beautiful and the gazebo was a great place to have coffee in the am or just to relax in the afternoon. From the gazebo we could see the "Camp David" of President Grant. The breakfast was excellent each morning. Fresh fruit to begin the day with a plate of delicious items to follow completed a very filling meal. Kathleen talked with us during breakfast and told the history of the house which made the stay even more enjoyable.
We can honestly say that the time spend at the Abbey Bed and Breakfast was worth it. Tom and Kathleen made us feel quite welcome and the house was decorated with many antiques but you felt as though you could relax and be yourself. This is one place that we would frequent again when we return to this area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joelandvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Abbey's High Street is a real treasure. Kathleen and Tom are the consumate hosts and want only to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. The house, which dates from 1850, has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated. There are wonderful flourishes everywhere, most of them hand-painted. The anitque-rich foyer, parlor and dining room are a visual treat, exuding style, charm and comfort. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and among friends. When Kathleen and Tom found out we were there to celebrate our anniversary they congratulated us and hoped that we would have a wonderful time. We stayed in the Carriage house, which has its own private entrance and includes a daybed in the front sun room, along with a 4 poster canopy bed, a private bath and a small fridge. The linens were so soft, and the bed so comfortable that we slept very well. There was even an electric fireplace. The breakfasts were delicious and filing, including fresh fruit, home made pastry, omelets and Canadian bacon - all served on beautiful china, with sparkling silver and glassware. There is coffee and tea or hot chocolate in the parlor beforehand, and we were invited to make use of the parlor at any time to watch TV or have a beverage. Our room was so cozy and romantic that we spent most our time there when we weren't enjoying Galena. The weather was a bit too chilly, so we weren't able to sit in the amazing gardens, but there are ample spots to do so, including a fantastic gazebo. The views of Galena from up on High Street are impressive as well. Kathleen and Tom are amazing people with wonderful stories who make you welcome and extremely comfortable. If you're looking for a wonderful, relaxing, charming and romantic getaway, look no further than 105 High Street.

Room Tip: For a romantic stay, choose the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway from the city without hopping on a flight and Galena, IL was an excellent choice. And the Abbey Bed and Breakfast was an excellent choice for our accommodations. The Abbey is a very charming B&B with all its historical beauty and a touch of modern amenities to match the rest of Galena, IL. We spoke quite extensively with Catherine the owner and was astonished to discover that her and her husband did most of the renovations and restorations to get the place back to it original beauty (you have see it to understand - very impressive). My wife and I stayed in a suite with a hot tub and fireplace and did not miss a television the whole weekend.

The breakfast was standard and included fruit, coffee, juice, eggs, meat, and bread, danish or cake. The breakfast fit our style, but if you are looking for a huge breakfast buffet you may be dissappointed. We also met another couple during breakfast that was also from the city and we plan to try and meet up with them at a later date

The Abbey has a garden in back fit for an small elegant wedding or just a nice glass of wine on a warm summer night. The weather was not warm enough on this visit for long sits outside, however maybe we will get to have our glass of wine on our next visit.

Galena, Il is a great place to go to getaway from the kids or for a romantic weekend or for for two and the Abbey Bed and Breakfast is great place to stay to accent your weekend

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damonandgauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Tom and Kathleen love running the B&B and it shows! Breakfast is excellent and the gardens are beautiful. Expect a beautifully decorated victorian home with a lot of history. Our fellow guests were very enjoyable at breakfast and it was quiet most of the time. It is a short (but steep!) 3 block walk downhill to Galena or a very short drive. We had no trouble finding a parking spot in town. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.4 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 km away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#31 of 33 in Galena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 km away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
1.1 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 105 South High Street, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abbey`s High Street Hotel Galena
Abbey`s High Street b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing