We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$146
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$88
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$99
The Irish Cottage
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
114
6
1
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
6
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb b'swalking distance to the downtownmy husband and ibreakfast was deliciousgrant parkwatch tvmain stgracious hostsgalena areakathleentomabbeyshomekleenexweekendbloommidwest
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Abby for the weekend. First time in a B & B and first time in Galena. We absolutely loved it. All was clean, the beds were comfortable and absolutly loved Kathleen the owner. I would recommend this to any one looking for a couple weekend. It made the trip to Galena all the more special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ourownagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This bed and breakfast is physically beautiful and epitomizes the period of the city of Galena
which is frozen in time in the mid nineteenth century. The gardens are spectacular and a perfect spot to read before a delicious breakfast which prepares you to set off on various
adventures the town has to offer. Your hosts are genuinely caring and are justifiably proud
of their beautiful restoration of a classic period structure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faganeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We wanted a relaxing, stressfree weekend and the Abbey High Street B & B was just the place to be on Memorial Day weekend. We were greeted by a gracious hostess who showed us around this beautiful home and then took us to our room. The room was decorated very nice. We had a jacuzzi tub that was just the right way to end each day of exploring and enjoying Galena.
The gardens were beautiful and the gazebo was a great place to have coffee in the am or just to relax in the afternoon. From the gazebo we could see the "Camp David" of President Grant. The breakfast was excellent each morning. Fresh fruit to begin the day with a plate of delicious items to follow completed a very filling meal. Kathleen talked with us during breakfast and told the history of the house which made the stay even more enjoyable.
We can honestly say that the time spend at the Abbey Bed and Breakfast was worth it. Tom and Kathleen made us feel quite welcome and the house was decorated with many antiques but you felt as though you could relax and be yourself. This is one place that we would frequent again when we return to this area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joelandvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Abbey's High Street is a real treasure. Kathleen and Tom are the consumate hosts and want only to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. The house, which dates from 1850, has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated. There are wonderful flourishes everywhere, most of them hand-painted. The anitque-rich foyer, parlor and dining room are a visual treat, exuding style, charm and comfort. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and among friends. When Kathleen and Tom found out we were there to celebrate our anniversary they congratulated us and hoped that we would have a wonderful time. We stayed in the Carriage house, which has its own private entrance and includes a daybed in the front sun room, along with a 4 poster canopy bed, a private bath and a small fridge. The linens were so soft, and the bed so comfortable that we slept very well. There was even an electric fireplace. The breakfasts were delicious and filing, including fresh fruit, home made pastry, omelets and Canadian bacon - all served on beautiful china, with sparkling silver and glassware. There is coffee and tea or hot chocolate in the parlor beforehand, and we were invited to make use of the parlor at any time to watch TV or have a beverage. Our room was so cozy and romantic that we spent most our time there when we weren't enjoying Galena. The weather was a bit too chilly, so we weren't able to sit in the amazing gardens, but there are ample spots to do so, including a fantastic gazebo. The views of Galena from up on High Street are impressive as well. Kathleen and Tom are amazing people with wonderful stories who make you welcome and extremely comfortable. If you're looking for a wonderful, relaxing, charming and romantic getaway, look no further than 105 High Street.

Room Tip: For a romantic stay, choose the Carriage House.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HollyP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway from the city without hopping on a flight and Galena, IL was an excellent choice. And the Abbey Bed and Breakfast was an excellent choice for our accommodations. The Abbey is a very charming B&B with all its historical beauty and a touch of modern amenities to match the rest of Galena, IL. We spoke quite extensively with Catherine the owner and was astonished to discover that her and her husband did most of the renovations and restorations to get the place back to it original beauty (you have see it to understand - very impressive). My wife and I stayed in a suite with a hot tub and fireplace and did not miss a television the whole weekend.

The breakfast was standard and included fruit, coffee, juice, eggs, meat, and bread, danish or cake. The breakfast fit our style, but if you are looking for a huge breakfast buffet you may be dissappointed. We also met another couple during breakfast that was also from the city and we plan to try and meet up with them at a later date

The Abbey has a garden in back fit for an small elegant wedding or just a nice glass of wine on a warm summer night. The weather was not warm enough on this visit for long sits outside, however maybe we will get to have our glass of wine on our next visit.

Galena, Il is a great place to go to getaway from the kids or for a romantic weekend or for for two and the Abbey Bed and Breakfast is great place to stay to accent your weekend

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damonandgauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews