We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“horrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairway Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Monee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were yelled at by an employee who was intoxicated while we were talking w other couples outside of the bldg. Also, employees let themselves into our hotel room while we were occupying the room. Also was told because of our bad experience they would give us a free room but lied to us and charged us.

Room Tip: look for coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

All I have to say about this facility Fairway Inn in Elkhart, Indiana is that you better be prepared for an very unsanitary place. Scrum and dirt around the tub and the bottom..linen full of stains , spread with cigarette holes and this is suppose to be a non smoking room, pet friendly and no one lets you know that until you go in the room and see cat hairs all over the linen. This place should be closed down for unsanitary reason and the Board of Health need to check this place out. Its cheap but that doesn't justify for it being uncleanly. I checked out and they wanted to charge me for a days stay.
Beware..I would never refer anyone to this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeryDisappointed071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elkhart hotels

NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were on our way to Seattle from NY, and this was one of the best places we stayed for the money. There are a ton of hotels/motels at this exit. A lot of nicer places, but for the money, this was great. It was nothing special — soap and towels were ehhh, but got the job done. Beds were comfy.

The lobby is cute; it's all wooden furniture... very country-esque.

I's recommend this place... esp for the money. I've been to a lot scuzzier places that coast a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellizNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange IN
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I have been to this motel a couple times at football season and had always found it to be clean until last year. The two maids stood in the hall upstairs and did alot of talking. Our room was not clean as usual and now we knew why.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlife025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

We stayed here one night to meet family while attending the Osceola, IN Bluegrass Festival. The staff at the Fairway Inn was friendly and very cooperative. The rooms were not the largest rooms, but they were very clean and comfortable. The motel is very convenient to get to off of the toll road and is close to several good restaurants. The rate for this motel is very reasonable. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

This was the worst vacation I have ever had, thanks to the "friendly" staff at the Fairway Inn. We were put in the room right next to the lobby. All night long we were awaken by the "ding-dong" of the front door. The next morning we requested a new room for our second night. Exhausted from the evening before we attempted to take a nap. Wrong. A boom box from the first floor had our walls shaking. This hotel houses all the foriegn staff of the casino. Their doors were wide open and they were literally chasing each other down the hallways. With some resistance from the staff we were released from our obligation to stay the second night. Upon recieving my credit card statement I was shocked to see that they had charged the wrong account. Not only that, but I was billed for the full amount. I attempted to contact the owner on three separate occasions. Only when I threatened to report the charge as fraudulant did I recieve a call from her. She was rude and offered no apologies. She even denied that we were not liable for the second night. This was an awful experience.

  • Liked — Shuttle Service
  • Disliked — Staff, room, and accidations
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JTRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2006

Despite that we checked in around 2:00 AM and that the fire department arrived with lights and sirens literally outside our window at around 5:00 AM in the morning with firemen trudging up the stairs just outside our room, when we asked if we could have a late check out after noon, we were told that was impossible because of "the computer," that our room was already booked for the next day, and that if we were not out by noon we would be charged an extra day.

Not even so much as a Microwave or hot plate to heat water for coffee or tea, had a pain getting logged on to the wireless network, and though we found the accommodations clean (with a nice tip for the maid, at least in thankfulness for that) they were nonetheless Spartan at best.

When I attempted to lodge a complaint at (-), I found the website non functional for that purpose, and with only an e-mail address which I will use to also copy and paste a copy of this on-line evaluation. This together with the inflexible response from the front desk speaks volumes that once you check in, they don't give a damn.

This was our first and likely last visit to a Fairway Inn, and we thought we'd "give them a try." Fairway Inns to the bottom of our list, and we wish we'd chosen another of the many other motels here in the area of Elkhart, IN, several brand names of which we've had excellent experience. Regrets for having strayed from "known quantity" better hotels. Fairway Inns to the bottom of the list

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#14 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 km away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#9 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Inn

Property: Fairway Inn
Address: 115 Northpointe Blvd., Elkhart, IN 46514
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fairway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Elkhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing