We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome!”
Review of Wainwrights Inn

Wainwrights Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional English country pub set in the heart of the stunning Langdale Valley. Open fires, flag stone floors, hearty home cooked food in a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.Great choice of well kept real ales always available.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

After a lovely walk we decided to rest our weary legs with a swift half, however, after reading the menu we changed our minds and ordered lunch.
The welcome in here was friendly are warm, our dog loved his treats and the fuss he received from all and sundry. We took in the charm, warmed ourselves and enjoyed the half that became two. Our food arrived and both husband and I ordered the same dish with different potato's. Sadly, mine came with a side order of a very long hair. My concern was immediately spotted by the eagle eyed barman who swiftly dealt with the situation. I didn't much fancy my dinner after that with husband saying "you know that will come back again" To my delight my dish was freshly presented, no evidence of rearranging. I was impressed! The food was good, mishap dealt with and an enjoyable afternoon was had by all, so much so we went back the next day. Lots of history. Great staff, good service. What's not to like.

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank Elle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 910 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2018

This has been part of our lives for 3 decades in which we have walked in the Langdale valley. It has changed with the times but managed to preserve the essence of an old Lakes pub with beams, rustic tables, good beer, a roaring fire and good food. Recent improvements to the menu and service have only improved a basicly sound product. It welcomes dogs which will not suit those who prefer not to eat a meal next to something licking and sniffing round your table or having a barking session when another canine dog comes in. It can be busy and they do not take reservations. This might not be so much of an issue if couples could be directed to the smaller tables rather than taking up in-demand tables seating 6. It is a free house run by the nearby Langdale Estate serving good local ales.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Grumblinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

They do not take reservations, so plan to go a bit early. great food, lots of nooks to relax in and very nice atmosphere

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoyK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Initially stopped the car here for the popular secular walk which starts at the pub as you can park your car for free a rarity anywhere in the Lake district as any space is at a high premium.
It was a lovely early spring sunny day, did the walk.
Decieded to eat at the pub which looked full of unusual charactor which has some facinating history as it turns as it was built in 1776 & has been a Farmhouse, a Gunpowder managers house, a Petrol Station & Hotel.
Looks can sometimes be extraodinarily deceiving.
It was faily busy at 12.30pm on a normal Tuesday lunch time, always a good sign.
We sat outside in glorious warm & bright sunshine, when you are ready to order make a note of your table number & order at the bar, the interior is also full of unique charactor.
We has the fresh made Baguette of moist & succulent roast Chicken excellent quality back Bacon, mouth watering melted Cheese in Barbecue sauce at £7.50, one beteen two is more than enough for the average adult appetite which also had a fresh cut mixed salad.
Once finished, went to the newly refirbished toilets which are immaculate, ultra modern & almost inviting for a loo that's pritty good.
strongly recommend this pub to you.
Gets my vote.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We have been eating and drinking here for over 40 years ind in that time the food has had it's ups and downs, but our meal on Friday 16th March (2 Fish and Chips and 2 Fish Pies) was 5 STAR, THE SERVICE EXCELLENT and the beer first class, I had the Fish and Chips could not fault them.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgeC1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wainwrights Inn also viewed

Great Langdale, Lake District
Elterwater, Lake District
 
Great Langdale, Lake District
Great Langdale, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Elterwater, Lake District
 

Been to Wainwrights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing