We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie Wiggins Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Ranked #20 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
chicago
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

This was our first time to Annie Wiggin's Guest House in Galena. We have stayed at another B&B in the area, but that one was booked so we chose this one. What a beautiful, well-kept home. Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but it was extremely comfortable and cozy, as well as spotless and beautifully decorated. The day we arrived, there weren't very many other guests so we got to peek into the rooms that were not occupied. All were beautiful and inviting. They have multiple porches to sit out on to enjoy the gardens and the peacefulness of Galena. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling. We will visit Annie Wiggin's Guest House again in the near future. It's a real treasure!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

I had read several good reviews of this bed and breakfast and I thought we would have a wonderful long weekend over Columbus Day. We stayed in Annabella's room and it was a lovely room with a large soaking tub. However, it was in the low 40s this weekend and it dropped into the high 20s at night. The only heat provided was a very small vent the size of a car vent that was located over the fake fireplace. It went off sporadically but not nearly enough to heat the room adequately. After a night of no sleep my boyfriend spoke with the owner who offered to take the window air conditioner out in the hopes that it would keep out some of the draft. That was all she would offer and we left to go to Eagle Ridge for another night. She did not give us our money for the two nights we did not stay. I still cannot believe that a place that charges almost $250 a night would not provide adequate heating. There was a radiator in the room but it was not working. We lost $500 and had to cut our long weekend short due to having to double pay for the hotel. I think it would be a nice B&B in warmer months but beware in fall/winter.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2run94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pingree grove, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

First time staying at a B&B and loved every minute of it. We stayed in Hattie's Room and were very pleased. The gardens were very relaxing and felt right at home. Decided to take a mid day break from shopping and have a bottle of wine while enjoying the gardens and fountain. I don't think either one of us felt so relaxed in a long time. The soaking tub for two (along with bubble bath that was provide along with wine glasses and wine opener, nice touch !) was a perfect compliment to a long day out. I will definatley be back to stay at Annie's. Wendy, breakfast both mornings was a 10! Already trying to plan on when we can come back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmsammie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Wonderful experience. Superb breakfast! Felt right at home. A bit pricey, but otherwise we were satisfied.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff. At home feeling
  • Disliked — It would have been helpful to have had more counter space, but I do realize that this was meant to be as authentic as possible
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jim8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Annie Wiggins. We stayed in Annabella's room which was gorgeous. Our favorite part was the huge soaking tub for two. The bed was a little creaky, but I suppose that is to be expected from an antique. I looked at many Galena B&B's before deciding on this one - the decor was tasteful and authentic, not frilly and cutesy like so many other places I looked. The best surprise of our stay was the delicious breakfast that Wendy prepared each morning. The hot entrees, fresh fruit, and baked goods kept us going well into the afternoon. Our room also had nice touches like candles, bubble bath and wine glasses that added to the romantic atmosphere. The only problem we encountered was that the pipes in our bathroom were frozen one morning ( I think it was about -10 degrees that day) but Wendy was very accommodating and let us use a different room to shower.

We loved the Annie Wiggins Guest House and hope to be back soon!

  • Liked — The home-cooked breakfast and romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — The frozen pipes and cold bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EO33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

We wanted a romantic getaway at a classy, historic place near downtown Galena and Annie Wiggins Guest House was everything we hoped for, and more. I did quite a bit of online research and didn't like the look of the rooms at many of the Galena B&Bs - the decor was too cute-sy and country. This b&b was classy and beautiful. The owner, Wendy, is very knowledgeable about the styles and decor of the late 1800s and the Victorian style of the house was amazing.

The room was elegant, spacious, comfy and well appointed. Breakfast was really yummy and enjoyable. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Location was nice, as it is near downtown (a 5 minute walk) but not in the crazy hustle & bustle of main street. I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAC689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights ,MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed at the Annie Wiggins Bed and Breakfast this past memorial day weekend and all I can say is WOW. This place is beautiful! The gardens are fragrant with lilacs and the sound of a fountian. The parlor is so comfortable and transports you back in time to the 1800's in every way. Wendy Heiken is as hospitable as she is beautiful and entertaining and she made us feel so at home.

Bottom line, I WILL be coming back and I recommend the same for all travelers.

  • Liked — The hospitality and the comfort of the rooms, also the breakfast was great.
  • Disliked — Nothing, we didnt encounter any problems with the staff or the accomodations.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amber_bamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
3.7 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Wiggins Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Wiggins Guest House

Property: Annie Wiggins Guest House
Address: 1004 Park Ave., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Annie Wiggins Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing