We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find something better. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Express Inn Indianapolis
Ranked #168 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Dirty! Entrance door frame looks like someone broke in at some point and was never fixed. Toilet ran off and on all night. Tub Is gross. Shower curtain rod is almost broke in half. The curtains have holes in them, and it looks like the dresser is mixing the top drawers

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Holy crap this place is a hole! Hotels.com rerouted us to this place after they over booked 20 of us (7 rooms) at a different hotel. Said this was comparable price :( I hate to think what the other place looked like. Took a peek in one of the rooms they were cleaning. Huge streak of brown going down the side of the mattress ( blood, vomit or feces who knows). We refused to stay here and ended up driving an hour away to find something else.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terris520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

It has a somewhat Rustic setting, all on 1 level. Very good AC. There is a Waffle House and McDonalds next door. The room seamed to be somewhat clean.
The carpeting is in serious need of being replaced!!!! There were two chunks of carpet about the size of lemons missing in front of the couch. The desk lamp didn't have a lamp shade and was dirty.
There was 1 washcloth and no towels. Toilet frequently filled with a loud swishing sound. The phone was a dummy, a slew of buttons missing & no dial tone so we couldn't call the front desk. Due to a Dish contract; TV selection was very poor. The parking lot and the whole place is in serious need of maintenance & cleaning. This Knights Inn is next to I-65 on one side and a Main Hwy on the other with heavy traffic all day/night.
NO coffee maker, no microwave or fridge in the room.
The ONLY reason we stayed here was it was the only place close to across where we needed to drop off a truck.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Judie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stay knghts inn a lot, but this motel is worst.
Front staff no good,manager no good.
Internet no connection,no working !
The manager said good internet, but absolutely NO !!
Here waste of money !!
Around here many motels,you do not have to stay.
Do not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

What a dive. Nothing is right about this place. Smelly, musty, smoky rooms (all facing outside), chipped out doors, locks broken, thin and torn towels, paint peeling, rucked up carpets, inaccessible internet (there, but unavailable and no way to input a code), old CRT tvs with non working remotes for Comcast..... Broken cement, water stains on ceilings, broken tiles in bathroom, which had filth caked in the corners and missing tub caulking. No tea or coffee in room. No microwave or fridge or ANY amenities other than a single bar of soap. This is the MOST DEPRESSING motel we have ever seen, and in desperate need of a major overhaul.

This motel charges an outrageous $59/night for staying in squalor.
We intended to stay 2 nights, but bailed and got a refund, even after changing rooms.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ohhhdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This motel is filthy and beyond rundown, and it is difficult to put into words how completely awful it is. In addition to being absolutely gross, the room did not have a phone, alarm clock, functioning Wi-Fi, mini-fridge or even towels. Heck, it barely had a floor (seriously!).

To be fair- The night clerk, though hidden behind bullet proof glass, was pleasant despite dealing with angry and threatening guests. He was gracious despite the truly horrendous circumstance that is this motel. I believe the pressure he had to be feeling likely explains why the first room he gave me was occupied (the TV on, beds unmade, personal items on floor, ashtray full of cigarette butts, etc.).

So, why did I stay here? It was late and I had a nearby early morning meeting the next day. All other hotels in the immediate area were full. Staying at this motel was a mistake I will never repeat. Please learn from my mistake and just say no to the Indianapolis East Knights Inn.

Room Tip: I relocated to a downtown hotel for the same price and was extremely happy I did so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPNC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

The motel is very old and needs to have new wiring. I have stayed at several Knights Inn motels, but was shocked at this motel. The smoke detectors are disconnected. The electrical outlets are dangerous. There are not any microwave ovens or refrigerators in the rooms. The pool was filthy, full of water and leaves, and had brown water that had not been drained. I checked in room 231 and tried to turn on the heater. The unit would not activate, which caused me to check to make sure that the heating unit was plugged in correctly. I pushed on the plug, which was placed dangerously in the floor. The plug burst into flames and the smoke detector did not work. I grabbed my bags and left the room. I notified the desk clerk, who came to the room and took some pictures but did not phone the fire department because the motel did not have insurance. I was given a different room and was only told the next morning, by the manager, that the motel was not supposed to phone the fire department. The fire department told me that the motel probably did not have insurance. I just thought the heater plug was old and could have damaged with a spill from a soft drink because the heater plug was on the floor. The flames were terrifying. The outside cover was missing on the smoke detector in the room. I also phoned the Indianapolis Police Department about the problem. The floor plugs are very dangerous and can be damaged by children who spill drinks.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back row are very private with a privacy fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - Cast...
#100 of 185 in Indianapolis
61 reviews
Motel 6 Indianapolis
#119 of 185 in Indianapolis
97 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy Eas...
#125 of 185 in Indianapolis
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Country Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#115 of 185 in Indianapolis
235 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,841 reviews
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#73 of 185 in Indianapolis
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn Indianapolis

Address: 7101 E 21st St, Exit 89, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1761 (Formerly Knights Inn Indianapolis East)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $88 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Express Inn Indianapolis 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Express Inn Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing