We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased.”
Review of Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Rockford
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We thought this was a very nice place to stay. Not expensive, yummy continental breakfast, comfy bed, clean and close to the airport. We met three of the employees there and thought they were all excellent! Great value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have now stayed at the Inn several times and never with a disappointment, but our last stay was above all expectations. For you see, I came with a newly healing shattered rt shoulder which required unusual accommadations. Within 20 minutes of my requests they called me back at my home and said they were all set up for me. How can we be more greatful?
We have yet to meet a poor staff member! Tk U All!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiedollDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

The real question is, how can WE be more grateful!!! Having such kind and loyal guests like you return to us is what makes our jobs so fun! Thank YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We found the place online and at the last minute. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Great location had lots of restaurants and stores close by. About 4 minutes away from the Metro Centre (BMO Harris Bank Centre). Room was clean with lots of space. Nice parking right outside the room. The only thing that could use a bit of work is the water pressure in the shower. We were still able to shower without any issue just not great water pressure. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We rented 2 rooms feb 2012 and the place was a dump. Rooms smelled of cigs in a non smoking room, the front doors did not shut securely and had gaps at the bottom a small animal could crawl through. The carpet was dirty and the bed was lumpy. You sure do get what you pay for these days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank notrealhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieHaun, General Manager at Alpine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

We are extremely sorry that this guest felt that they had an unsatisfactory stay here. We cannot express enough that we are a value hotel. This means that we offer a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay for guests on a budget. While we excel at customer service, we simply do not have the resources to offer all of the amenities that you might find at a big name chain without raising our rates, and therefore we do not claim to be a perfect fit for everyone. We did offer to change rooms for this guest though they declined. We appreciate learning of the gaps on the doors (they do securely lock though some air was coming through the bottom) as we have already had our maintenance team weatherstrip those particular doors to resolve this issue. We are also in the process of replacing many of these doors. The beds in these rooms were just purchased within the last few months- the firmness of a bed is a personal preference, had they expressed their dissatisfaction with them we would have swapped them out immediately. Again, we deeply regret that this guest was not happy though we will continue to strive to improve to make sure that guests feel that they receive a great value by staying with us- we will do everything within our means to meet our guests needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Alpine Inn is an excellent place to stay for long and short stays. :It is always clean and well maintained. The manager and desk staff are great to deal with. Parking and security are never a problem. I would consider this motel to be a great recommendation to my own friends and relatives. I have stayed there on a number of occasions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are bigger.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very nice for the price,clean,comforable ..Mary at the front desk very helpful ..would go back
For sure

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here to attend a concert in Rockford (we drove out from Chicago). I chose this inn carefully, based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and on the price/location. This inn was a decent value for the price we paid - it was clean, the front counter staff was helpful, and it is conveniently located on State St. We didn't really need many amenities, since we were only staying one night. All in all, if you're a value shopper, this might be a good place for you.

A few things to note - not to be overly picky about things, but we travel often and usually rely heavily on TripAdvisor to advise us on hotels in unknown towns:
- Everything is pretty outdated, including the bathroom, the shower tile, the shower tub/basin, and the furniture.
- The room has the bare-bones basics of toiletries and amenties (i.e., don't expect to see fancy shampoos, soaps, a shower cap, and a blow dryer if that's what you're used to). Again, we didn't need much, but I thought it worth noting.
- There is something strange with the TV remote and the heater. Pushing the up button on the TV remote control also turned on/off the heater. In the middle of the night, as I was still watching TV, I accidentally turned off the heater. My wife and I awoke in the middle of the night freezing.

The hotel is conveniently located to a ton of stuff in the area - restaurants, a CVS, bars, etc. So, again, good value for the money.

Room Tip: Not sure....
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JVernonNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
5.9 km away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#18 of 24 in Rockford
400 reviews
4.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 24 in Rockford
341 reviews
5.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 24 in Rockford
671 reviews
5.1 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
6.5 km away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Inn

Address: 4404 E State St, Rockford, IL 61108-2115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockford
#7 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price Range: $71 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and affordable, recently remodeled motel close to both downtown Rockford and the Swedish American Hospital. All rooms offer microwaves, refrigerators, satellite TV w/ 2 Encore channels, and newly refinished baths with granite counter tops. We are centrally located on Rockford's "Miracle Mile" and offer both nightly and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Rockford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing