We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Lower Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lower Farm
Stiperstones Studio Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View from Lower Farm
Stiperstones Studio
Cottage living area
Stiperstones View kitchen/diner
Stiperstones View bed area
Stiperstones View living area
Cranberry cottage, outside  sitting area and plenty of parking
Cottage sitting area with stove
Cottage bedroom panorama
'Probably the best view in Shropshire' - tourist assessor
Stokesay Castle -best fortified manor house in England
The Bog Visitor Centre - famous for its cakes and only 30 minutes walk away
Entrance to Lower Farm, Shelve showing views
Grave of the last Sin Eater at Ratlinghope
Tankerville lead mine - a short walk away
Ironbridge gorge, museums & happy guests
Trevitihick's steam engine at Ironbridge Victorian Town - 30 years before The Rocket
The totality of the 'village' of Shelve. Nice and quiet
Wenlock Priory - once the largest church in the world
Buildwas Abbey ceramics
Haugmand Abbey - lots behind the unpossessing facade
A snowy view from Lower farm
Lower farm from a balloon - easily arranged  for you
Golden Valley, Long Mynd
Cranberry Cottage shower room
Autumn view of Cranberry Cottage
Lower Farm from the air, looking towards Bromlow Callow
Long Mynd from the air
Laburnam tree in full golden candle mode with Stiperstone Ridge behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shelve, Minsterley, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Enid B
Mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in Cranberry cottage with Cassie our dog. Everything was catered for including covers for the furniture for Cassie. The cottage has everything you could possibly want & is so warm & cosy. The log fire is an added bonus. The cottage is set in really picturesque surroundings & is very peaceful. There are great walks from the door, but the cottage is conveniently placed for visiting all parts of Shropshire, and it is also close to the Welsh border. The owners are very helpful & friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to single out anything, all was good.
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarrieRen...
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, and perfect accommodations for a quiet weekend away”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Jean and her husband were great! They made sure we enjoyed our stay...Don't forget to try their homemade jams... The cottage kitchen has every amenity you could imagine. If you need it, they had full laundry facilities as well. Also, on property is another one bedroom that our family stayed in, and it had it's own charm as well... We thoroughly enjoyed it, and if ever in the area again, would come back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living room and kitchen layout
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cottage”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

If you want a peaceful get away in a beautiful area then this is for you. A well appointed dog friendly cottage with a roaring log burner for the damp winter evenings.
Helpful owners, friendly locals in the pubs and shops. The tea rom at the Bog visitor centre is not to be missed and a great tea room in a cottage on the walk from Clun up to Bury ditches.
No noise or light pollution made for a great nights sleep and location is ideal for walks up to Stiperstones or further afield.
And big thanks to the owners who posted wife's dressing gown back and wanted no payment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: Had to go outside for wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Glad the dressing gown arrived, and hope all is well. We try to make your holiday a restful and relaxing time, whenever we can we do the little extra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAM105
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You can "feel the tranquility" - apologies to the movie "The Castle"!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Cranberry Cottage at the last minute for a long weekend and had the most fabulous relaxing time there. The hosts were brilliant and very helpful. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay - "Shelve all your worries here" is our by-line with the pun on Shelve :-)
We find the view, atmosphere and peace so relaxing we're on holiday all year round.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken N
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Stiperstones met all our expectations and then some!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After a number of UK vacations where we stayed with family this was our first venture with self catering accommodations. We hoped it would live up the the advertising description we used as the basis for our reservation - it did in every way. Located in a quiet village setting, local shopping was only a few miles away and the nearby pub provided an excellent spot for a friendly pub meal - excellent.
Jean and Paul, as hosts, were most accommodating and made sure that all needs were met. The accommodation met all our desires, quiet, comfortable, equipped with all the modern conveniences of home and furnished with quality furnishings which made us feel treated well. The stairs would be a challenge for anybody with a significant mobility difficulty but would not be a problem otherwise. After two weeks at Stiperstones we felt as if we didn't want to leave - but unfortunately had to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable accommodation
Liked least: wi-fi access a little weak at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
We try and warn people about the stairs - just in case. We had one lady who had read our access statement on our website and still decided to come with an artificial leg, and found it encouragingly accessible. But good to talk to us if in doubt, Cranberry Cottage is all on one level.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mavis H
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“RETREAT”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Lovely walks. Take provisions to tide you over as supermarket 6 miles away. Had to cancel booking then rebook due to op, owners most accommodating. Mobiles did not work so be prepared.We stayed in Stipperstones had lovely views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2013
We try to be flexible when booking, so it always pays to chat, and glad it worked out for convalesence. For those traveling there's a Sainsbury at Shrewsbury, Tesco at Telford, or the local shop has most things and will take an order over the phone. Details on our website
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful beautiful countryside
Liked least: bathrooms could be modernized
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2013
Glorious weather - but people love it here even when it rains. Probably the best views in Shropshire, according to the tourism assessor - and our guests who just like to relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing