We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
11
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews margarita bar pool weekends stage store fun
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016

This was my 3rd year staying at Timberlake for a week in July. This year we stayed from July 20th - 24th. Every year this trip gets better and better!!! I love that Ron and his staff are so accommodating! There were 2 pretty nasty storms while we were there and one actually broke the vent cover on the roof of our camper and we were without power for several hours. Ron was quick to calm everyone and let them know that we were not in any great danger as he was in communication with the local Fire Department who had assured him all was fine. The next morning Rons maintenance crew were very helpful in directing us where to go for replacement parts. All was fixed and we were back in business in a few hours.

The pool was great and incredibly refreshing as the week we were there was one of the hottest weeks of the year. The pool was very busy due to the crazy heat so splashing and being packed was to be expected. We got splashed many times but we were in a pool so planned on getting wet. The kids were all having fun and were being active so why stop that?

The Margarita bar is a nice area and the Saturday night entertainment is always great. Audio Drive was a great band and had everyone on the dance floor.

I just cannot say enough about this place. It is just beautiful!!! I wish I could be there every weekend!! Great Job Timberlake staff!!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Myrz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We camped here for the second time in July and it.was.hot. Hades hot. The power went off during a lightening storm and a tree was struck but that's what happens when you're surrounded by corn in the middle of IL.

The pool area is nice but overrun by adolescent kids who insisted on diving into the three foot end, despite signs saying don't. There wasn't much of an area for little kids to play in the pool with all the big kids splashing everyone. No kiddie pool.

The resort does sponsor organized pool activities in the afternoon to occupy everyone, so that was nice. The shower and toilet facilities were a little dirty and crusty, the shower curtains were caked with mildew and the shower nozzles with lime, definitely don't take your slippers/flip flops off in the shower.

Our camp site was facing the lake, sites 131 and 133 are pretty good that way, with cement slaps and full hookups. The water from the spigot just stunk. Sulfuric onions is the best I can come up with. We had a filter from the source to our camper and still. Stunk. Didn't taste too awful but with that smell, I didn't want to drink it or wash myself with it. I don't seem to recall the water stink last year, so this is new.

I'd stay here again, it's not that bad if you bring your own water. There's plenty of things to do, paddle boat, (abt 10$ a hour) canoe, playground, margarita bar, live bands on Saturdays. They have a schedule of events available on their web site. The cabins are really nice and completely air conditioned. BUT, they too, have stink water.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank ciarrasbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

We just returned from a week of rv camping here. The front office staff were very friendly. Someone led us to our site. We overlooked the small lake which was nice. We loved walking the dogs near the lake. Many turtles and bullfrogs! They have a small store that also sells some food like awesome corn dogs, mini tacos, etc. the pool was awesome! They had some fun activities on the weekend! The bar was open I think Thursday through Sunday. The place cleared out on Monday but was still fun to swim and walk. People seemed friendly. They have laundry and showers. Nice and clean. Icant wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank caseymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Back to visit for the 3rd time in two years, and it was great. We brought our 36' RV to park to enjoy some fall ambiance and it was well worth it. Normally we had visited over a weekend during the summer. On this trip we were lucky enough to spend a Thursday through Monday enjoying the resort, and for nearly half the time we had the whole thing to ourselves and our two dogs which was a very welcome added bonus.
The staff was wonderful, as usual. On all of our trips they have been very friendly and accommodating. Even though were were the only RVers there, they were more than happy to bring a load of firewood to our site.
As the weekend arrived, so did other campers, and the pleasant joyful sounds from the Margarita Bar. Even though we don't hang out there, it is always nice hearing others enjoying themselves and it always quiets down at a reasonable hour.
My advice is to not just visit on the weekends throughout the summer, but enjoy the resort during the week and especially during the fall.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

If you want a nice little getaway in the woods, this place is perfect. They have cabins you can stay in overlooking the water. You can fish there as well. Beautiful trees and wildlife. They have a nice little shop here as well. The shop has a gorgeous deck overlooking the water. Very romantic. Timber lake playhouse is right across the street. They always put on a great show!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank fhv_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews