We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
782
237
38
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
237
38
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muddy boots both nights dog owners car ferry sawrey hotel dog friendly place dog lovers beatrix potter lake district bunk beds cumbrian breakfast the pub family room hill top huge bed evening meal roll top bath
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

What a beautiful place. Never received such a warm welcome anywhere. Staff are fantastic and can’t do enough for you. Rooms are lovely, our party had 3 rooms, we were in a family room, our daughter loved her bunk bed tucked away, it was like her own private space. We also had an evening meal which was excellent but the best thing about this place is the building itself, just gorgeous, lots of interesting things to see and plenty for families, board games, dart board etc. Great location. Great breakfast. Absolutely will be back, looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank foxyz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Wonderful to welcome you and read your delightful comments about your stay. It's always nice to have a group staying; it really adds to the atmosphere. A special thank you for mentioning our lovely staff; they are a hard working bunch and it's always nice for them to receive some love on here! Until we see you again, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Would of loved to have stayed longer. Cuckoo Brow is such a charming place to stay. It is very pretty, the staff are very friendly and they have dogs staying there as well. We loved that. Our room was gorgeous. The view we had from our window was amazing. Emily, Jason and Josh were wonderful. Will definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Wonderful to host your during your stay in the Lakes; we couldn't be happier with your comments and 5 star rating! Jason, Josh and Emily are especially pleased to be mentioned by name! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a little trip around the Lakes with my husband.
Amazing place to stay, friendly(especially with dogs), welcoming and relaxing.
Come and go as you please, no mither no fuss. Dogs are catered for too in every way, even a posh dog bath outside!! And a shop for dogs.
Staff are there to help and chat when you want to but also leave you alone to do your own thing.
Rooms are homely and modern and beds are comfy.
Wonderful breakfast when you get up, really sets you up for the day.
Great location if you are going to different places, lots of national trust places nearby especially Beatrix Potters Hill Top, a lovely place to spend a few hours and then onto something else.
Will definitely book again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vix0138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

We are all so happy to read your lovely review and see your 5 star rating. It goes without saying that happy, well-looked after guests is the name of the game here (that includes the dogs too of course!). We love that you will book again; we'll look forward to it! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

The Cuckoo Brow Inn is a rare combination.
A great location , high standard rooms , and welcoming lakes atmosphere. The inn welcomes families and dogs and still maintains that calm relaxed hideaway feel.
Once you come to expect all these things they raise the stakes and hit you with amazing food and confident , happy efficient service .
At the centre of this “special brew” is Loredan and Mihaela - the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager / Husband and wife team . It works so well because of them and It’s worthwhile discovering why. The multiple rosettes and maintenance of a Michelin Star in previous roles earned for great food ( him ) and the professional efficiency , energy and people skills (her) make this place an oasis.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Speedmaster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Wonderful to read your lovely comments about your stay. We couldn't be happier that you had such an enjoyable time here and that we exceeded your expectations for food, service and atmosphere. We'll work hard to keep this the case for your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Great quirky spot. Food excellent we had lunch of meaty soup, fish goujons and a beer. All was excellent. Super for the doggy too. In fact owners are welcome with their dogs in tow.. Staff keen and friendly. Dog biscuits and water available for your furry friend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Explorer575347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Cuckoo Brow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Lovely review thank you! So pleased you had a nice time and were able to bring your dog along for the fun! Hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews