We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just got back from our Anniversary weekend in Indianapolis. We were also celebrating my best friends Birthday. I called the Marriott the week before we arrived to request connecting rooms and also asked for a good view or good rooms. The guy I talked to (I wish I had his name) worked very hard to find us some good rooms. We scored the hospitality suite for no extra charge with our friends in a connecting room. It was so awesome to have a living room for us all to relax in with our room. It pays to be a Marriott reward member even if you don't have enough points to get a free room. The hotel overall was very nice and our friends and I think we "scored" an excellent deal for an excellent weekend.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Destindreammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us for your anniversary weekend. I am happy we could accommodate you with the connecting room to a hospitality suite. We enjoy helping our reward members and those who are celebrating special occasions. We hope to see you again soon!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
There are newer reviews for Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Your company's daily rate cap prohibits you from staying at the J.W. Marriott, the super sleek place built for the recent Super Bowl. So you stay 2 blocks away in this place. You are underwhelmed, but then you remember that you're in Indy. It's a small town but the place surprises. The town is clean, compact, and civic pride is on display everywhere. So maybe the Indy Marriott isn't so bad. It may not be so good either, but if you can't do the J.W., it will do.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thanks for staying with us. I hope you choose to stay with us next time you return to Indy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was attending a conference downtown and the hotel hosting the conference was sold out. I stayed here just a couple blocks away from my conference. Got a great government rate of $92/day. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor for a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Native_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I will never stay at a Marriott Again, This was the worst time i ever had. $28 to park really! This was a free night award that my son won and they charged me $212.44 to stay, guess they don't know what free is. Got kicked out of the fitness room for wearing pants. They want to charge for a breakfast that is free in any other hotel in the US. I will never recommend any one to ever stay at the Marriott down town Indy, there is a Super 8 close by.

Room Tip: Super 8 is close will be a better time.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fattonyindianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

I am not clear on where the misunderstanding is on the free stay but I am happy to assist straightening the situation out. The charges for parking and breakfast is competitive with other full service hotels downtown in Indianapolis. I am sorry they came as a surprise to you.

Please feel free to contact me at 317-405-6040 for billing assistance if needed.

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Average room, clean, and no bedbugs, so that should make for a great review, right?? However... this place is supposed to run more that $200 a night, and man would I be peeved if I had payed anything close to that! From our very average room at the very average downtown Marriott, we had a gorgeous view of the gorgeous JW Marriott across the street--what a bummer. Here's the negatives: a) no exhaust fan in the bathroom, a clear downfall when you're sharing close quarters with people you hope will still love you when you leave, b) the sink, hairdryer and all mirrors are inside the bathroom with the toilet & shower, so it's really tough to get more than one person ready to leave for the day, c) with "luxury" hotels, you get charged for all the "extras," like no free parking ($23 bucks/night), no free breakfast (don't even ask how much the restaurant/room service charges), no fridge, and no free Wi-Fi ($12/day). In my opinion, that just sucks. Sure, you get free coffee in the room, which is crap that tastes like hot, brown colored water. Positives: nice bedding with no grody comforters, firm beds, quiet heat/AC, friendly & helpful staff at the front desk, great location in a clean & secure neighborhood. You decide.

Room Tip: DON'T pay full price for a room here. Definitely use a discount site like priceline or hotwire.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kady_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your feedback. Our hotel has been rated a four diamond hotel for all 11 years we have been open and strive to maintain that quality level in product and with our service. Our pricing is based on staying competitive with other full service hotels in our market. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for a conference at the convention center. It has a skywalk to the convention center, nearby hotels, and the circle centre mall. You never have to step outdoors. This is great if the weather is unfavorable. Short walking distance to many things!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was here for a convention the week after the Super Bowl and everyone in town seemed worn out, so I will give the staff here some slack. The front desk staff were extremely pleasant, but the overall service in the hotel seemed disengaged. The hotel seems old and tired, especially compared to others in the area, like the Conrad. The location is good, but there are many hotels in the area that are equally well situated. I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards guest, so I am obviously partial to Marriott hotels, especially when traveling within the US. I don't think I would stay here again if the choice was left to me.

They charge for the internet (one of my pet peeves) but take it off the bill for Rewards guests, which is acceptable. What isn't acceptable is what happened to me at the bar when I bought a couple rounds of drinks for our group before we headed out to dinner. We stood at the bar, talking for about 45 minutes and then had to go to dinner, so I closed out my tab, tipped generously (20%) , folded the receipt in my wallet and went out to dinner.

It wasn't until a week later, when I was filling out my expense report, that I saw that there was an 18% tip ALREADY ADDED to the bill before it was handed to me. The bill still had a blank line for the tip under the total (which, remember, had the tip included already), so I missed it. The "service charge" was entered as a line item amongst the beers and as such was not easy to spot. It was listed as a "service charge" for parties of 8 or more. I don't think there were even 8 of us, but that wouldn't matter at the bar anyway.

When I called the hotel about this and talked to a manager, she naturally took the "service charge" off the bill, which upon reflection still meant that I tipped on an inflated figure. She said that the bartender was supposed to take the "service charge" off if I tipped also. Really? You inflate the bill by $35, allow the customer to tip on the inflated total, then take the "service charge" off? How many times does that actually happen?

This is a situation where even thought the manager was apologetic and pleasant, I will still avoid this hotel the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the State House
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank criswelldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry the hotel staff seemed tired following the Super Bowl. Our goal was to not have a let down after the big weekend, but it sounds like we missed the mark with you.

I apologize for the service charge situation when the server did not identify the added charge as they presented the bill for your review. Your critique is accurate and I will work with my team to correct the process so other guests do not have the same experience you did.

Please contact me if you would like to discuss further. My phone number is 317-405-6040.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,282 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,734 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#58 of 185 in Indianapolis
328 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Address: 350 W Maryland St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1051
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $252 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an ideal location, award-winning meeting venues and newly renovated accommodations, Indianapolis Marriott Downtown is the perfect retreating for your next business or leisure excursion. Equipped with expansive event venues to bring meetings and celebrations to life. For gatherings off site, our hotel is connected via skywalk to Indiana Convention Center. For guests looking to explore the city outside of work hours, Circle City Mall, White River State Park and Lucas Oil Stadium are also just walking distance from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing