We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food.”

Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria
Ranked #53 of 373 Restaurants in Rockford
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are located in Northeast Rockford only 1 mile off of Interstate 90. We are close to the ISC/Sportscore II, Carlson Ice Arena, and Rock Valley College. We built with a large parking lot around the entire building and are able to accommodate large groups and banquets but also small family dinners and carryout/delivery service as well.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Went here expecting real food instead it tasted like all they did was microwav everything and the drinks at the bar are all well even though it says "grey goose" pretty sure it's Smirnoff cheap skates.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vincencio2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

This is one of our family go-to restaurants. The food is good, especially the pizza and the cheese tortellini. Other food is excellent too. Prices are family-reasonable. It is a family friendly place, with an experienced staff and an on-site owner.

Thank SkipperBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAMSRistorante6075, Owner at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Thank you for your comments. It is always great to hear from our great costomers!!

Thank you,

Gino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

I called to ask a question about its resturant.com certificate and the guy complained about being to busy to answer and told me to read the certificate and the he used foul language at me then hung up. My family really enjoyed their pizza and we ate a both locations but not anymore.

Thank GARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAMSRistorante6075, Owner at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

I am sorry for your experience. I am not sure who you spoke to but we try to make sure every customer is treated with respect and kindness. In the future please let ownership know if you feel you are not being taking care of. Once again sorry for your experience.

Thank you,

Gino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

Coming from out of town to see the new grandbaby. The service was great. We had an inexperienced waiter, but we could tell he was trying hard, and a nice smile and a friendly attitude makes up for a little inexperience. The salad was crisp and cold, the soup hot and tasty. My Veal Saltimbocca was delicious and the fettuccini al dente. All the staff made a fuss over our granddaughter; that is a big plus The restaurant is a white table cloth place, but very welcoming to families with children. A nice treat after a 3 day drive.
Prices were fair for the huge portions.

Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

We recently had our wedding reception at Sams on Riverside. We could not of asked for a better experience. From the first time we met with Gino till the time our reception finished he could not of been more helpful. He was very accessible every time we called or stopped in with questions. The night of the reception everything went off without a hitch and had many compliments on the food and the venue. The staff during the reception was phenomenal. They attended to all of our needs and I haven't heard one complaint from any of our guests. I would highly recommend them for any function you have. They helped to make our wedding day perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lt5396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAMSRistorante6075, Owner at Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

It is hard to believe that it has almost been one year already. Thank you for all your kind words.

Happy anniversary!!!

Thank you,

Gino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Ristorante & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing