We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "NO" Sleep Inn” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The "NO" Sleep Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Never again. While the place is clean, has nice rooms and is centrally located if you want to actually "sleep" at this Sleep Inn forget it. My wife and many of our family stayed over New Years Eve weekend. The noise started Saturday morning with constuction on the floor above us. Sounded like the ceiling was caving in. They somehow forgot to mention the construction when we booked the room and then tried to deny there were construction workers there at the time.

Saturday night was even better. Little did we know that a local theater in town(The Crump)had a New Years Eve party with several bands and free limo rides all night long to the Sleep Inn!! ALL NIGHT LONG a constant parade of drunk kids kept us awake. My family was spread out over 4 rooms in different locations in the Hotel and we were all kept awake all night long. Five cops showed up and atleast one person was arrested. My favorite part was when my wife answered the door at 9AM after a drunk knocked on it trying to find his room. By the way, the Hotel did nothing about the noise, another patron had to call the police.

I talked to Sharon the General Manager and asked her if we could get some kind of credit for the night. She said no, our rate was already discounted (we never asked for a discounted rate when we booked the room, they gave it to us) She also denied the connection with the Crump Theater and said all hotels in the area had patrons from the Crump that night. She must have a short memory becuase a quick look at the Crump website displayed the Sleep Inn limo ride promo. They also had little advertisments at the front desk for this same promo. Great promo idea..lets see...lets attract a bunch of drunk rowdy kids to a place where everyonelse is trying to sleep!! Infact, lets give them a limo ride as well!!

Also, one of our kids stayed for a weekend in November, 2011. Cops were there that weekend as well. She had to stay in her room as they tracked down a wanted criminal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    26
    13
    5
    15
See reviews for
41
26
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

A bit dated. Bed hurt our backs and water pressure was lacking.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursek40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
168 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed in several Sleep Inns over this summer and this was by far the nicest one. It was new and was cleaner than most of the other Sleep Inns we have been to. One thing I have been impressed with is that with this and most Sleep Inns, the air conditioner was quieter than most other hotels. This hotel had the modular furniture like most other Sleep Inns but here it seamed a touch nicer. As long as you do not want a tub, the shower is nice and big and there were plenty of pillows. Good night sleep and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were thrilled with the generous size and nice architectural design of the guest rooms - like the curved wall surrounding the shower stall, and tasteful color scheme, There were so many touches usually found only in high-priced hotels, The bath towels were creatively folded with the soap and a complimentary shower cap tucked in between. Everything was so bright and new. It was a welcome respite since we had spent the day loading a moving van to take our daughter off to college. Columbia, IN was our halfway point between Chicago and Nashville. We will certainly stop in again on our trips down to visit her at Vanderbilt University. Thank you for making us so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Will definately return to this hotel. We initially booked a regular room with two beds and asked for 1st floor. When we arrived we had been given 2nd floor being told the first floor was already occupied for our type of room. The lady at the front desk was very accomodating to upgrade us to a two bed suite so we could have 1st floor! The room was excellent and super clean. We were very suprised to find this room not only had a huge walk-in shower but also a jaccuzzi!
We also thought the back patio with an awning was very nice. We just wish it were spring like and not such a hot summer so we could spend more time out there. The turtles and fish in the lake are fun to watch.
Breakfast was served for 4 hours and not 2 hours like some hotels.
Thank you Sleep Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthboundI65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Went out for about a hour and when I returned Computer was missing and also IPod gone!!!
If you are going to deal with rude people and take all your stuff with you everywhere you go this is the place for you. I would not return here if my life depended on it

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me12120677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beabout222, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
This reveiw is incorrect. The laptop computer was found by another guest in the parking lot of our hotel. It was turned into the front desk and returned to this guest by me, personally and one of my desk clerks witnessed this and so did her husband. Later on the guest came to the desk (without her husband, this time) and claimed that she had an Ipod stolen. She did check out of the hotel and we were kind and apologetic and even comped her room. Obviously the cleanliness of the hotel and all the other low scores had no pertinence to her situation and I resent her implication that anyone on staff is dishonest. We have returned jewelry, wallets, cameras and money. We have little turnover here and I am proud of my staff and our property is a Gold award winner for customer service and cleanliness so there are others that agree and share mty pride.

Sharon Beabout
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Overall, my initial impression of this property was not a bad one from the lobby. Arrived to witness a guest complaning about a bad experience but thought nothing of it. Again nothing initially appeared to be terrible on first look in the room - typical low cost hotel with few amenities and dated and a little rough on the edges. However, when I got into the bed Saturday evening, I found a disturbing amount of bed bugs! Many were crawling between the comforter and flat sheet, and more between the flat sheet and fitted sheet. After waking my daughter to check her bed, we found no problem there. The front desk attendent (assistant manager I think?) said they "have heard of other hotels around Columbus having problems with bed bugs", but claimed they did not. Obviously, she was wrong! I would recommend spending another $10-20 per night and try a different property.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redtomatobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 km away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Residence Inn Columbus
Residence Inn Columbus
#4 of 10 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Columbus Downtown
12.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside
Address: 2335 Jonathan Moore Pike, Columbus, IN 47201-9253
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully, newly renovated hotel with numerous amenities such asrefrigerators and microwaves in every room. A full free breakfast is included with your stay which includes sausage, eggs and a selection of pastries, cereals, etc. Free wireless and wired internet connection and 32" flat screen tv's offering over 100 channels including TV Japan in all of our Guest rooms. We also have a business center, indoor heated swimming pool, dry-heat sauna and a brand new fitness center. We are just eight miles from the Edinburgh Premium outlet mall which offers over 85 specialty stores for your shopping convienence. We are 16 miles fromLittle Nashville which is a small, quaint throwback to the past with hundreds of little shops featuring antiques, collectibles, hand-blown glass, leather, candle-makers and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lakeside
Sleep Inn Columbus
Columbus Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing