We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Ranked #22 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This wonderful, updated Hyatt with an imposing 20 story atrium is within walking distance of everything in this very "happening" smaller city. I was visiting from Chicago and Indi seems to have everything anyone could want, except views of a big lake or big mountains.

Pros: Hypoallergenic bedding: remodeled and clean rooms; nice room set-up with mini-kitchen and good desk space; located in the heart of Indi and within walking distance of a wonderful variety of restaurants, theater, symphony, museums, sporting events; indoor walkway to a large mall; staff is pleasant and helpful; nice views of the State Capitol on one side; gift shop, Starbucks, Subway and a decent workout facility with small pool and whirlpool on the first floor.

Cons: Parking is an additional $22 per night and WIFI costs $9.95 per day or $39.95 for 5 days which starts to make things pricey; there can be a wait to get on an elevator if you have 300 people trying to get to the lobby at the same time (think sporting events and conferences), though we had no trouble getting an elevator 9 out of 10 times

Tip: There is a revolving restaurant at the top of the Hyatt. We went up during the day to check out the view but didn't have the time to eat there. Meals seem to range from $30 to $70 per person but I found a coupon on restaurants.com so search first before you go. Also, it is possible to go for a cocktail and for me it would have been worth it to pay $10 per drink to enjoy the view, but we just didn't have the time.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Indiana State Capitol building which makes for a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augiethelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Augiethelab,

Thank you for taking the time to write a such a detailed review about the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our city and in the hotel. The hypoallergenic Respire Rooms are a great addition to the hotel, along with the many other features you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and welcome you back soon. Hopefully you can enjoy a drink and dessert in The Eagle’s Nest Lounge on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Brian Comes
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    506
    252
    96
    72
See reviews for
288
290
73
839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February for business and I was very happy. The decor of the lobby and rooms are updated and very nice. This newly updated decor has a very upbeat feel. This upbeat decor continues in bathrooms and the room it's self. The room comes with a large flat screen tv. Rooms are also very clean and comfortable. Fitness room has good a nice assortment of up todate cardio and strength training equipment. Another nice attribute to this hotel is the Starbucks located in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinogt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
md88plt,

Thank you for taking a moment to write such a kind review of our hotel. When undertaking such a comprehensive renovation, I can say that we had guests like you in mind, and we are thrilled you noticed the upgrades we made to our facility. We hope to continue to exceed your expectations on your return visits to Indianapolis.

Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Went to spend a night In downtown Indianapolis for fun. Hotel is in a great location if you want to walk to lots of restaurants, the mall, several bars, and clubs. Room was average, they have all been updated for the Super Bowl which was here last weekend. The bathroom sink looks very modern, but splashes water everywhere and makes bathroom look messy. Nice shower. Parking is $30, so be forewarned. Wifi is extra too. There is a nice little gym, indoor pool, steam shower and sauna. The hotel itself is 80's looking but rooms comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpful. If you get a good deal on Priceline (we received $50 on a Saturday night) or something, it is worth a stay, but wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liska r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I imagine the room conditions will improve after the current remodel. As with many Hyatt Regencies that were once palaces of modern architecture during the 70's, this one has struggled a bit to keep the ravages of time at bay. Hyatt has always ranked a notch behind Hilton & Marriott in investing in their aging properties & while the public spaces still have a modern George Jetson vibe, the rooms are showing 40 years of wear and tear.

My room had peeling wallpaper in a corner, scuffs on the wall, worn, cracked caulking in the shower & dirty tile grout - things you might accept in a motel during Spring Break, but not the standard for a decent business hotel. Again, hopefully these issues will be remedied during their current renovation.

The location however, is first rate, smack in the middle of the compact downtown area and easily accessible to all the main venues. There are not a large number of hotel choices in the downtown area, so If you're looking for convenience, a centralized location, full business facilities & reasonable rates, the Hyatt probably has the best location for that - Just don't expect luxury, exceptional service or a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear MSelmi,

Thank you for your recent posting from your stay back in April 2011. As you noted we have a fantastic location, and we recently completed a $20 million guest room renovation – making our hotel rooms the newest in the city. You will notice on our website that we have updated the photos. We hope you have the opportunity to enjoy our upgraded hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I decided to take a weekend trip to Indy for the Monster Energy Supercross, we wanted a romantic getaway and decided to step it up to a 4 star hotel. We were excited to be within walking distance of the big mall and to Lucas Oil Stadium for the race. I have a chronic pain disorder and sometimes have to use a cane to help me along. After walking all day due to exploring downtown and the race....we decided to stop in the hotel bar for a cold drink. The place was hopping with people drinking and having a good time, most of them casually dressed in button down shirts, slacks or dresses. My wife and I had just come from the race in jeans and hooded sweatshirts (mind you we paid $200.00 a night for a room just as everyone else) I took a seat due to my hip bothering me, my wife continued to the bar. I watched her wait for 20 minutes, with no line in front of her stand at the bar and be completely invisible to the bartender. I went over to her and said "let's go to bed". On the way up I stopped by the front desk to give a piece of my mind and was not even apologized to. Someone needs to tell these people the old saying don't judge a book by it's cover because my wife and I had a pocket full of money that we would have gladly sat and spent on cocktails if they weren't ignorant enough to ignore us because we weren't dressed like the rest of the "Hoi Poloi" in the lounge that night. Lousy service, room was ok but I've stayed in WAY better for less than $200.00 bucks a nite. Long walk from the parking deck to the hotel. Rude staff, will NEVER go back!!

Room Tip: If you are under 40 make sure you put your dress clothes on if you hope to buy a drink in the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Shawn1981,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the poor service you experienced. Rest assured that costumer service is our top priority and we will address the issues you mentioned in your review. On your next visit to Indianapolis, we invite you to experience the customer service that you have come to expect from a Hyatt property.

Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The management at the Hyatt in Indy need to be aware that exercise rooms are an important element for the business traveller and need daily maintenance. On Wednesday, towels, water and anti bacterial wipes. Thursday, no water, no anti bacterial wipes. On Friday, no water, no towels or anti bacterial wipes. Very dissappointing from the Hyatt chain.....which should be a cut above the norm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Duffy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

First of all, I will not go back to this hotel for something that seems very small but is extremely frustrating... They have 20 floors, 4 elevators, and a LOT of guests... which means it can take literally 30 minutes to get to your room (count on at least 10).

Before I go any further: The bedding made me break out in hives! I was so itchy I could hardly sleep. This has never happened to me before. My boyfriend didn't have an issue, but I wouldn't trust it...

The rooms look nice but are very small (and I upgraded to a corner room, which was supposed to be bigger; I can't even imagine how small the others are). Speaking of which, this corner room was supposed to have a "partial view of the Capitol building." It was very partial... we had to smush our faces against the wall to see it!

There were a lot of corners that were cut. For example: No bathtub, the "full bath amenities" didn't even include hand soap, only enough caffeinated coffee for one cup, television wasn't digital, only two bath towels, etc.

The garage is hard to navigate and the parking staff are anything but friendly.

All these things seem very small but for the price it surely adds up to make for one very aggravating visit...

It IS a nice location and the rooms are modern and clean. However, with so many choices of hotels around why stay at one that takes so long to get to your room (plus everything else I mentioned)

Room Tip: Forget about upgrading to the top floor, the views aren't that great; get a lower room so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,427 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,310 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,418 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Address: 1 S Capitol Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing