We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”

Portillo's Hot Dogs
Ranked #1 of 8 Quick Bites in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Restaurant details
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Never disappoints. The Itilian beef is excellent. Got to have a shake with it. My friend had the ribs. Said they were very good. They fell right off the bones. Busy place but food comes quick. Not cheap but well worth it. Sure beats the typical fast food place.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dadstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

After doing some shopping at the Gurnee Mills mall, we stopped at Portillo’s at the recommendation of a resident, who advised it was a “local favorite.” After eating there, we are not sure why. Although the decor was interesting, there was adequate seating available, and they had plenty of people working, the service was poor. It took a VERY long time to get our food, and when we received it, our order was incomplete. My husband went to the window to report the missing drink, and had to wait another 15 minutes to receive his malt. The food was very average, and my beef and cheese croissant was soggy and I had to really search for the minimal amount of cheddar cheese on the sandwich. We will go elsewhere next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Our family came here for the locally acclaimed food but left disappointed. The overall atmosphere is very interesting, but the food is similar to what you might find at Six Flags Great America just down the road. The roast beef and cheese croissant sandwich that we wondered had no cheese on it, the bacon on the bacon cheese burger was cold, and the burger tasted similar to fast food. We also waited 15 minutes for a forgotten shake, and we were not the only order that was not done correctly. Overall, I am disappointed with this meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 316mitchellf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Best hot dogs EVER! Italian beef was also excellent.. we had a large group, & ate here twice in 2 days. So I got to taste lots of things... one of my cousins is still raving about the shortcake! I’m not a big beer drinker, but you must order a draft here! Portillo’s serves beer the way it should be—freezing cold in a frosted mug. The only negative was that service was exceptionally slow. This is somewhat understandable, as they were quite busy both times we were there. They could use more help, IMO.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DawnmarieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

Visiting the area for a wedding and the go-to place for a quick bite became Portillos. Chicago dogs can't be beat, and you gotta try the chocolate cake. Super friendly staff. Top quality place.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 754claym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portillo's Hot Dogs also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
Waukegan, Lake County
 

Been to Portillo's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing