We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiest, Comfiest, Most Beautiful Getaway”
Review of Hickory Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Hideaway
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Hickory Hideaway Cabins.... I cannot say enough about how perfectly happy it is to be here.

Its a gorgeous property that provides the most relaxing, comfy experience. The cabins were so comfortable, Sherry & George were amazing, and the property is beautiful. We had such a fun time at the Silver Moon winery, Poopys bar... and an even better time enjoying Hickory Hideaway! Thank you for the most unique, relaxing, and just plain happy bachelorette party

With so much to do and beautiful accommodations, you can't do any better. If you're looking for a comfortable, welcoming, blissful getaway.. look no further!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geowdv, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you so much Casey; looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017

This was our second trip to Hickory Hideaway cabins and nothing had changed. The luxury cabins are beautifully decorated, clean and cozy. The owners, George and Sherry, are very personable, friendly and kind. Everything worked to perfection. They have a lot of little extras in the cabins like wine glasses and corkscrew, plates, silverware and glasses, but no blowdryer so there you will have to bring your own. We loved the fireplace and jacuzzi too!They even have a huge stock of movies to borrow in the office. We love this place and will be back in the future!

Room Tip: Luxury cabin is the way to go for romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Spent the weekend here to get away from the city. Cabins were clean, neat, and well stocked. Very friendly owner, warm fireplace and comfy beds. Equipped with all the amenities one would expect for a normal hotel room, so no need to bring towels or shampoo. Quiet location and no disturbances, we had a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

From the time I emailed if there was an availability to the moment we left on Sunday I felt like we were welcomed to this little hideaway by the owners, George and Sherry. Since this was our first time here and it was a surprise for my husband I did not know which to choose the Rustic Whirlpool Cottage or the Luxury Cabin. I went with the Rustic Whirlpool Cottage and we liked the roominess of the cottage as you get two rooms and a beautiful view out the back deck. The fireplace was really cozy especially since the evenings were cooler and it made the cottage seem homey. I would have liked a chair however to sit by the fireplace but that would require a little rearranging of the furniture. There are 4 of each style of cottage/ cabin offered at Hickory Hideaway so maybe there are different arrangements in other rooms. I would definitely consider coming here again in the future however, next time I am going to splurge and get the luxury cabin. I think it depends on what you are wanting to accomplish on your getaway weekend / time for the room style you decide on. They have accommodations for a family or a couples wanting to just get away and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kinds words and feedback about your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful find, and a surprise that this hidden gem is not far from home (just over an hour from the Quad Cities - a very easy drive!) We stayed in a luxury cabin and it was everything we hoped it would be and more. We stayed in cabin N, which is the farthest from everyone else, and it was the perfect amount of privacy and yet in close proximity to the central community area. The cabin itself was immaculately clean, fireplace was cozy and foolproof, A/C worked perfectly, and there was a large assortment of movies and tv series (DVD and VCR) in the lodge to choose from to borrow for the cabin. The kitchenette was the perfect size for a long weekend, included wine and champagne glasses, a high-end corkscrew, an ice bucket... basically they've thought of everything! The communal fire pit had very comfortable bench swings on two sides that made for a very relaxing spot to enjoy the fire and stargaze, and the fire pit itself was cleaned and readied every day. There is a golf course and clubhouse (great pizza, decent everything else) 3 miles away which we made good use of, and the restaurant Rafters has AMAZING food and is next to a brewery (20 min drive).
I saved the best for last: the owners of Hickory Hideaway are some of the friendliest, most accommodating hosts I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Whatever we needed, they provided immediately and happily. George walked us through the cabin and explained everything, and took the time to give us a ton of information on things to do in the area. We didn't want to leave, and we will definitely be back. Thank you, George and Sherry!!
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway that will leave you so happy and refreshed that you don't quite know how to go back to reality, this is the place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geowdv, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Well if you were as happy after your visit with us as we were after we read your review, we accomplished what we want to achieve here at the 'hideaway.' Thank you so much and look forward to your return trip.
George & Sherry
PS If you want to save some room in the car, we have 2 sets of bags here you can use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is our favorite get away place. Owners George and Shari go out of their way to make sure everything is right. Clean and Comfortable. Just about 2 hours west of the Chicago Metro Area but completely relaxing and a great place to unwind or spend some time with your family. And they have dark sky conditions with incredible stars at night. Did I mention Incredible!

Room Tip: They are all very nice. 12 individual cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review ! We appreciate you as our wonderful guests! We look forward to your next visit !
Kindly,
George & Sherry Vidinich
Hickory Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

My husband & I stayed in a Luxury Whirlpool Cabin at Hickory Hideaway over the weekend. The room was comfortable, hot tub was great, the private quiet time together was wonderful.
From previous reviews, I was a bit concerned that the owners and, perhaps, neighbors, would be too friendly. We were looking to get away and spend time with each other, not socializing with other people. But, I am happy to report that they've got the balance just right.
The owner checked us in, showed us how to work the various amenities in the room, how to adjust the water temperature & the gas fireplace, where all of the important room features were. Then, he left and we had the place to ourselves until we checked out in the morning.
There were guests in the neighboring cabin, but we didn't hear or see them at all.
The community fire-pit was available, way across the grounds, had we been interested in socializing. But, it was far enough away from the luxury cabins that it didn't intrude on our alone time, either.
The view of the stars from just outside our porch was simply awe-inspiring.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gazoogleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geowdv, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Thank you so much for the kind words and look forward to your your return visit.
Sherry & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hickory Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Hideaway

Address: 24366 Payne Rd, Shannon, IL 61078-9251
Region: United States > Illinois > Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Shannon
Price Range: $143 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just lodging. Hickory Hideaway invites you to discover the diverse beauty of Northwest Illinois. Relax in the rustic setting of our 12 cozy cabins located on ten wooded acres just minutes from Lake Carroll. Enjoy our friendly atmosphere beside the bonfire or in our hot tub. A luxury cabin with kingsize bed, fireplace and whirlpool tub or a romantic getaway cabin or country kitchenette can accommodate everything from intimate parties to family reunions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing