We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever!”
Review of Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Inn
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Decatur
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have now stayed at the Inn several times and never with a disappointment, but our last stay was above all expectations. For you see, I came with a newly healing shattered rt shoulder which required unusual accommadations. Within 20 minutes of my requests they called me back at my home and said they were all set up for me. How can we be more greatful?
We have yet to meet a poor staff member! Tk U All!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiedollDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
The real question is, how can WE be more grateful!!! Having such kind and loyal guests like you return to us is what makes our jobs so fun! Thank YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    68
    22
    11
    14
See reviews for
63
41
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We found the place online and at the last minute. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Great location had lots of restaurants and stores close by. About 4 minutes away from the Metro Centre (BMO Harris Bank Centre). Room was clean with lots of space. Nice parking right outside the room. The only thing that could use a bit of work is the water pressure in the shower. We were still able to shower without any issue just not great water pressure. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We rented 2 rooms feb 2012 and the place was a dump. Rooms smelled of cigs in a non smoking room, the front doors did not shut securely and had gaps at the bottom a small animal could crawl through. The carpet was dirty and the bed was lumpy. You sure do get what you pay for these days.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notrealhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We are extremely sorry that this guest felt that they had an unsatisfactory stay here. We cannot express enough that we are a value hotel. This means that we offer a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay for guests on a budget. While we excel at customer service, we simply do not have the resources to offer all of the amenities that you might find at a big name chain without raising our rates, and therefore we do not claim to be a perfect fit for everyone. We did offer to change rooms for this guest though they declined. We appreciate learning of the gaps on the doors (they do securely lock though some air was coming through the bottom) as we have already had our maintenance team weatherstrip those particular doors to resolve this issue. We are also in the process of replacing many of these doors. The beds in these rooms were just purchased within the last few months- the firmness of a bed is a personal preference, had they expressed their dissatisfaction with them we would have swapped them out immediately. Again, we deeply regret that this guest was not happy though we will continue to strive to improve to make sure that guests feel that they receive a great value by staying with us- we will do everything within our means to meet our guests needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Alpine Inn is an excellent place to stay for long and short stays. :It is always clean and well maintained. The manager and desk staff are great to deal with. Parking and security are never a problem. I would consider this motel to be a great recommendation to my own friends and relatives. I have stayed there on a number of occasions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very nice for the price,clean,comforable ..Mary at the front desk very helpful ..would go back
For sure

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here to attend a concert in Rockford (we drove out from Chicago). I chose this inn carefully, based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and on the price/location. This inn was a decent value for the price we paid - it was clean, the front counter staff was helpful, and it is conveniently located on State St. We didn't really need many amenities, since we were only staying one night. All in all, if you're a value shopper, this might be a good place for you.

A few things to note - not to be overly picky about things, but we travel often and usually rely heavily on TripAdvisor to advise us on hotels in unknown towns:
- Everything is pretty outdated, including the bathroom, the shower tile, the shower tub/basin, and the furniture.
- The room has the bare-bones basics of toiletries and amenties (i.e., don't expect to see fancy shampoos, soaps, a shower cap, and a blow dryer if that's what you're used to). Again, we didn't need much, but I thought it worth noting.
- There is something strange with the TV remote and the heater. Pushing the up button on the TV remote control also turned on/off the heater. In the middle of the night, as I was still watching TV, I accidentally turned off the heater. My wife and I awoke in the middle of the night freezing.

The hotel is conveniently located to a ton of stuff in the area - restaurants, a CVS, bars, etc. So, again, good value for the money.

Room Tip: Not sure....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVernonNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

What a nice Inn. 2 large bedrooms and front room, kitchen. It was so quit. You have a very nice place that we hope to be able to come and stay at again. I would recommend this to anyone. The employee were so nice. The Inn was clean. Nice breakfast area. They do a few extra things to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: This is like a mini apartment at the top of the Inn. It is so neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
4.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
6.5 km away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#17 of 24 in Rockford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
5.1 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Property: Alpine Inn
Address: 4404 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockford
#7 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and affordable, recently remodeled motel close to both downtown Rockford and the Swedish American Hospital. All rooms offer microwaves, refrigerators, satellite TV w/ 2 Encore channels, and newly refinished baths with granite counter tops. We are centrally located on Rockford's "Miracle Mile" and offer both nightly and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing