We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Hollow Campground
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice campground. Close to interstate for easy access. Grounds are kept very neat and clean. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Campground has a pool and laundromat. Sites are huge and they have plenty of pull through sites. Accommodates 45 foot rigs.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A great stop from Michigan. We had a wedding and decided to camp instead of staying at Grizzly Jacks.
Campground is beautifully maintained. Lots of grass and mature trees. There is a playground and a pool which we did not take advantage of this trip. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Employees very professional, quick easy registration. Nice very large pull thru sites for big rigs. There is a pool, however we didn't use it. It takes Passport America members! Great rate. Worried about reviews, but we didn't have any issues ..they were very accomidating and we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty193r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The owners were friendly and check in was a breeze. The road in and out was easy to navigate. The campground is just off of I-80 so it is a popular place for overnight stays. There is road noise, it is much louder in the front of the park. We stayed in the back and it wasn't so bad. Large camp, well kept up and they also have cabins to rent. Site was just long enough for our 37-foot RV and tow dolly and parking the car. They are gravel sites with grass and above average width with a picnic table and fire pit. Full hook ups and 50amp. Water pressure was okay. WiFi was good. Verizon service was good. Did not use either the bathrooms or laundry. They have a playground and a small pool with a handicap chair lift. There is a large open area for dog walking and trails through the trees. One thing they didn't warn us about when we checked in was that the quarry next door does blasting every now and then. So when you hear sirens be prepared for your RV to rock with the blast. We stayed here the last week of July 2016 and paid $30.60 a night with a combination of Good Sam and Passport America discounts. There are lots of state parks close by for hiking, and the Illinois/Michigan Canal Trail.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Nice campground.... The ladies were nice, I was worried a little after I read a couple reviews. Although the staff riding around in gulf carts made me feel a little at ease knowing they were monitoring the grounds. The only thing I didn't like was the first night I was awakened in the early morning by flashlights beaming through the cabin. I thought it was a little nerving. We rented a deluxe cabin it was awesome we had a little stove,a flushable toilet and a small refrigerator. There's also a small grill outside the cabin. The mattress was totaling annoying, the next time I will bring a air mattress. I think that will be more comfortable than the mattresses on sight. There's an outdoor swimming pool and fully stocked store on sight. We plan on visiting again in the fall.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank tmcook22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the 6 people cabin with 4 adults and 2 young children. The cabin was big enough, but the bed situation was awkward. The one double bed was in the front part of the cabin and 2 sets of bunk beds in the back. We ended up pulling two single mattresses on the floor so the adults could sleep comfortably. The other awkward thing was the front door stuck about a quarterway open so it felt like you were banging into something walking into the cabin.

With the negative stuff said, the staff in the office were very nice. We needed a couple of things from the on site store and found them on shelf reasonably priced. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. The pool was clean and a perfect temperature.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank teriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I called for same day reservations. We're in a 40' motorhome towing a car. Stayed two nights at the $20/night Passport America rate. Office staff were wonderfully professional. Asked for shady site and got a nice, long, level gravel pull thru under mature trees. 50 amp full hookup utilities on our site were all conveniently placed. Some sites have concrete pads. The few longterm residents kept their sites tidy.

Overall the park is neat and clean - grass is trimmed, tree branches are trimmed high for big rigs, sites look clean, no trash outside of dumpsters. Internal roads are gravel and big rig friendly. Wifi was good enough for email and news. Water pressure was a little weak tho. Nice pool and playground. No off leash dog park but plenty of space to walk the dogs. Right by the interstate but we didn't hear it inside the motorhome and had a couple of good nights sleep. Good bargain especially if you have PA. So glad we found it since we'll be traveling this route a couple times a year.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hickory Hollow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Hollow Campground

Address: 757 N 3029th Rd, Utica, IL
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Utica
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing