We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nest at Palisades Cabins
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L & M Motel(Savanna)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$94
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timber Motel(Clinton)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$113
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
24
7
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
7
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcookie cutterbed was very comfortablefireplacegalena
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2017

Tucked in the woods, high up over the Mississippi River, we found the solitude we were looking for. The "Nest" is exactly the place we needed to simplify the chaos in our lives,so we could reconnect with each other. The peaceful and private tranquility offered here, plus the unique, welcoming and comfortable accommodations are not your boring and familiar "cookie cutter" surroundings as found in the typical motel room.
We had all the amenities of a home away from home... a kitchenette, fireplace, ,hot tub, TV, etc plus front row seats to secretly watch nature in the wild, while relaxing over a glass of wine.
The gracious innkeepers were attentive to our needs, when requested, but never intrusive.
We will be returning to the "Nest" often, and will definitely recommend it to our friends. Take a break....Get your Life back!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notalonesomelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie C, Owner at The Nest at Palisades Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Glad you could take some time out...
Your face was much more open, when you left!
Rested, huh? Yes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Very clean and cozy cabin!! It was very easy to book! We had no issues what so ever!! We loved that it was so close to town but has the country feel!!! Google maps will take you directly there!! So quiet and secluded!! We've already booked our next stay!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie C, Owner at The Nest at Palisades Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Looking forward to you being back!
Thank you very much. Glad you remembered
your phone adapter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed in the "Starlight Cabin" and could not have been happier.

The cabin was clean upon arrival. We used the hot tub very liberally and loved every second of it. It was very relaxing. The bed was very comfortable. Both mornings I stepped outside with my coffee to watch a few deer roaming around the woods very close to our cabin. The fireplace/furnace was the icing on the cake.

We met with Maggie on Saturday morning and she was very personable. After our meeting, we had brunch at the Kountry Kettle and then toured a few local wineries. The views on the drive to the winery were remarkable. Afterward, we drove around the Palisades to the scenic overlook where the views were tremendous. Then we nightcapped with dinner and "comedy hour" at Poopy's.

Overall, it was a tremendous weekend and we are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: No WiFi, bring a hotspot and you're good to go.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie C, Owner at The Nest at Palisades Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

So glad for you to visit!
However, sorry you couldn't
get the Hot-Tub in your car!
Lol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

The cabin was a cute cabin for enough room for 2 people. Our first 20 min was spent sweeping and cleaning up lots of mouse dropping. Lots!!! We put our food out and with in 5 minutes they had these bugs all over it. We hung the rest of our remaining food up in the closet. We would clean up mouse and the next day we had to clean more droppings. We did not eat or make food in the kitchen. I didn't think it would be a healthy choice.
Lots of Cob webs, mold, dust and dead bugs in all the light fixtures,corners and walls. I understand it's a cabin but come on let's clean some. Mold at the bottom of shower and while in the shower there were lots of hair that did not belong to us.
Not much sleep was had... Most nights I listened to mice chewing on things. Didn't want to walk on floors without socks. I will be heading home today and washing all Clothes and blanket in hot water! I feel dirty.
There was an outlet that looked burnt. And found a nut on our bed. Same nut that you can find on the ground outside. Sure a mouse carried it in.
The owner was nice and I didn't bother to inform her or complain as she was elderly and handicapped. Not sure how she could of helped.
Worst weekend EVER! Beware you have been warned! In good faith I could not let this stuff go unsaid.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jessgoatlover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie C, Owner at The Nest at Palisades Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Wrong! Should something be amiss, your Host should always be notified!
However, several of the surfaces in photos do not exist in our Cabins!
We have had NO Guests in January, common after Holidays. Always set traps in Winter.
Over the years, 1or2 mice. Cabins surrounded by deep Woods. There is a few box-elder bugs or those ladybugs...No bugs over counters... Lots of Critters at nite. And yes, you can hear them. I see no name matching Dec bookings. Would suggest this is disgruntled Guest having to pay for sneaking-in 2Golden Retrievers. We need to pull the Industrial vacuum out, in that case. Let me ask this: Why hang bags of food in closet, when there is Full Refridge?? Cleaning-lady upset...plasticbag of dry dogfood ripped, spilled on floor...even on bed. Also, left blood on sheets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Our cabin was bigger than I expected and I loved the rustic charm. Meeting Maggie and hearing her talk about the area was a highlight of the weekend. She was very charming and definitely steered us in the right direction. Would definitely recommend breakfast at Café Crumbles. It rained all day Saturday but we found plenty to do in the area. Sunday was perfect hiking weather and the palisades didn't disappoint!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews