We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice walk, feels safe & clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
Ranked #7 of 167 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice walk, feels safe & clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A lovely place to walk off dinner and chat; saw lots of families and runners out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kady_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    258
    32
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“walking on the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I thought it was a nice day to take a walk and look at the red fish.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank voicegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very safe and people friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

me and my friend on our second day visiting this city that i must say is on the high rise to the greats if not already there and we was on a small bridge and saw this beautiful undescribable flow of water being blown in the air and under that being a bigger body of water (from my research i believe that was waters from the white river) so we decided to go and see whats up with it and we would never regret the canal walk great scenery, spacious, great people, road on the paddle boat fun fun:), got to see the free arts museum which is connected right with the canal walk, great seating areas, the location was well thought of

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank talan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great walk through the heart of museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The canal is a great scenic walk that is very well laid out and all the museums along the route are beautifully built. The canal can get crowded at times with runners and slow moving groups. Great access to all the museums, Lucas Oil Field and the zoo is at the end of the canal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I are members of the Indy zoo and the Gardens,so whene we go there we walk along the canal

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing