We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Blelham Tarn luxury log cabin sleeps 4 non-smokers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blelham Tarn luxury log cabin sleeps 4 non-smokers
Secluded Position in mature woodland Wide front deck with BBQ is ideal for dining 'Al Fresco'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Blelham Tarn luxury log cabin sleeps 4 non-smokers
Secluded Position in mature woodland
Wide front deck with BBQ is ideal for dining 'Al Fresco'
Seating for you, your family and maybe some guests too
Barbeque like the professionals with our full sized barrel smoker
No other cabins close by affords plenty of privacy
Plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy the wildlife
Here the only decision is Chablis or Gin and Tonic..?
Plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy the wildlife
Comfortable 'Colonial style' lounge with access to the deck
Smart HD-TV, Blu-Ray, CD/MP3, iPod dock, Wi-Fi, etc. Everything you need.
Kitchen with AGA cooker, Fridge, Combination microwave, dishwasher etc.
Double bed with Rest Assured pocket sprung mattress. Remote colour TV.
The kids will love twin beds, their own TV and an XBOX-360 with games.
Full sized shower cubicle with dual flush WC and Braun toothbrush mount.
In case you get caught on The Fells you can dry your togs in private
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Skelwith Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
seatea300...
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The accommodation is beautiful and very private. The rooms are of a good size and even in the cold month of December we found the heating was sufficient to keep us warm enough. It is well fitted out with everything that you need and lots of advice and information available inside too. All things seem to be catered for including a nice touch of a bottle of bubbly in the fridge on arrival.

While we didn't get to experience the swing at the bottom of the garden due to the weather the whole place was magical. We saw three deer on our first morning just before heading out for a walk. It's a great location to either set out walking from or to drive and walk. You are very close to Ambleside and shops for necessities and there are plenty of pubs and eateries.

I'd definitely recommend this for a great week/weekend away in the Lake District.

Rachel and Chris

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PL2405
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Woodland Retreat”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent Mon - Fri at Blelham Tarn. It's a lovely cabin furnished and decorated to blend into its surroundings. Pitched near the top of Neaum Crag. It's position is perfect for a peaceful retreat. It is comfortably furnished and cosy and fantastically equipped, we couldn't think of anything the cabin didn't have. The walk back up the hill from Skelwith Bridge isn't for the feint hearted. This particular lodge is not suitable for anybody with a disability with steps down from the service road to the lodge and such natural beautiful but uneven grounds. We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi as we ran out of time in the first few days and then it was closed after that but it looked clean and well maintained. The cabin was spotlessly clean and armed with strong air fresheners to remove the slight lingering doggy smell that emerged after the cabin had been shut up all day. A lovely authentic woodland break,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacMor410
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had an absolutely lovely weekend here. Cabin has everything you need and is clean and cozy. We had a good walk around the park and think this cabin is perfectly situated for the pool room and 2 paths that lead to stunning walks.

We have children aged 2-9 with us and they all loved it, from the pool to running around within the fenced area surrounding the cabin. Whilst a bit slippy and steep in some parts, they all managed to navigate it without any worry of injury; this cabin also seems to have more space around it than a lot of the others. Definitely recommend and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality peace and quiet in idyllic setting”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent quality interior, fixtures and fittings. Authentic log cabin feel. Beautiful Setting. Sheer tranquility.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled, relaxed and peaceful”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Blelhem Tarn for a long weekend, it was wonderful. A perfect retreat for me, my partner, my parents and Basil the dog. The log cabin had everything we needed, was clean and we felt right at home straightaway!
We were lucky with the weather and were happy to spend the morning sitting outside soaking up the lovely surroundings and watching the deer and Red squirrels outside. In the afternoon we would visit nearby locations, Skelwith Bridge is in a perfect spot to visit Coniston, Grasmere, Windermere and Ambleside. Basil loved the local walks!. Would definitely book again, hopefully later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debs1972...
london
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for the Easter Weekend and the cabin is absolutely amazing . There is everything you could possibly need and it's lovely and cosy inside. The views are brilliant and we were lucky enough to see a couple of red squirrels. It's in a great location for exploring but remote enough that it feels like a proper getaway. The owners are very friendly and helpful, I had a query while we were there and my email to them was answered immediately.

One small criticism is that the communal swimming pool didn't look very clean. We took swimming costumes with us and would have used it but decided against it after seeing it.

This is in NO WAY a criticism of the cabin or the owners, everything supplied by them was fantastic.

We would definitely stay here again, it was a lovely break in a great location .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Bather load increases significantly during school holidays. Children often leave the pool and return without washing their feet which increases the particle levels in the water. In a large body of water this isn't always noticeable but in a small pool it has an effect which is fortunately only cosmetic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas B
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A taste of the future”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2016

After looking at the photographs and the reviews, I knew that a weekend away here would be a perfect gift for my partner. We eagerly awaited our trip.

We made the long journey from Suffolk all the way to Blelham Tarn. It was smooth sailing until we got a little bit closer. We struggled to find the road leading to the cabin, mainly due to my poor navigation skills, but after stopping at the local pub and asking for directions, we soon made it. We parked just outside of the cabin in the allocated parking bay and headed done to our new home for the weekend.

The cabin is surrounded by a nice little patch of woodland with plenty of squirrels and birds to make the place feel that little bit more enchanted. This cabin itself is well kept. It was clean and welcoming, with a gift waiting on the table when we arrived. There was a slight musty smell but that soon left after we aired it out a bit. The information booklet is very comprehensive and we had the electricity, heating and WiFi up in no time at all. There are plenty of brochures in the cabin to help you decide what you would like to do. The cabin comes equipped with kitchenware, washcloths, washing up liquid and towels to dry up. The kitchenware was nice and clean when we arrived. There were spare pillows for the beds, board games, a DVD player, a get console with games and several TVs. The only things we needed to supply was our food.

There are plenty of places a close drive away where you can either buy in food or eat out. We opted to buy in food from Booths as we like cooking together. There are also beautiful walks, interesting places and many things to do in the area. We were only there for a weekend but could have easily stayed for a week or two.

The facilities on sight we adequate but a little misleading. The jacuzzi is connected to the pool and bubbles but does not heat up. The pool is very small in size but it's big enough to cool off on a hot day, as long as you are the only ones in there. They does have table tennis courts set up, which was a great pastime if you had a little time to kill.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. It was a great home away from home. It was welcoming, comfortable and in one of the most picturesque parts of the country. I couldn't recommended it enough. We hope to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing