We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ainsdale, Southport, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Becky B
1 review
“Lovely place to stay for families”
Reviewed June 3, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We booked this cottage as an affordable base to stay to visit friends in Southport. So pleased we did. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Phil who showed us around and had provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar, milk, bread butter, jam and eggs. \As well as providing plenty of towels, washing up liquid nd dishwasher tablets.
The cottage is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a home from home especially fo those with families (we took 3 children aged 1, 5 and 8) . Whilst some comments state it is a little dated we felt this added to the quirks of the cottage and my husband was delighted to be able to show our children some cassette tapes we found!! It also enable us to relax a little more as we werent panicking about the children breaking an expensive item of furniture.
The cottage has a very well stocked kitchen, including a slow cooker, food processor, blender and a full size fridge and freezer which is great when self catering. The children also enjoyed the variety of games in the cottage and the lego sets in their bedroom.
All in all a great base for a family break within driving distance of everything we needed. Wouldnt hesitate to book there again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Zochtu
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cosy house in good position for Southport and around”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Tudor Cottage is set in a relatively quiet area, on a 'no through road' (apart from the farm track at the end - the road is set nicely alongside fields). It is within easy reach of public transport, village shops and of course Southport beyond (less than 15m by car).

Highlights include a sunny dining room / conservatory at the back, with a TV, toy box, some magazines and leaflets and a barn door which leads onto a nice little back garden. There is also a comfortable sitting room at the front with a wide and interesting selection of books, along with a TV and DVD player (and various DVDs). The kitchen is nice and practical, with instruction manuals available for all the appliances. I think the only thing we missed was a cafetiere / coffee maker, but that's a minor quibble in an otherwise very well-equipped kitchen.

Things worth being aware of: the stairs are a little steep so may be tricky if you have limited mobility (or very small children). Some of the equipment is not exactly modern but presumably that helps to keep the rental price affordable. Likewise, the house has single glazing; not a great problem in terms of warmth as there is central heating and it's mid-terrace, but obviously you don't get the sound insulation benefit of double-glazing. I was disturbed one night by the neighbour's car coming and going but then I'm a particularly light sleeper, and as mentioned before it is a generally quiet area.

Some of the houses on the street don't have driveways (including this one), but parking on the road is easy enough - we managed to park right outside for the most part.

Aside from the house itself, it's important to know who you are dealing with for an enjoyable and stress-free break, and I'm pleased to say we found the owner, Phil, to be very friendly and obliging. He showed us all around the house, and was also happy to advise on matters such as shopping and getting around the area.

So the bottom line is… if you demand holiday accommodation where everything is new, shiny and plush, then you may wish to look elsewhere (and in a different price bracket!), but if you’re after a homely, no-nonsense, comfortable house with everything you need for self-catering, then Tudor Cottage is well worth considering and I've no doubt Phil will do his best to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thanks for your detailed and comprehensive review. There is some double glazing in the conservatory and the area in general is usually very quiet. The televisions are CRT type but most other appliances are quite new. There is now a cafetiere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heike L
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.