We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come enjoy individual creations conceived in the heart and expressed through the hand in our tasting room. We offer wine tastings, wine flights, and wine by the glass and bottle. We also have some wonderful light food items available to pair with your wine. We have two brands available at our Tasting Room: AUGUSTHILLWINERY - red, white, rose, infusions, and dessert wines and ILLINOIS SPARKLLING CO. - traditional method sparkling wines.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We were spending the weekend at Grizzly Jacks Hotel and saw this winery was in town not to far away (We went in March 2017). We went and did the wine tastings which were very good. The kids were with us and they got grape juice and a cheese/cracker platter and they said it was good.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbullock377, Guest Relations Manager at August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Thank you so much for the kind words, Kara. We hope you can come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 28 reviews
"outdoor patio"
in 6 reviews
"caramel apple"
in 4 reviews
"starved rock"
in 15 reviews
"central illinois"
in 2 reviews
"grape juice"
in 3 reviews
"visiting wineries"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"slushies"
in 3 reviews
"moscato"
in 2 reviews
"browse"
in 2 reviews
"burgoo"
in 3 reviews
"galena"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

You don't expect this gem when walking in. Its in a small strip mall in town. When you walk in, the atmosphere is awesome. Staff is great. Not to mention many fantastic wines! I will be back. And, more than once.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Salem1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbullock377, Public Relations Manager at August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. So happy that you will be coming back to see us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to August Hill Winery twice and enjoyed it both times. The wine is always delicious and the wine tasting staff are knowledgeable and friendly. However, my husband and our friends all said we felt very rushed through the tasting and the tasting pours were very very small. Sometimes I felt I didn’t even get enough to get a very good taste of the wine. It was worth the price we paid but would probably only go back for a full glass. Fun atmosphere and very modern, clean look to the interior.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank kreif148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbullock377, Public Relations Manager at August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, Kiersten. We are glad you enjoyed both of your visits. If ever you feel rushed through your tasting, please let our staff know as we always want you to have an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Great place! Was lucky enough to tour the vineyard with friends!

So many favorites to chose from. The slushies are good , too.

Fun events and music. Gorgeous tasting room.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 980candace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbullock377, Public Relations Manager at August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you for the kind words! Hope you can come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Wow. What a great find when taking a drive back to the from a local golf course a couple of hours from the city. We honestly expected nothing great and we absolutely loved the sparkling wines and their methode champenoise used in their production truly makes their ISC sparkling a delight. We also enjoyed meeting the sommelier who assisted us with our purchases of the ombré rose and the dry brut. We enjoyed their sparkling so much that we joined their Sparkling wine club for discounts and private events. The tasting room is cozy with a wine and gift shop. We return every other month to pick up our Sparkling wine club selections!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CzechMate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbullock377, Public Relations Manager at August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our ISC sparkling wines and love them as much as we do. Welcome to the Insider's Wine Club. We hope you can visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to August Hill Winery & Illinois Sparkling Co. Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing