We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fantastic location”
Review of Stella

Stella
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Henley Beach
Price range: US$0 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stella is coastal dining at its best, open seven days a week for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. We offer a selection of Entrees/Share Plates, Main Courses, Pizza and Pasta dishes to suit all ages. Outdoor dining over looking the beach is available as is a selection of cakes and coffees if you have time for a quick visit.
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived without a booking on a busy Sunday morning with 8 people and they still found us a table. The service was excellent, the food was very good and the locations fantastic. There was a real vibe to the cafe as it was very busy with a great atmosphere, there were a couple of kids running around which I don't like but it's not the cafes fault. It is not cheap to grab breakfast at Stella, but I would say it is well worth the money.

Thank CraigS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Stella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

It was a rainy and a very blowy night. The beauty of the waterline and Henley Square surrounds couldn’t play a supporting role on our visit to the ‘Stella’ which is under new management. I think on a pleasant and sunny day, the views and surrounds would be stunning but right now all we were looking for was warmth and if we could find an open fireplace somewhere, we would be just right and the hell with the food and drink.
The restaurant was quiet at 7:30PM which was the time my wife had made the booking. She and her long-time girlfriend had eaten here before when it was managed by another. We had made a booking so we were escorted to our table for 4 with a good view of the water and Jetty surrounds. A good view if you had night vision but we were here for the food.
The menu was quaint; a single sided A4 sheet with interesting entrees, mains, pizza and deserts. I wasn’t famished so I chose my food carefully and spent almost 15 minutes reading and re-reading the menu to find something that sounded familiar or that might have a chance of making my taste buds dance. It was hard going. In part because the menu was written in small print which is not uncommon when a young person with perfect vision drafts the menu copy. Alas, my menu reading days were curtailed at around 45 when many persons start wearing reading glasses.
Notwithstanding, my now rumbling tummy was pushing for a Pizza when I overheard the table next to us receive clarification on a Pizza deal. Apparently, there was a Pizza Deal on offer but it wasn’t mentioned on the menu or anywhere the Specials of the Day were chalked up. Curious I went hunting until I found a small paper taped to the restaurant wall next to the cashier that detailed what I thought was a good offer. 2 Pizzas and either 2 glasses of house wine or a selection of several beers including Corona (my Mate’s favourite) and Coopers for a sum total of $39. I felt that was great value and was instantly energised to look again (for the 20th time) at the menu but focussing on the five Pizzas on offer, which were all kind of foreign when comparing them to many Pizzerias.
My wife and I jumped in and ordered our drinks, 1 white wine and I went for a diet coke. For the pizza, which ended up to be around 12” or 30cm in size, my wife went for a “Meat Ball and Broccolini Pizza” whereas I asked for the “GARLIC PRAWN, Australian king prawns, tomato, zucchini, pancetta, fior di latte, chilli and chives”, (Prawn Pizza).
Our two interstate guests ordered “SPAGHETTI MARINARA, with prawns, squid, mussels, anchovies, chilli, garlic and fresh herbs” and finally, a slightly meal order for two entrees delivered at the same time. From memory, I think they were “PUMPKIN & ZUCCHINI FRITTERS, with yoghurt, cucumber and mint” and “ITALIAN MEATBALLS, braised in a tomato sugo with shaved Parmesan and crusty bread”. There was also an order for the table of ‘garlic bread’.
Whilst we waited for our orders wondering how well we had all chosen, we took in the New Managements décor of the Stella, which made the insides incredibly bright as everything was one common colour of light beige. I remarked on a string of massive lamp shade covers that would have measured 1500 x 1500cm each and they were hung upside down, ceiling shade style. There was another light array near the bar that was a series of glass balls with a light bulb inside that seem to resemble some starts in the Milky Way or something. According to the owner, the setting was meant to be relaxed yet stylish.
The food arrived pretty much all together and it really was well presented. Clearly the kitchen staff cared about every single plate that left their kitchen. Our guest’s meals looked scrummy and they claimed it was really good whilst we all dug in. My Pizza was sensational! It has a multitude of tastes happening which included the prawns, garlic and more. Really the best GARLIC PRAWN Pizza I have ever eaten. I don’t offer praise lightly but it was a must for real Pizza lovers. The crust was thin and crispy enough to hold its shape whilst I directed it into my mouth. For 5 minutes, I must confess to having no memory of what the table was talking about as I was in another place, enjoying this pizza intensely. Well done!
The food was enjoyed by all remarking that it exceeded their expectations. Well worth the visit and just a hint the Special Nights are on Tuesdays and Thursdays, for at least the near future - 13/7/2017

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This one was a bit of a miss for me.

Such a shame because it is a beautiful little quaint restaurant set in a stunning location with a beautiful view....but I felt disappointed in the food, staff's attention to detail and kindness, and the toilet facilities.

The food wasn't necessarily bad, but it wasn't great and certainly did not match the atmosphere set by the vibrant, young, fresh and warm nature of it's dining room.

I could even overlook the lacking decency and accessibility of the toilet facilities but not having staff stand around cleaning plates and cutlery like crazy on on quiet lunch shift while customers are eagerly waiting attendance. And a friendly smile wouldn't hurt. I hope they can improve on these areas, because then I will certainly go back.

Still a beautiful spot to eat!

Thank LoveAdelaide2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

The fettucine Lamb shank ragu was absolutely amazeballs. Highly recommended. All others in our group enjoyed they're meals too. Great to see small family wines on the list rather than the standard treasury list.

Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We are locals and after having a string of lack lustre meals decided to simply give this place a miss. After a 2 year hiatus, this evening we gave them another go. Both pasta meals we very much below average. The pasta itself was undercooked and one of the dishes had an abundance of close to raw, crunchy onions in the sauce. The other pasta meal had half pieces of mushrooms through the sauce. Tasted and looked like something that the kids would prepare at home. I can only assume that chef isn't Italian. So, if you're looking for authentic Italian and a warm welcome - I'd suggest that you look somewhere else! Upon relaying this to the owner, he stated that 'he had the same dish for lunch and it was ok". Hhhmmmmmm. Best avoided. Arrogant owner. I sense that his hearts just not in it any more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Daveth_Busti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2017

Firstly i'll start by saying that i'd ordinarily never reply to any online feedback.
I feel that this complaint was a blatant attempt to receive discount, even though both meals were completely finished, even asking for bread to 'finish the sauce'

I was notified earlier in the evening that you were extremely rude to one of my long time waitresses, which made her feel uncomfortable to return to your table.

As the manager that dealt with your complaint on the evening, i respect honesty and if you had notified either me or my waitress that you were unhappy with your meal at the time, we would have happily rectified the issue, but as you had FINISHED your meals and then asked for discount i decided that it wasn't a fair decision, which then seemed to offend you, prompting you to write this review.

Also, our chef was born and raised in Italy and has been cooking for 30 years, in case you were interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella also viewed

Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
 
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing