We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages. Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages.
Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
View from the lounge across the canal to the towpath and The George pub (also showing the car park).
View of canal from main bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Studio bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Back bedroom with a standard size double bed (against the wall).
Versatile and well equipped kitchen-diner with views of the canal.
The kitchen-diner catches the morning sun at breakfast and has a log-burning stove for cosy dinners.
Modern bathroom with toilet, washbasin, bath and shower.
The lounge has a large corner sofa, Internet-connected 'Smart' TV and another log-burning
Children love feeding the ducks from the communal canal-side garden.
The George pub is just across the canal bridge from Canal View.
Sit and watch the world go by on benches in the public green next to The George pub.
The Bathampton Mill on the River Avon has a large riverside garden and is just a short walk away.
A delightful walk or cycle ride along the canal towpath takes you into the City of Bath.
From the canal towpath you can enter the City of Bath via Sydney Gardens.
Cross the historic Pulteney Bridge over the River Avon in Bath.
Visit the historic Roman Baths.
Enjoy the splendour of Bath's Georgian architecture.
After a day of sight-seeing in the City, return along the canal towpath to tranquil Bathampton.
For a change of pace, head out along the towpath into the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bathampton, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AMRMT2014
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Canal View is a beautifully appointed and extremely well equipped apartment with considerable flexibility in the arrangement of the sleeping accommodation. The interior is bright and airy and presentation is immaculate. Views from some of the windows are beautiful. Car parking is easy.The owners are very approachable, quick to respond to any questions and genuinely anxious to do their utmost to make guests comfortable. The information provided by them both on the apartment and on the surroundings is very detailed, covering everything one could need to know. On our arrival we found beautiful flowers, a lovely bottle of wine and some delicious biscuits awaiting us. All through the stay the owners could be contacted if any need arose. Clearly they also have a very good relationship with neighbours who spoke very highly of them and who are very friendly towards their guests. This place is an absolute gem, not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was just perfect
Liked least: I cannot find anything to criticise. Just that the stairs to the property might be a little steep for an elderly or very infirm person, although there is a good handrail.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane D
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a visit to Bath”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Canal View is in a perfect location for a relaxing visit to the Bath area. It's a lovely walk into Bath then you can return to the tranquility of Bathampton. The flat is in easy walking distance of 2 very nice pubs with large outside areas and good food. Canal View is extremely comfortable and great for spending a weekend with family. We are 3 brothers and wives and great that we could all have double bedrooms. The living room is very sociable. There are games available We played Trivial Pursuit, which became quite competitive and good fun. The kitchen is a great space for socialising. The only slight negative is there is only 1 bathroom and there is a lack of ventilation, became a bit steamy when 6 adults are getting ready, which is not good for the bathroom. Don't know how it could be remedied. Overall we had a great time and would recommend you book this property now :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable & welcoming
Liked least: Lack of ventilation in the bathroom Especially when 6 adults are getting ready
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janamann
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, bright & spacious apartment”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I recently visited Bath with my mother and niece and we were delighted to spend a few days in this beautiful apartment.

Very detailed instructions were provided before our departure and we had no trouble locating the apartment. There was always space in the private car park. The apartment, which is up one flight of stairs, is bright, spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were fresh flowers, wine and biscuits, milk in the fridge and a supply of tea and condiments, tin foil, kitchen towel, etc as well as detergent for the washing machine and dishwasher. All towels and linens were also provided. In the rear bedroom there is a selection of books and board games. We all found the wifi access easy and fast - much better than many top class hotels.

The weather was very hot and, being on the first floor, we were high enough to enjoy a nice breeze flowing through the open the windows. We also found three fans in one of the wardrobes. The views towards the canal were also very pleasant.

We walked into Bath along the canal path and enjoyed a cruise along the river on our return, docking about 8 mins walk from the apartment. Every evening we wandered along the canal path in the opposite direction to Bath. The canal path is very popular with walkers, joggers and cyclists.

The location was very convenient for avoiding the traffic around Bath and less than 30 mins drive from Bristol.

My niece will be attending Bath Spa University shortly and my mother and I would have no hesitation in returning to this apartment when visiting her. We will definitely bring our bikes next time to enable us to explore the canal path further - it was lovely to be away from the traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a lovely time”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location, extremely comfortable accommodation, much good information provided by owners. Highly recommend Canal View!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cfcolette
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this particular venue because of previous comments on how lovely the place was and how the owners left flowers and goodies for their guests.My friends and I had a great stay-good facilities and a very good area for touring.I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay T
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base for exploring the area”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a charming, spacious, well-appointed and extremely comfortable apartment, equipped with everything for a most enjoyable holiday. The owners Paul and Christina replied promptly to our emails and gave us very clear directions for our arrival and information about what to do locally. The apartment was nicely prepared for us, including a bottle of wine, biscuits, flowers and milk in the fridge. The location of Canal View couldn't be more perfect. The Kennet & Avon Canal is just outside and offers a very pleasant stroll into the City of Bath via Sydney Street Gardens. Going the other way along the towpath takes you into the beautiful and tranquil Limpley Stoke Valley. Altogether this is our idea of the perfect break ...superb walking and the beds are so, so comfy at the end of the day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to depart
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic flat”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent a great week staying at Canal View with our 4 children (10, 8, 6 & 4). The accommodation was smartly finished and well equipped. We had a large double bed, which was curtained from the lounge. 2 children shared another double room and two more a twin room. Parking was usually possible in the shared car park, although this could be tight at times. There was also easy parking on the edge of the road. The walk in to Bath was pleasant and took us about 45 minutes and there were also frequent buses. Only 200m away or so was a Chef and Brewer pub which was pleasant and child friendly. There were loads of activities and places to visit in Bath and Bristol and we were kept busy all week! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing