We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendation”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for a family wedding. The rooms were spacious. My family of four fit in the room and we were more than comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the Goldmoor so much that we purchased a gift card to give to our good friends. We also recommended the Goldmoor to a couple for their honeymoon. Both of the couples had a wonderful stay at the Goldmoor. They loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

The best place I have ever visited! The staff, grounds, rooms and restraunt were all top notch. I cannot wait to return to this heaven in the hills.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationingmomma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and felt the stay a very good value. The staff and Inn Keepers were extremly competent and did a great job making us feel welcome.

The view from was a sight to remember All of our family members were very favorably impressed

Room Tip: Our rooms were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were in town for a family event and had a wonderful experience at the Goldmoor. Such a beautiful setting and the accommodations were incredible. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Goldmoor exceeded our expectations in every way. The Mississippi Suite was beautiful, well maintained and provided a lovely romantic atmosphere. The hotel staff anticipated our every need and were uncommonly helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our gourmet dinner at the Goldmoor as well---beautifully presented and more than generous portions of delicious dishes. Truly a perfect inn leading to a perfect experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband surprised me on my 50th birthday with an evening of dinning and an overnight stay at the Goldmoor Inn on Jan 29th. The Goldmoor Inn is a beautiful Inn with 18 suites which are so prrestige. It sets in rural Galena on the bluff overlooking the Mississippi Rver.Our stay there was so private and peaceful. We stayed in the Mississippi Suite which is one of the best sought out suites on the grounds. It had a huge whirlpool right in the bedroom and not off in the bathroom like some other lodges have. The suite was huge and the whirlpool sat right in the 24 foot window overlooking the river and the sunset that night was so perfect. The suite also had a huge king size ,very comfortable bed. Also a beautiful fireplace and a rerfidgerator stocked with complimentary beverages.. So much A+ things to mention about the suite. Later that evening we dined there. We were seated in a very romantic and comfortable charming booth which also overlooked the Mississippi River. The music playing was so soothing to the soul. The service was fantastic and the food was phenominal. The ribeye steak was prepared just right to my likeing and the scallops were mouth watering. The wine list was one that could accomodate anyones' preference. The desert we had was super! The Innkeeper was so humble, and truely, a servant leader. We also were given a little tour of the Inn and there new kitchen. We also were able to see a couple of other suites on the walk around. It is a state of the art operation. I must say we were treated very special. We left there feeling special. That my friends is what we are all seeking in an evening out. I would encourage anyone looking for this experience to seek the Goldmoor Inn for a fine dinning and lodging experience that will be recorded as a special time with a lasting memory. We definitely will return in the future .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiny3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was the first time staying at Goldmoor for my wife and I. Our stay was perfect from beginning to end. We've stayed at many very good B&Bs but this one stands above all the others. We stayed in the Winston suite for 4 nights in January. The room was outstanding- well decorated, clean, spacious, and loaded with amenities. Amenities included large jacuzzi, big and comfortable bed, gas fireplace, big TV with tons of channels (HBO, showtime, etc), large bathroom and shower, spacious kitchen with mini fridge (for personal storage, not a mini-bar), dishes (cleaned everyday by housekeeping), coffee maker and all you can drink supply of coffee, free WI-FI. We brought our dog and this room worked out very well- the suite is very spacious. They even had a dog bowl filled with treats prepared when we got there- great attention to detail. The food was consistently exceptional, definitely the best we've had at any B&B. The 4 breakfast meals served were mixed berry pancakes, omelette loaded with ham/bacon/onions/peppers/cheese, french toast with fruit topping, and eggs benedict. Not exaggerating to say that pancakes and omelette were best I've ever had. Had dinner at Goldmoor on 2 nights of our stay. I had chicken and dumplings both nights, my wife had the scallop/pasta dish both nights- again, perfect. The Bailey's bread pudding made an awesome dessert- couldn't finish it that night, we were leaving the next morning so I ate it for breakfast because I couldn't bear to throw it away. Not proud of that, but it happened. The service was wonderful- they brought meals to our room on several occasions. The property and building are beautiful- large estate 6 miles outside of Galena on a hill overlooking the Mississipi river. It was great in January and it would be even better during the summer. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and seemed invested in making sure our stay was perfect. Overall, this was the best of many B&Bs we've stayed at, and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhughe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.3 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $383 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing