We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel, was quite surprised given the value pricing!
Front desk staff was extremely nice, helpful, and professional....they did an excellent job of of taking care of us.
Rooms are near and clean, facility is well maintained, and the location was perfect for our needs.
Great job Candlewood team! We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mjldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Mjldly,

We are delighted that you took the time to write. Your review lets us know that your stay was enjoyable. Our team works hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we appreciate knowing you felt comfortable while traveling. We thank you for your patronage and hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Best regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Booked this hotel for a 3-week long class I was taking about a half hour away and absolutely loved it. It was important to me to have a kitchenette, as I didn't plan on eating out every night for 21 days straight. Rooms have full size refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, range-top burners, so I was able to cook frequently on my own. It's conveniently located by the WalMart SuperCenter, so there was easy access to reasonably priced groceries. The hotel also has washers and dryers available for guests to do their laundry free of charge, so I was excited about not having to carry a bunch of quarters to get clean clothes during my stay. And the layout of the room is such that if you leave the door of the bathroom open, you can still watch TV while you're sitting on the toilet.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. If I'm ever find myself needing to stay in this area again, I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for choosing our hotel. I am happy that you appreciated the level of service received from our hotel staff as well as our clean and comfortable accommodation. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and I could not have explained our hotel any better. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Waukegan area in the future.

Warmest regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel while we were passing through the Chicago area. We have stayed in similar hotels and we're not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised and loved this hotel. We stayed for one night after a long drive. Room was emasculate with every amenity. Front desk staff was on point and did well. The hotel also took pets reasonable at around f 90 a night. I would come back recommend others come here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PHB11716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

To our Valued Guest,

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As our valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you for choosing us.

Regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

OUTSTANDING place to stay if you are in the area. Nice room Good price GREAT service. No breakfast but you don't need it as everything is close. Anytime we are in the area this is where we will stay. You have to try it.

Room Tip: anywhere is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Ron,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding you recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had and enjoyable stay and will choose to stay with us whenever you are in town.

Best regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Inexpensive and adequate suites with nice little kitchens. No pool or breakfast. Good location with pretty easy access to all of Waukegan. Four of us were in town for a soccer event and this hotel fit our needs. Some shopping nearby.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ReefWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Reefwatch,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Candlewood Suites. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Although this hotel does not serve breakfast there are restaurants within a few minutes. The staff is great - lots of room in the suites - all the basics for your kitchen - plenty of counter/desk space - good wifi - comfortable beds and this hotel still offers both smoking and non smoking rooms. It is also in a good, safe area which was important to me as a solo female traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KJW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

To Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Candlewood Suites. We are happy to hear that you thought the staff was great - lots of room in the suites - and comfortable beds. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We have stayed at Candlewood Suites 3 different times, 2 times at this location. I love this place. Looks like it has been redecoratred since our 2013 visit, love the was it looks We stay at Candlewood because we have always had great customer service. The suites are roomy and great if traveling with a pet. I would reocmmend Candlewood to anyone. We will stay with is chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: Lower floors, near exit for traveling with our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Cherry,

We are delighted that you took the time to write. Your review lets us know that your stay was enjoyable. Our team works hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we appreciate knowing you felt comfortable while traveling. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Amy Dow
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
0.9 km away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
118 reviews
7.1 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan

Address: 1151 S Waukegan Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Our Candlewood Suites - Waukegan/Gurnee is a 4-time Quality Excellence Award Winner. Spacious and built for comfort, each of our suites has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. You can catch up on work with an oversized executive desk with two phone lines and free high speed Internet in every room. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the cable TV, listen to your MP3 or watch movies on a VCR / DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD library at the front desk. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard, where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at competitive prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites Chicago - Waukegan is located just minutes from everything including: Businesses: Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, Medline, Omnicell, PCI, Uline, Yaskawa Attractions: Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills - Mega Mall, Ravinia Festival Grounds, Lake County Fair Grounds Universities: Rosalind Franklin University, Chicago Medical School, College of Podiatric Medicine, CLC We are proud to offer our guests free membership in Priority Club Rewards. Come and let our friendly staff help you to enjoy a truly remarkable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan Hotel Waukegan
Candlewood Suites Waukegan
Candlewood Waukegan
Waukegan Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing