We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Have been staying at this hotel for the past three years while my son attends IU. Hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and breakfast is adequate. It is about a ten minute drive to campus, but one has to have a car to get around IU. Never any traffic, except on special weekends, and even that is nothing compared to big city traffic

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    110
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
226
71
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Room was booked under a corporate rate. When I checked out I had been charged a much higher rate. They corrected it after a complaint, but should never have occurred.

Maintenance entered my room with a "do not disturb" inserted into the key slot to change a perfectly working shower head. I was never called to ask permission for this clearly non-emergency violation of my room. Management did not care when confronted.

Stay at your own risk...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Jack L,

Mishaps do happen and we are sorry about the inaccurate rate, and hope that correcting the matter before charges were applied to your account could make up for it. Also, I apologize that your “do not disturb” sign was not honored. We know the importance of privacy and certainly understand your concern. We strive for our property to be in the best condition possible and when alerted we make every effort to resolve a guest’s issue during their stay. The prior guest of the room reported the showerhead faulty and maintenance was a bit too eager to address the problem, thinking you had made us aware of the issue. We value your business and hope we will have a chance to make it up to you in the future when you are in Bloomington, IN. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Sean Hanlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was attending a weekend event at IU, and when I tried to book a room, I found that all the hotels that had been recommended to me as close to campus weren't available. So I reserved a double queen suite at Homewood Suites for my husband, toddler, and me, and hoped for the best. We were very pleased. First of all, the hotel was an easy 5-10 minute drive from campus. It was quiet, although we heard a little noise from the nearby stairwell and storage closet in the kitchenette/living area. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and very nice. Unfortunately, we did not have time to try to the indoor pool, even though it was located very close to our room. The complementary breakfast was good, although we agree with a previous reviewer that said they would do well with a second waffle iron on busy days.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the end next to the stairs and storage closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful lobby and common eating (plenty of room with tables) area for breakfast and dinner (M-Th). Great rooms with full kitchen and nice living space, separated from the bedroom. Very clean and well maintained. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4USAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here when visiting IU with my family. All of the closer hotels were booked so we found this one. It was only five minutes to the campus by car and felt well maintained. I have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hello Alanwi,

I’m Sean, GM at the hotel. Thank you for the positive feedback! The hotel is only a short distance away, on border of the campus. I am glad that you were able to stay with us and I am pleased to hear that we have met all of your needs during your stay. When your family visits, we would love to have you stay with us again to show even more of we have to offer.

All the best,
Sean Hanlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here while visiting my daughter, who is a student at IU. This hotel is off the beaten path, but on the plus side it's very quiet. We have stayed closer to campus before and been kept up all night by street noise and sirens. The beds were comfy and the pillows were great! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear DPHockeymom,

I’m Sean, General Manager at the hotel. I appreciate your positive feedback! I am glad that the Homewood Suites has met your expectations and is becoming one of your favorite Bloomington hotels. Being on the outskirts of the campus, we do find things to be quieter, and we are very pleased that you found that aspect enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We hope you will stay with us again.

See you next time,
Sean Hanlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Homewood Suites while we were in town for an IU basketball game. While the location is south of town, the hotel is great. Lovely lobby, great room with a seperate bath and bedroom that is off of the living room and full kitchen. The bed was comfy and the shower was huge. Don't forget to have breakfast that is free each morning until 9am ... it is a full, hot buffet breakfast, which we weren't expecting. Each guest room also receives a complimentary USA Today, which we love. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Bloomington Indiana
3.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
SpringHill Suites Bloomington
#6 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#2 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Bloomington
Comfort Inn Bloomington
#9 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
#8 of 24 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Address: 1399 S Liberty Dr, Bloomington, IN 47403-5170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington, just west of SR-37 and 2nd St. /I-45 on Liberty Drive, convenient to Baxter, Otis Elevator, Cook Inc., Rogers Group and Crane Naval Base. Relax or catch up on work in your suite which features a separate living room with a sleeper sofa, work and dining table, TVs in each room and premium cable channels. Prepare dinner in the fully equipped kitchen. For relaxation, plunge into the indoor pool or burn some calories in our fitness center. Satisfy your sweet tooth with a stop in our hotel convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Homewood Suites Bloomington
Homewood Bloomington
Bloomington Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing