We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant Short Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Walnut Tree Farm

Kitchen area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen area
kitchen and hall seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Kitchen area
kitchen and hall
seating
double room
entrance to twin room
bathroom
twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Swanton Abbott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BMStewart
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't book for one night - they will bump you if they get a better offer”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked very, very early in 2018 to stay here for one night in August as my niece was having her wedding nearby. Had an email 6.06.2018 from Booking.com stating that the owners had double booked and our booking was no longer acceptable. It's obvious that they had a booking for the week and I totally understand from a business point of view the owners wanted the property to let for the week and 'Our previous booking' stood in the way of their getting the best possible return on the property, However the way this was handled was shabby and as a consequence four of us can no longer attend a much loved Nieces' wedding. A telephone call would have been appreciated. Booking.com did attempt to accommodate us at an alternative venue but this was substandard, too far away from the wedding venue and totally unsuitable. Customer care service - Nil

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
We can only apologise for this but booking.com took your booking after another booking had already been made through their system. We had not realised the bookings overlapped and the first booking took preference which is a two night stay. We apologise again for the inconvenience caused to you and hope you will be able to find somewhere else to stay,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C
Newton-le-Willows, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Short Break”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We recently hired this converted barn holiday let as we were attending a nearby friends wedding, the location is very peaceful and tranquil and i would imagine it would be a great base for the surrounding areas.

The barn itself was very comfortable with a well equipped kitchen (just lacking a microwave) nice leather sofas, dining table with four chairs, medium sized LCD TV with DVD player, the shower was large and easy to operate.

Beds were very comfortable also a room with one double and another with two singles, I would say due to its location you do need transport as it really is off the beaten track also the wifi is way too slow (less than half a mb) and the area has a very poor mobile reception for most networks these two things may not be issues to most people but they were to us and more so as we had no car.

Sally was such a lovely host and she came to our rescue when we were let down with a lift on the day we were leaving (we really did appreciate that gesture) I wouldn't hesitate in rebooking this holiday let, the price is very reasonable for such a well sized property but I'd definitely take a car next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate6...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A very pleasant stay. Had everything we needed and was clean and well kept, left us mince pies as it was near xmas which was a nice touch. No wifi and bed way too soft!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Wrongly allocated review, these guests did not stay at Walnut Tree Barn Swanton Abbott and we have advised Trip Adviser accordingly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen H
1 review
“Peaceful location and lovely accommodation well located for days out”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property is well proportioned and suitable throughout for a wheel chair. The property is well equipped and spacious throughout. Use of a small courtyard and garden area is great for sitting out of an evening. Tried a few of the local eateries and can recommend the Goat and Kings head. Would avoid the local Jolly Farmer in the village.
Great location for exploring the area and easy access to the coast.
Best bit the piece and quiet on an evening.
Worst bit was having to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: WiFi was patchy and no phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanw8...
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Rental”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Walnut Tree Farm felt just like home, as the care that had been put into restoring and decorating the barn could definitely be felt throughout the space. The barn is large and there's plenty of room for cooking or even just relaxing in the common area. A great location to explore Norfolk and the surrounding areas, but still have the comfort of being away from all the hustle and bustle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosvOLD_a...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for families”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We're a family of 4 who stayed at the Walnut Tree Farm for 3 nights in November, and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The barn has been very tastefully renovated, and is in a great location for those who wants to explore everything that Norfolk has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing