We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Motel(Freeport)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L & M Motel(Savanna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
38
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabinborrowluxuryfireplaceaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2017

This was our second trip to Hickory Hideaway cabins and nothing had changed. The luxury cabins are beautifully decorated, clean and cozy. The owners, George and Sherry, are very personable, friendly and kind. Everything worked to perfection. They have a lot of little extras in the cabins like wine glasses and corkscrew, plates, silverware and glasses, but no blowdryer so there you will have to bring your own. We loved the fireplace and jacuzzi too!They even have a huge stock of movies to borrow in the office. We love this place and will be back in the future!

Room Tip: Luxury cabin is the way to go for romantic getaway.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Spent the weekend here to get away from the city. Cabins were clean, neat, and well stocked. Very friendly owner, warm fireplace and comfy beds. Equipped with all the amenities one would expect for a normal hotel room, so no need to bring towels or shampoo. Quiet location and no disturbances, we had a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016

From the time I emailed if there was an availability to the moment we left on Sunday I felt like we were welcomed to this little hideaway by the owners, George and Sherry. Since this was our first time here and it was a surprise for my husband I did not know which to choose the Rustic Whirlpool Cottage or the Luxury Cabin. I went with the Rustic Whirlpool Cottage and we liked the roominess of the cottage as you get two rooms and a beautiful view out the back deck. The fireplace was really cozy especially since the evenings were cooler and it made the cottage seem homey. I would have liked a chair however to sit by the fireplace but that would require a little rearranging of the furniture. There are 4 of each style of cottage/ cabin offered at Hickory Hideaway so maybe there are different arrangements in other rooms. I would definitely consider coming here again in the future however, next time I am going to splurge and get the luxury cabin. I think it depends on what you are wanting to accomplish on your getaway weekend / time for the room style you decide on. They have accommodations for a family or a couples wanting to just get away and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Thank you so much for your kinds words and feedback about your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful find, and a surprise that this hidden gem is not far from home (just over an hour from the Quad Cities - a very easy drive!) We stayed in a luxury cabin and it was everything we hoped it would be and more. We stayed in cabin N, which is the farthest from everyone else, and it was the perfect amount of privacy and yet in close proximity to the central community area. The cabin itself was immaculately clean, fireplace was cozy and foolproof, A/C worked perfectly, and there was a large assortment of movies and tv series (DVD and VCR) in the lodge to choose from to borrow for the cabin. The kitchenette was the perfect size for a long weekend, included wine and champagne glasses, a high-end corkscrew, an ice bucket... basically they've thought of everything! The communal fire pit had very comfortable bench swings on two sides that made for a very relaxing spot to enjoy the fire and stargaze, and the fire pit itself was cleaned and readied every day. There is a golf course and clubhouse (great pizza, decent everything else) 3 miles away which we made good use of, and the restaurant Rafters has AMAZING food and is next to a brewery (20 min drive).
I saved the best for last: the owners of Hickory Hideaway are some of the friendliest, most accommodating hosts I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Whatever we needed, they provided immediately and happily. George walked us through the cabin and explained everything, and took the time to give us a ton of information on things to do in the area. We didn't want to leave, and we will definitely be back. Thank you, George and Sherry!!
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway that will leave you so happy and refreshed that you don't quite know how to go back to reality, this is the place!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geowdv, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Well if you were as happy after your visit with us as we were after we read your review, we accomplished what we want to achieve here at the 'hideaway.' Thank you so much and look forward to your return trip.
George & Sherry
PS If you want to save some room in the car, we have 2 sets of bags here you can use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

This is our favorite get away place. Owners George and Shari go out of their way to make sure everything is right. Clean and Comfortable. Just about 2 hours west of the Chicago Metro Area but completely relaxing and a great place to unwind or spend some time with your family. And they have dark sky conditions with incredible stars at night. Did I mention Incredible!

Room Tip: They are all very nice. 12 individual cottages.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry V, Owner at Hickory Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review ! We appreciate you as our wonderful guests! We look forward to your next visit !
Kindly,
George & Sherry Vidinich
Hickory Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews