We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #142 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

You can tell that the owners are working to improve this hotel, however more work needs to be put into the rooms. The beds were old, one headboard was hanging off the wall. The bathroom was so bad that my husband went out to buy Lysol wipes and gloves for me to clean it. There was fecies and urine on the toilet seat, and a ring of mold around the inside of the toliet that had to take months to form. It's like housekeeping completely skips the bathroom other than to change towels. It was filthy. One good thing about the room is the mini fridge was great! The pool and atrium are amazing though. This place COULD be great.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ericasimmons32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

My company was in town for a convention. The hotel was farther away from the venue than I had hoped. The place was clean but, it was outdated. There was a kitchenette but no where to sit and eat. Outlets and lights on the poolside wall did not work properly. The outlet in the kitchen was water damaged. The fridge froze everything that was in it.

The bar and the Pool closed way too early. Breakfast was ok (eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, and pastries). The hallway wall at our door looked as if it had been punched in.

The staff was great. Mckayla was fabulous, very helpful and appeared to want to help.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Nate and his staff were wonderful and accommodating people to meet and work with. Couldn't have been any easier to check in, check out, and they even let us use the theater room for our big group. Thanks again and hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mchetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

It was wonderful seeing you again over the Indy 500 weekend. We love having you as our guest and look forward to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Hotel was clean, staff was excellent and the location is great for attending the Indianapolis 500. They also offered a free breakfast. The beds are very comfortable. They have upgraded their wi-fi and cable TV service. Couldn't ask for a better trip.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Waldork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to Indianapolis. The Indy 500 is such an exciting event and we loved having you as our guest and always look forward to seeing you. Hoping to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Our first room I pulled back the sheets to look for bugs and found at least 6 large yellow stains on the bed.
Second room I found bed bug feces on the box spring.
When I asked how they took care of the bed bug issue the Sales Manager became very rude to us because of all the questions I was asking on how they treated it. Her reply was I don't know . How in the world would you not know.
The hotel is very outdated ( no big deal) the beds in both rooms were not made well at all. Look like a 5 years old made them. The tracks in the elevator were full of debri.

Very unclean hotel

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Please accept my apology for your less than perfect stay at our beautiful and well kept property. We are an older Hotel which has been kept up and is clean. We have a national pest control company take care of any and all issues that may arise. Please be assured we do not have bed bugs. We truly hope to welcome you at the Waterfront Hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Only stayed one night for Indy500. Room clean and good size. Beds really comfy. Hotel going through renovation to bar area. Bar is still open. No restaurant so no food apart from basic breakfast. Ample free parking and good strength WiFi. Will need to drive or get taxi for any bars and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank The_BA_Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

We are so glad you stayed with us during the *greatest spectacle in racing*, and glad you enjoyed our property. We are working on having a bistro open shortly to offer at least some food. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We brought a group of approx 25-35 people to town and this was one of the hotel options given to us to book. We had 10-12 rooms and all rooms had issues. The online photos do not do it justice.
Some of the issues we had were:
1. Upon check-in, one of our group was given the key to a room that was already occupied and another was put in a room that clearly had been smoked in, to the point that the previous guest had covered up the smoke alarm and the covering was still there. How does a room get cleaned and no one see that? This should NEVER happen at a hotel.
2. We had numerous room with bug issues. When we complained, we were told they had some issues with that. What?
3. Numerous rooms had stains on the bed coverings and sheets, this was clear, as all bedding was white, so many slept on top of the bed with their own blankets.
4. The atrium area, which houses the pool and breakfast/gathering space leaked the entire time we were there. The tile floor was slick and dangerous, even the tables were covered in water.
5. We saw mice in the atrium area too and again upon complaining to the front desk, we were met with an employee that was not surprised.
Due to this being the same area that the breakfast is served, we chose not to take advantage of the free breakfast and had to pay for ours outside the hotel.
6. We had draining issues with the tub/showers
7. We had liquid in the glasses in one of the rooms, even though they had the paper cap on them to "assure" us they were clean.
8. My particular room was never cleaned from Friday's stay and I was promised clean towels that never arrived and this happened in a number of our group's rooms.

This is only a sampling of our less than 24 hour stay at this hotel. Our stay and the response from the hotel has been completely unacceptable. All 10 rooms chose to check out on Saturday, after only staying 1 of our 2 nights scheduled stay, causing us a MUCH higher cost booking last minute to move to another hotel.
We were told we would not be charged for our rooms on Saturday, due to the numerous issues and complaints by our group... yet, many of us now have been charged. We were told that they would review our issues on Monday and refund us our Friday night stay also, it's now Tuesday and we still have had no resolution. A refund is the least of what should be done.
Like the title says "Stay Somewhere Else", you've been warned.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dperino, Manager at Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

I wanted to take the opportunity to respond to your review. The weekend in question was a sold out weekend with numerous sports groups in house. Please be assured we did not single your group out to give you all rooms with issues. We offer a good product at a reasonable price. Even though we are an older property, we are well kept, somewhat updated and certainly clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
2.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis West
20.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#138 of 188 in Indianapolis
611 reviews
5.1 km away
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Airport
Motel 6 Indianapolis - Airport
#132 of 188 in Indianapolis
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
8.4 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#93 of 188 in Indianapolis
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2930 Waterfront Parkway West Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46214-2007 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $73 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a wealth of amenities in a prime location at the Clarion Inn(R) hotel in Indianapolis, IN. Our pet-friendly hotel is minutes from Indianapolis International Airport and Indianapolis Motor Speedway and close to: •Indiana Convention Center •Lucas Oil Stadium •Bankers Life Fieldhouse •Indianapolis Museum of Art •Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis Feel relaxed and at home in our inviting guest rooms, offering poolside or lakeside views. All rooms feature coffee makers and hair dryers. All rooms also include refrigerators and microwaves. Additional amenities include: •Free deluxe continental breakfast •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free newspaper •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Fitness center *Business Center *Laundry Facilities Corporate travelers will appreciate the ability to take care of basic business needs with access to our business center, which includes a public computer and copy and fax services. Our 17,500 square feet of banquet and meeting facilities and professional staff make it easy to plan and host your next special event. Make your reservation today at the Clarion Inn hotel in Indianapolis, IN for the best combination of affordable rates and home-like amenities in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Indianapolis
Clarion Indianapolis
Indianapolis Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing