We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Metropolis
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently stayed at Harrahs in Metropolis, IL, home of Superman! We went just for an overnight retreat and a little poker. Our hotel room was very nicely appointed, even though it was slightly small. We have also stayed there in one of their suites which was fabulous. The food at the main restaurant on the lobby floor of the hotel was very good. It was a casual Sunday brunch and very friendly and with good service.

Room Tip: This is not a huge hotel and their standard rooms are all very similar and clean and nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7,501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,089)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,030 - 2,036 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

The common areas are very nice and the staff is super friendly. We enjoyed our stay here ( a total of 3 nights). The room is clean and large. We were at the end of the hall and didn't have any problems with noise from other residents. We had the breakfast buffet all 3 mornings. Some staff are friendly but others are efficient and don't talk that much. The omelets are made to order and good. We also ate at the Range steakhouse and we wish they had had more servers. We had to wait numerous times for service and at the prices they charge this just shouldn't happen. We will definitely stay here again if we go through Metropolis. The property is situated close to the river.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank still_travelling__22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My room was large; King Bed, Love Seat, Chair, Desk, Built in-dresser and TV. The bathroom was nice with tile floors, a huge bathtub and a separate area for the toilet. My view was the Casino and a beautiful sunset on the river. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a glitch with the elevators that took a while to fix. The casino, itself, has somewhat slid downhill. They have mostly slot machines and very few table games.

Room Tip: Look on Harrah's website for significant savings. Request a river view room if you don't min...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This Casino is small, but my opinion, fun. This Casino is in Metropolis - Superman's Metropolis, yes! It's a small and quiet town with a huge Superman satute for tourists to feast their eyes on. There are a few stores dedicated to the comic book legend. The Casino is located on a "boat" adjacent to Harrah's Hotel. It's a non-smoking Casino with tons of slots, and other games. They have a Diner, and several bars to choose from. It's pretty average, but not bad. As for the Hotel, the lobby and walkways to the Casino were fresh, new, and clean. The elevator was average. The hallways looked dated and smelled like smoke, which was a big turn off. My room was very clean, comfy, but worn a bit. The room was large with a great bathroom. Gold plated features, marbled, I think, floor, and oversized, sunken tub.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disvaca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Room was great. We had three people in a Vegas size (big) hotel room.Wow. Room was very clean. A new toilet paper roll. 4 big bath towels. A little shy on the soap and hair products, but I'm a guy with a military hair cut. A stand up closet with and chest of drawers in the closet. Nice touch. Safe in room. College size refridge. Phone had all the important # on speed dial. Toilet was Seperated from sink and shower for privacy, a vegas touch. Beds were wonderful with comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Probably the nicest time in Metropolis. Loved the New Hangover slot machine super fun! We had cheese fries & shakes in a 1950's looking cafe downstairs. The server & cook were super nice & friendly. We didn't win, but had fun. Keep in mind most of the crowd was pretty much over 60.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stareyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel Harrah's has built is very nice. The lobby, the elevators, the rooms are all in outstanding condition. It is very quiet and comfortable with little noise from below. We were on the second floor and expected to hear some car noise and such but there was none! The hotel employees are friendly and warm and I recommend this hotel highly. The hotel is child friendly, but not animal friendly. Most other Harrah's properties have adapted pet friendliness, but not Metropolis. If you are looking for "Las Vegas Style" casinos? Don't go here. The action is dull, and the boat needs to be replaced..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
4.3 km away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#3 of 6 in Metropolis
398 reviews
8.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Paducah
13.2 km away
Paducah Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Metropolis

Address: 100 E Front St, Metropolis, IL 62960-2257
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range: $81 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Metropolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Harrahs Metropolis Hotel
Harrahs Hotel Metropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing