We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Very relaxing!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Goldmoor! The Innkeepers and staff were among the friendliest we have experienced anywhere. The room was so comfortable and the breakfasts were incredible. Bravo to their breakfast chef! My husband and I went for a last trip before our first baby arrives this summer and it was the perfect combination of relaxation and activity. The location is perfect. Serene and quiet with beautiful views overlooking the Mississipi, yet we were able to easily drive into Galena for a few hours of shopping and other activities and yet still come back for big pregnant me to rest a little before dinner. That would be my only complaint about the Goldmoor - my dinner was only average. My husband loved his so it may have been an anomaly, but my filet tasted charred. That is the only reason for the four rating instead of the five. Overall, it was a great stay and if we go back to Galena, we will definitely consider the Goldmoor again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
405
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I were on a weekend getaway from our three young children and dined Friday night at the Goldmoor Inn. We got just what we needed at the Goldmoor...a quiet, romantic dinner. We arrived early for dinner - about 6PM - and the restaurant was empty. We were seated next to the windows, with a beautiful view overlooking the water, trees, and birds. More people trickled in as we dined. We both had the spicy shrimp pasta dish, and we both thought it was delicious - and quite spicy! Our service was incredibly attentive. The owner came to our table twice, chatted with us on our way out, and the host took our picture.

Oh, the bread! We loved the bread! Warm and moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We absolutely loved our time at the Goldmoor.

The room we stayed in, the Covington Suite, was huge, beautifully furnished, and had a gorgeous view of the Mississippi River from the gigantic hot tub. The inn looks like a country castle, especially at night: everything about it is perfectly appointed, and the decor and amenities are amazing.

Both of the brunches and the one dinner we had at the inn were wonderful -- great food and even better service. And the location, just outside of Galena, made it easy to visit town (where we had some meals and did some shopping) while still giving us the time in the country that we wanted.

Everything was perfect, and we learned that we get a 20 percent discount if we return. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Goldmoor to celebrate my husbands birthday. On the plus side the restaurant is very good. Rooms are huge and clean. We had the Covington Suite which was large with a whirlpool tub, nice large HD TV and a good breakfast was served in the room. On the minus side, the decor of our room was right out of the 1980's. Awful carpet, wallpaper, and fixtures. Furniture is faux wood. Bathroom cabinets and very old and chipping to show the particle board underneath. The bed is soft and creaky and was not conducive to sleeping. But there would have been no sleep anyway since the place is very close to a train which runs frequently all night and blows its whistle regularly. The screen patio is a tiny unkempt space and very disappointing. We have stayed at many, many bed and breakfasts and historic Inns around the world and for the price this was the most disappointing. Perhaps other rooms in the Goldmoor are of better quality. But for $335.00 per night off season I expected much more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerbacker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I took my girlfriend to the Goldmoor for a surprise birthday party, and a surprise it was, not just to her, but to me as well. What beauty surrounded the area!!! We stayed in the English Cottage, which far exceeded my expectations. We had our own little driveway, a beautiful view of the Mississippi River, and numerous amentities inside the cottage, including a wonderful whirlpool. We ate the first night at the Goldmoor restaurant and had the chicken and dumplings, which were to die for. I also bought her a 75-minute stone message, which they gave her at the Goldmoor. She came back looking as relaxed as I have ever seen her.

We also had the most delicious breakfasts, both of which were brought to our room and served hot. Pancakes with fresh berries drizzled over them, hickory smoked bacon, cheese strata were just a few of the many things we were provided. I am about 6'3'' and have a great appetite...these meals left me content. I CANNOT say enough about the Goldmoor, except that if you're thinking about staying there, don't think, DO. You will regret not going and will not know what you have missed. I cannot wait to go back!!! Enjoy your time there!!!

Room Tip: The English Cottage and the Irish Cottage are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARuss05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My boyfriend and I chose the Goldmoor Inn to stay at for the weekend to celebrate our 4 year anniversary. We stayed in the the Elizabeth Suite which was an absolutely beautiful room. The bed was very comfortable and spacious, as was the entire suite. The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were great additions to our stay, as well. I liked that there was a private bathroom in our room and that there was a hair dryer and shampoo/condition/lotion provided. The room was very clean and well kept. As for the service, It was some of the friendliest service I have ever experienced during a vacation. The normal check in hours are between 4 and 6 pm, however, we were running late and our drive too longer than expected. The front desk associate I spoke with was more than happy to accomodate us at a later time and was very friendly on the phone and in person. The staff at the Goldmoor went the extra mile to provide things you wouldn't necessarily think about, too. Each day we had our ice bin refilled for us so that we could make our own cocktails or have ice for our soda, which was nice. We also had new towels and make up remover towels provided each day. I have very few complaints about my stay, but there are a few things I feel they could improve to have made my stay that much more enjoyable. First, my boyfriend and I are avid college sports fans. We had hoped that we would be able to watch our games in our room with an awesome view considering the inn had directv. The TV happened to be about 15ft away from the end of our bed and was a little outdated and small. It was an okay TV, but we ended up having to move the fireplace chairs infront of the TV to watch the big 10 championship games. Second, we stayed three nights at the Goldmoor and were very pleased with the breakfast the first two mornings. However, on the third morning, the breakfast that was going to be served was the same exact thing as the first morning's breakfast we had. I was just disappointed that there was not more of a variety considering the price and the hype about the meals there. Lastly, there were only coffee cups and small bathroom cups provided. We had just hoped there would be glasses we could pour our own drinks into. Lastly, the view from this room was nothing special. It was overlooking the parking lot. Again, very small complaints, but they would have made the trip that much more amazing.

Overall, our stay was great. The room was spacious, beautiful and well kept. The staff were extremely friendly and it was about 6 miles away from the city. It was the perfect distance to get away from the hustle bustle. We would definitely stay here again.

Over all

Room Tip: The Queen Elizabeth suite does not have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

So glad we chose this inn for our weekend getaway! My husband and I stayed in one of the log cabins with our dog. The log cabins are the only rooms that dogs are allowed in, and it worked out perfectly for us! Breakfast is included in the room price, and was absolutely delicious! Like a B&B, there are no menu options. You eat what the chef prepares, but you certainly won't be disappointed! The apple pancakes were melt-in-your-mouth. You can choose to have breakfast in the dining room or served to your room. The dining room overlooks the Mississippi River. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening. It was certainly 5-star! A short distance from downtown Galena, it felt like we were staying at a peaceful, serene resort away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Log cabins allow pets. Cottages have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
838 reviews
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing