We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very NIce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Lindale, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very NIce”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was a very nice hotel. It is beautiful, comfortable and affordable. Loved it being away from the city, with free parking and cookies. The room was very nice, the bathroom a little small, but I can live with it. Had a problem with toilet overflow, but was quickly relocated to the room next door with no problem. Good location, lots of stuff nearby and avoiding the city crowd (traffic was hairy at rush hour but easy to navigate at other times.)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clkgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we know that your time is valuable and appreciate your kind words. Free parking and Doubletree cookies are some of our most popular "perks." I'm glad we were able recover from the small issue with your first room so quickly and you were able enjoy your stay. We agree, it's nice to be in the North Shore and away from the hustle and bustle but still have so many things at your fingertips. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    376
    172
    59
    40
See reviews for
380
165
59
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Ths stay was great except the elevators took forever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Doubletree Chicago North Shore. New elevators are in our future and we appreciate your understanding until this project can be completed. We share our guests’ anticipation for this upgrade to our property. We look forward to serving you in the future next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel for us was a better than expected experience. It has a vantage location, right next to the famed Old Orchard Shopping Centre and scores of other stores. The hotel is right next to the Northshore Convention Centre. The restaurant is good. For its price, the gym though small is functionally very good. The half in and half out swimming pool is also very inviting. The hotel is a pleasant and friendly expereince.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Exceeding expectations is our goal, and I’m so glad we met that goal on your recent stay! Our indoor/outdoor pool is a unique amenity that many of our guests enjoy as well as our recently upgraded fitness center. We are fortunate to have Old Orchard Mall across the street to allow our guests all the shopping and dining options they could ever want. We are so glad you enjoyed everything and genuinely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the North Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for business several times, the most recent the week of December 5th. The rooms are large and comfortable, bed is great, but the bathroom is very small -- cannot get two people in at once. The food at the breakfast buffet is very good but a limited selection; this same restaurant serves really good dinners though. The exercise room has pretty much everything you need -- 3 treadmills, 2 elipticals, and a recumbant bike, along with free weights, a weight machine, medicine balls, BOSU, and exercise mats. Location is great too -- close the the freeway and right across the street from a mall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We are so glad to have you as a frequent guest. Your candid feedback is important to our continued success. We recently added some new items to our breakfast buffet, which also includes eggs made to order, that I am confident you will enjoy on your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
374 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel has a beautiful lobby, large guest rooms, an excellent staff, and warm chocolate cookie whenever you want one! We stayed here when attending a football game at Northwestern. There is a shuttle to Ryan Field.
The rooms are extremely quiet, with excellent black out curtains. The bathrooms are surprisingly small for the size of the guest rooms. However, the do have large, fluffy towels and nice amenities, and are very clean. The bed was very comfortable with plentry of pillows. In room coffee and tea maker, large flat screen TV.
There is not a free breakfast here, but since it is next to Old Orchard shopping area, plenty of breakfast places are avaiable and relatively inexpensive. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is very quiet, so all rooms are nice. If you can, book a king room instead of two queens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and the special amenities offered to those staying with us for Northwestern football games. It's true, we are a very convenient and contemporary choice. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms so much and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area, whether it's for a football game, to enjoy the great shopping across the street, or any other reason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed twice this autumn for business. Was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are ok, nothing special. The ergonomics of the bathroom door seemed to be baffling, however, staff was terrific, cookies were warm, location in northern Chicago suburbs was great. Parking is free. C'mon, how rare is that?
If you are looking for a better than average hotel at a good rate with free internet, free parking and conveniently situated, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our wonderful property! We love the cookies as well, and you are right, how often can you find free parking in the Chicago area? What we lack in bathroom size we hope we make up for in staff friendliness and other areas under our direct control. We appreciate you staying with us on multiple occasions and genuinely look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I was in Skokie for a conference and this was the conference hotel. I found it to be a great rate for this area and a pleasant hotel experience. What a treat to have a wonderful warm cookie after a long day of traveling. Their staff was also very professional. It was also great having complimentary wine in the evening during the weekdays. The hotel is in walking distance to an outside, upscale mall with good restaurants and a play area for children. They also helped me with selecting a taxi service (American Taxi) to and from the airport. I could not have had a better taxi driver (Sedrak). If you are visiting in the winter, there is a cozy fireplace area that is a nice relaxing spot. The restaurant is so so but with restaurants nearby, that is not a problem. I did not have time to go into Chicago but it would not have been a problem with public transportation. I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nowisthetime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our warm Doubletree cookies and our Wine Hour which runs every evening Monday thru Thursday. Hopefully there was a spot open near our lobby fireplace so you could enjoy all three at the same time! We definitely accomodate the conference traveler and are thrilled you were so happy with your experience. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
5.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing