We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot and nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hot and nasty”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Room was very hot upon check in. Turned air conditioner on, an hour later room still hot. Called front desk, was told to shut curtains and it would cool down. Had to switch rooms at midnight, room still too hot. Sheet for pull out on sofa had what appeared to be a wet stain of sexual nature on it. Not something you want the kids to sleep on. Apparently house keeping not doing their job. Several complaints of bites in the morning, possible bed bugs. Will not stay there again will tell others not to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelworker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSsales, Manager at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We regret your unfortunate experience at the Candlewood Suites Louisville North. We strive for perfection and we have clearly feel short of your expectations. For that, we apologize The CWS takes such complaints in a very serious light. Thank you for pointing out our shortcomings.

We have thoroughly checked the air conditioners and cleanliness in both rooms you were in. We did not find any mechanical errors in the air conditioning units. We had the suites professionally inspected by an outside company and there was no evidence of bed bugs. We have met with the appropriate departments regarding the level of service you received and the poor conditions of the linens to ensure this does not happen again.

Again, we offer our deepest apologies for your invonvenience; and once more, we thank you for your comments. We value your feedback as it helps us improve our hotel and team members.

Than you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    24
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
34
26
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The whole place was very clean. The beds were awesome, it was the best nights' sleep either of us had in a long time. The staff were courteous and were there whenever we needed them. The only problem we really had was the wi-fi wasn't working. Will recommend it to everyone and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_customer39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
347 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here while spending time in Louisville, KY. This hotel is right across the bridge from Louisville. The place was very clean and quiet. There are tons of shopping in the area if that is one of your interests. We always enjoy the Candlewood Cupboard. It is nice having the "home away from home" setup that the Candlewood offers. This place is your standard type Candlewood. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHSsales, Area Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Louisville North, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to our Candlewood Suites Louisville North located in Clarksville Indiana. We appreciate your choosing us for your home away from home and welcome you back any time you are in the Louisville area!
We are still pretty new to this area and we strive hard to provide the best value in the market today. Thank you for helping spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Before visiting my sister Lynn and her family in Sellersburg, IN., I researched online for a newer hotel, as we were not happy with the others in this area in past years (old, worn out, dated furnishings). So when Lynn suggested this new hotel I checked it out before checking in. It is brand new with a great location to restaurants and mall; friendly staff; and very clean. It even had that 'new' smell to it! We loved our large room with 2 queen beds, a kitchen area, large bathroom and comfortable bedding. There is a pool, fitness and business center in the hotel. No breakfast is served, however, but lots of restaurants and doughnut shops very nearby. We drove 10 miles to Churchill Downs for an afternoon at the track, then shopped at the mall.
I am very particular about which hotel I will stay in, so I was concerned since I have never heard of this brand. But all my worries vanished upon check-in as the front desk clerk was so friendly, room was very clean and well-equipt, and everything was perfect. I will definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iTeachVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

This is a newly built hotel that's easy to see from the highway, but takes a little effort to get to, probably because the area around it is still being developed.

Check-in was fast and easy, and we were surprised by how well laid-out the floor plan in our room was. Everything was spotlessly clean - from the kitchen area to the sleeping area to the bathrooms. The room was equipped with a full-sized refridgerator, a two-burner cooktop, microwave, toaster and coffee maker, as well as dishes, pots, pans, utensils and glasses. The dishwasher makes clean-up a snap. Toaster ovens are available on loan from the front desk. The room also had a good sized high definition, flat screen TV with a DVD player.

Since this is an extended stay hotel, there are a few differences from regular hotels. First and foremost, there is a 24-hour pantry available to guests. The pantry offers a variety of boxed meals, frozen entrees, and refrigerated soft drinks, milk, juice, eggs, asprin etc. for a small fee, with prices clearly marked on the shelves and doors. Another difference is that guests may check out DVDs and books for free from a selection at the front desk. The hotel also offers free use of the laundry facility, and detergent and fabric softener are available for a nominal fee.

This hotel has a small swimming pool, a business center, free high speed internet access and a gym that is open 24 hours. There is also a patio equipped with grills for those who want to do a little barbequeing.

Other features may not be immediately noticable, but include real windows that you can open to let in the breeze (or to let out the smell of burnt microwave popcorn) and bathtubs where guests can actually lean back and relax. On Wednesdays the staff hosts a social hour for guests to mingle and enjoy free food and drinks. When the hotel manager learned that I am vegetarian and could not eat anything on the buffet, she asked what I was in the mood for and sent out for it. That's really going above and beyond and I certainly wasn't expecting it. What a pleasant surprise!

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are plenty of restaurants in the area, and if you'd rather fix something in your room, there are several grocery stores nearby, including a Super Target and a Sam's Club.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeShock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Restaurants (walk to Outback), shopping of all sorts, movie theater... all within about a mile. Louisville... within about 15 miles (and I don't mean the city limit, I mean downtown 'where it's at'). You CANNOT beat the location.

Clean, clean, clean. And still in brand new condition... what more can I say. They have very nice bedding, none of that polyester blend bedspread junk. Nice towels.

My young son and I stayed in the 1 bedroom suite. Everything but a stove, which wasn't a requirement for me. I understand all rooms come with a fridge and micro, which is about all you might require anyway. My only complaint with the room, I suppose, is that it did stay kinda hot in the bedroom. There is no direct air conditioning in the BR, so you have to keep the door open at all times to keep it reasonably cool (and thats running the air at 60 at all times in the main room). There is a 'vent' with a fan in the wall between, that is supposed to suck the cool air in from the living room - doesn't do much to help. Leaving the door open to the BR is about the only way to really keep cool air in the BR.

The staff were nice enough - the manager was the nicest; the rest are just 'there'. The manager was so very accomodating, though, that I could overlook the rest of the staff's lack of contact. (I guess I just like a smile or something when I walk in. They were certainly competent, just not overly friendly.) The only other complaint I might have, and I don't know that the staff really could have done anything anyway, is that there were Little League families staying the same weekend... and those parents let their kids run the halls and elevators wild at all hours without any parents visible. (Seriously, 8 year olds on the elevator, mock sword fighting with bats, at 10:45 pm. No parent around when they got on; no parent in sight when they got off. )

All in all, though, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlondeGirlFromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is a very new hotel, and is easy to see from I-65, but it’s a little challenging to get to as it sits on a weird little outer road that’s not marked very well.

Check-in was quick and painless, and my room preference was granted. This hotel has a full pantry with everything from microwave dinners to aspirin, all at reasonable prices. The pantry is open 24/7, so you can get a snack, soda, meal or whatever you’re in the mood for any time of day or night.

My room was spotless. Even the telephone was clean and smelled like cinnamon, no joke! My room had a fully stocked kitchen, right down to storage containers, cookware, and anything you could dream of. Did I mention the kitchen has laminate hardwood floors? The studio-style room also had a large flat panel TV, and a very comfortable bed.

If they continue to maintain this hotel to the standard that it was build, and keep the rate at what I paid, I have no reason to go anywhere else when in this area; I’d even go out of my way and cross the river from Louisville to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessionalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Louisville-North/Clarksville
0.6 km away
Best Western Green Tree Inn
Best Western Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Clarksville
6.1 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
6.2 km away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Louisville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Louisville North

Property: Candlewood Suites Louisville North
Address: 1419 Bales Ln, Clarksville, IN 47129-8721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Louisville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Louisville North a 100% non-smoking hotel. We are located 4 miles from downtown Louisville and offer all of the comforts of home along with the convenience of having major businesses, retailers and restaurants nearby. We are located off exit #5- Veterans Parkway on I-65. Our all suite hotel is ideally located for visiting Norton Healthcare, Jewish Hospital and Clark & Floyd County Memorial Hospitals. The hotel is also close to the University of Louisville and the brand new Indiana- Purdue University campus. This brand new property has been designed with your needs in mind. Swim year round in our beautiful heated indoor pool, work out in our state of the art fitness center. Cook a meal in our fully equipped kitchens, grab a snack from the fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard or cook-out on our gazebo equipped with a gas grill. Or you can unwind after a hard day s work in our plush recliners while watching premium cable and HD channels on our 32 LCD TV s or grab a movie from our free movie library. If you prefer to work in the privacy of your living room we also offer wired and wireless free high speed Internet and an oversized work desk in every suite. All of our amenities will make you feel right at home and with all that downtown Louisville has to offer makes our Candlewood Suites the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Louisville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Louisville North Hotel Clarksville
Candlewood Suites Clarksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing