We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait for our next Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Ranked #21 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait for our next Stay!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I'm so glad we booked our Getaway early because these beautiful rooms were all booked when we arrived last weekend. We stayed in Hattie's Room. We loved our view of the courtyard and all the "nooks and cranies" were charming to say the least. It was beautiful and the fireplace kept us "toasty" at night. The room was fantastic, quaint, and comfortable. The location is perfect for all we needed. It is close to the wonderful downtown stores and site-seeing. The next morning was started with a wonderful breakfast with coffee, tea, juice and all this served in a charming dining room (there were 2) .
I'm looking forward to our next experience soon.
Thank you for your Hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I planned a romantic getaway - our first time to Galena.

We stayed at the Annie Wiggins guest home - in the Hattie room. It was lovely and all that we wanted. It was charming and old - yet updated, and we felt right at home!

We were met by Wendy (the owner and did not know it) and she escorted us to our room and told us what to expect and where things were. And to call if we needed anything. We called an hour later and she was right there!

The Soaking tub was amazing - and the room ws so cozy. We loved it.

The home is adorable also - and we learned the history at the breakfast that she provided. After serving us all , she joined us at the table and shared stories of the home as well as just talking to us. We sat at the table and talked for over an hour laughing away.

We came in the winter - and although the weather was better than expected - we can't wait until the spring-summer or fall so we can see the flowers, the fountain, and sit on the porch with a glass of wine.

It really is a charming Inn - if you are looking for the Ritz Carlton - you may be disappointed - but if you would like to have a quiet - peaceful - romantic stay, where the owner treats you like a guest in her home, this is the place. We can''t wait to come back! It was a wonderful stay that we really needed.

As far as the one comment on the train - barely heard it at 5:30 am and if we did - it was a nice sound to imagine what it was like back in the day to hear the train.

Thank you Wendy -

Keith & Roseann

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside entrance and porch - if you want to enjoy the out side and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knudsonstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in the Sarah room. It was romantic and private. It has a large bathtub, which was not noted on the website, but I thought was extra value for the money. The owners are friendly without being in your face. Breakfast was delicious. My only criticism was the train! Ofcourse, there is nothing to be done due to location, but I was awakened at 2am to blaring horns and a long procession of freight cars passing nearby. It was difficult to get back to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bheiken, Owner at Annie Wiggins Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
The train goes along the Galena River next to downtown, so all properties within a short walking distance are within the influence of the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Annie Wiggins for a lovely Fall weekend. We were greeted by Sue the innkeeper and given a short tour and then shown to our room. The room was comfortable and clean. The soaking tub was very nice. There is complimentary iced tea and lemonade at all times, as well as brandy if desired. We loved the view of Galena from the front porch. It is only a moderate walk to the downtown area. My husband and I have stayed at a handful of B&Bs in Galena. This one wasn't my favorite, but I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinrobyn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This was our first visit to Galena, IL, and we wanted to be in town so that we could walk to town. This inn has an excellent location.

The hosts are very nice and put on an excellent breakfast. The inn is decorated wonderfully. My complaints are mostly with the room, as it just wasn't convenient and therefore limited the romantic value.

Nice things about the inn and room: 1) The bed was comfortable. 2) The tub was a nice feature, especially with the romantic lighting. 3) Third floor was private. Along with this was very squeaky steps but you can't really help that with an old home. 4) Breakfast was excellent both mornings! The tables were set with the intention of guests sharing their adventures. Dining room decor was fabulous, as well. 5) Shower was great (pressure and temperature.) 6) Porches had some public seating areas. Lemonade and iced tea easily accessible was very much appreciated.

Suggestions: 1) hang some sort of window covering, please! The light from the neighbor's cupola shone through the window all night. Privacy wasn't an issue, as it was a third floor room, but the light was an issue. 2) fix the door. It won't close unless locked and doesn't fit the jamb. There is a 1/2 inch gap around most of the door; this lets in a lot of light and noise from the hallway in addition to reducing privacy. 3) Cut off one of the hallway lights at night. Three lights shining directly in our room from the gap was overkill. 4) convert that inaccessible, locked storage area into a closet to hang our jackets and/or shirts in. The room has one hook on the inside of the door, but absolutely no furniture with drawers or rack for hanging anything on. We had to keep our jackets on the floor and all of our clothing in our luggage. 5) Include a bottle of wine the first night. For the price paid, a bottle opener and wine glasses beside the tub are almost teasing. 6) Provide a DVD player and CD player.

The parlors are nicely decorated, but they are not welcoming for guests to sit and visit in (aside from the dining room from 9:00 -10:00 am for breakfast.) We were told that there were some DVDs that we could take to our room, which we did, but found no DVD player. There was no DVD player in the parlor.

The final issue with sleep was that this inn is located directly beside an active train track. The train whistles throughout the night with the whistle often sounding right by the inn. The first night it was three times. The second night once or twice. I recognize that the owners can't move the track, but that the house is adjacent to it would logically negatively impact the amount of money charged for the rooms.

At $205/night and a two-night minimum on weekends, the room and inn simply are not worth the money. It's a nice place, but it comes down to a lot of money for a room that is a basic room with a nice tub but some issues that keep it from being as comfortable that I expect $455 (with tax) to be. I should have stayed home and bought a new clothes dryer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Here4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This was our third visit, different room each time... each one beautiful and unique. I couldn't decide which one I loved the best! This time we chose the one with the soaking tub and spent the entire evening in the tub with a bottle of champagne and complete relaxation. Wendy, our innkeeper, is wonderful, extremely accommodating, ever cheerful, and very knowledgable of local history. For breakfast the first day, Wendy served her special cheese blinzes with raspberry sauce which were outstanding. The second day, she served Stuffed French Toast which had an orange filling with Grand Marnier... superb! We can't wait to go back there again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtobnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This was our first time to Annie Wiggin's Guest House in Galena. We have stayed at another B&B in the area, but that one was booked so we chose this one. What a beautiful, well-kept home. Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but it was extremely comfortable and cozy, as well as spotless and beautifully decorated. The day we arrived, there weren't very many other guests so we got to peek into the rooms that were not occupied. All were beautiful and inviting. They have multiple porches to sit out on to enjoy the gardens and the peacefulness of Galena. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling. We will visit Annie Wiggin's Guest House again in the near future. It's a real treasure!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.7 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Wiggins Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Wiggins Guest House

Property: Annie Wiggins Guest House
Address: 1004 Park Ave, Galena, IL 61036-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Annie Wiggins Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing